We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kahaani Malacca Hotel
Ranked #32 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I want to thank the operation manager Mr Kamal for the superb service when we were there. The place is awesome and the pool was beautiful. The design of the pool was very unique.This is the place you should stay if regular hotel makes you feel boring. The mansion was very huge! Definitely my first choice when i'm visit Melaka again.

Kudos to Kahaani!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amir E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place takes you back in time to the way hotels used to be in the past....pure luxury! The rooms are huge, Persian rugs on the floor top class bedding solid wood beautifully crafted furniture and a butler to make coffee/tea at your request. Breakfast is served to order on the veranda. Even though its a bit far out of the main center of town, i would rather stay there again an commute into the main center then retreat back to this wonderful solitude.

Room Tip: We were taken on a tour of the rooms and we shocked to realize that our huge room was probably the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HowardMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Luxury boutique villa, formerly the official residence of Malacca State Governor. Only 6 rooms are available and is built on a 1.5 acres land which is about 5 minutes drive from Ayer Keroh Toll Plaza.

Property is located within tourist attractions i.e. only 5-minute drive from Melaka Zoo, about 2-3 minutes from Bird Park, MITC, Crocodile Farm and about 20-minute drive from Melaka Town. This boutique hotel only serves breakfast, nevertheless there are quite a number of eateries nearby such as McDonald, Restoran Subaidah, Nasi Arab and many more. Very quiet and good place to wind down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mork0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to realize the hotel was actually the previous Governor's residence and had already been converted to a hotel in the past year. Setting of the place was beautiful, and the room was very spacious and comfortable - there were no bookings as it was a weekday so it was like having a mansion to ourselves. Surroundings were quiet as it was located in a residential neighbourhood. The pool looked lovely but didn't really have time to go for a swim.

Was greeted by the butler, who was absolutely lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was served at the dining hall, and had pastries, eggs and fruit, with tea and juice.

It's probably a 25 minute drive to most attractions, but if you have a car, it really is a wonderful stay and an experience of its' own, and well worth the distance if you're looking for a quieter part of the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ace_krusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here about 2 nights, and was greeted warmly by En Kamal (you were so gracious and kind). He gladly gave us a detailed tour of the property and finally led us to our room 'Nafiri'. The grandeur of the room took my breath away. Warm and welcoming scent of fresh linen and polished wood just seem to relax my senses and ease my tension away immediately. The pool is warm and clean.. and tea by the terrace after a nice dip was just the icing on the cake for me. (Much thanks to Mr Kamal for the lovely arrangements and at no extra charge too!)

Next morning, a hearty continental AND local breakfast awaited us! And just as warmly as he welcomed us, Mr Kamal sent us of with grace too..

It is without a doubt the best place for a quiet getaway with LOTS of privacy and a chance to bask in ambiance of beauty and elegance, just like dukes and duchess of old. ( It WAS the old ambassador's home after all..)

Definitely a place i would call home the next trip to Malacca..

Room Tip: The Nafiri is by far the best room of all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place is good for luxury wedding and business discussion.
Locate at remote plate, this place maintain their privacy. Very good maintained bungalow indeed.
Food is great. Near to MITC. But the pool need to cleanup.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chucky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

When we arrived, we were surprised to see the hotel that looks like a residential bungalow. We were almost lost as there was no clear directions.

The receptionist (Pak Kamal) explained to us that the hotel used to be a house for the melaka governor, and the governor has only 6 months stay in the property.

There was only 6 rooms on rental, with swimming pool at the back. It was very grand, and very quiet when we arrived. Pak Kamal is extremely friendly, provides one-on-one attention to every guests.

The swimming pool is maintained, however the water a bit murky, and it has some pollens on top which bother sometimes. I dare not swim for long time. I hope the management can improve the cleanliness of the pool.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is very big, and facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ferry_mulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaka
0.6 mi away
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
Mudzaffar Hotel Melaka
#1 of 9 in Ayer Keroh
5 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
Hotel Kobemas Melaka
#79 of 167 in Melaka
32 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
6.2 mi away
Vintage Eleven Guesthouse
Vintage Eleven Guesthouse
#71 of 220 in Melaka
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahaani Malacca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahaani Malacca Hotel

Address: Jalan Tu 1, Melaka 75350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kahaani Malacca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kahaani Malacca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing