We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Submarine Museum

Submarine Museum
Ranked #31 of 136 things to do in Melaka
Attraction details
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Anybody who is interested in technical/war machines should watch this submarine. This is an amazing opportunity to go inside and see the devices. Additionally the entrance fee is very cheap (1 MYR).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Csaba P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    39
    22
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not for people with claustrophobia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

The submarine museum is not far from my in-law's house and it was late afternoon, my daughter and I visited the place. Getting there is just like going thru a desert as the museum is built on reclaimed land. See the photos, you will know what I mean. Entrance fee is only Rm1.00 for adult and Rm0.50 for kids below 12 years. The paints are flaking off with visible sign of rust. I think the people managing it should repaint so that the submarine will look presentable instead of just a rusting hulk. The visit was well worth it as it give us civilians what is the working condition like for the crew members. After the visit, my utmost admiration and respect for all submarine crews including our Royal Malaysian Navy and the Kreigsmarine Unterseeboote of WW2.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack101213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

It's a great experience to see and get in a real submarine. Don't miss this chance. I like it. My rating 4star because the place around is messy.

Helpful?
2 Thank Osama O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I went together with friend to this place. We find it very interesting as we seldom have the opportunity to
see the real physical of a submarine. All the info about this submarine is displayed well. It is very descriptive as well. What amaze me is the whole world only have few submarine museums and Melaka, Malaysia is one of them to have it. So for those visiting Melaka, it is good to explore this museum. The entrance fees is only RM1.00 for adult and RM0.50 for children. it is very affordable for everyone and a great experience for everyone as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank chin_yg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Are you serious open this museum to public?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

From Pantai Klebang main road to this museum, the road is totally unacceptable. Can check out my picture to see the road. When I reached the entrance, another shocked. the ticket counter are “soooo nice”. Entrance fee only RM1 for adult and RM0.50 for kids.

Inside submarine is ok but very short. You can finish it around 5-10 minutes. When you come in to this submarine, you need to open your shoes. You need to bring also your shoes during the visit inside the submarine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank ghostriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Submarine Museum also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Submarine Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing