We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Ranked #23 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent to nights at this perfectly located, cosy and beautiful place. My room was perfect and I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff is really friendly and competent. The breakfast in the lobby worked herat for me. Thank you Gingerflower.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Jesper R,

We thank you for selecting Gingerflower Boutique Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we will certainly share your positive feedback to our staffs.

We value your time taken to evaluate us and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 153 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there a night for a short getaway. Was looking for a heritage boutique hotel. Found this instead. Convenient location, squeaky clean and great service. Just don't get a room to near the lobby, can be slightly noisier in the morning. All the attractions are just a wall away. Modern inside though so if your looking for a heritage 'feel' then it's not. The building however is as old as you will get at jonker street. Good hotel overall.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank sekzchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Sekzchan,

Thank you for choosing Gingerflower Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit at Melaka. We are proud to have you as our guests and we promise to continue putting our best effort to make this hotel more lovey! Thank you for your support!

Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed one night at the Gingerflower, Lovely space - clean, fresh and white. Great location just off the main street so you can walk everywhere. Rooms are small but you are out in the streets most of the time - Melaka is amazing! The gingerflower is good value for money. Breakfast is lovely but basic, and you will probably want a second breakfast anyway - highly recommend the calanthe art cafe on the next street.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night book an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Tina B,

We thank you for selecting Gingerflower Boutique Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca. I'm glad to know that you have such wonderful experience in Gingerflower Boutique Hotel & Melaka Historical City. We will maintain and keep improving our service again to make more guests experience the same happiness as you did. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. With all the compliments from you, giving me a lot of enthusiasm to move on with better, better and better services. We hope to serve you in the nearly future.

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for just one night the first weekend in June, occupying two rooms on the ground floor. This was a last minute booking, and we were so glad to get the 5 rooms our group needed.

Unfortunately, one of our group members was taken ill, and couldn't come. Gingerflower graciously allowed us to cancel the room at the last minute with no penalty charge -- which was really very good of them. The first sign that things were looking good.

Checking in was simple, quick and hassle-free, and the staff were very well-mannered and very friendly.

Finding the hotel was easy, and there was limited parking right behind, with a very convenient back door entrace that made regular access easy -- it worked with our room key card.

Our room had a large king-sized bed, and despite the fact the hotel is housed in one of Malacca's famous old shophouses, designs and fittings were contemporary and simple. Top marks for the good quality bedside reading lamps, and the well-equipped bathroom and shower.

Our son had a lovely time checking out the old-fashioned well (from the original shophouse design) just off the lobby. Nice that they kept that little touch, and also designed the place to ensure lots of flow through air and light.

Also lovely were the papers, magazines, chess set and board games in the lobby -- excellent for keeping our one toddler and two teenagers well occupied. Plus there was free wifi access.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and the owners have very cleverly designed the reception counter to double up as a service counter for breakfast, making full use of limited space. Freshly brewed coffee and a good selection of breads and local food made for a very decent breakfast.

Location is excellent -- at the top of Hereen Street, and you can access all the heritage sights of Jonker and its surrounding areas day and night. Roads to and from the hotel are brightly lit, so coming home in the middle of the night was safe and secure. And voila -- the hotel key card also gave us access to the front door.

All in, a well planned, well designed, charmingly run little boutique hotel that we'll be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor rooms as our child could enjoy the little entertainment features available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Bentong 66,

Thank you for choosing Gingerflower Boutique Hotel as your preferred hotel for your recent visit. We are glad that our aspiration and heartfelt wishes of our room design being appreciated. We are always try our best to provide new style, pattern to our guests.

We look forward to your return in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A wonderfully clean boutique hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. Great location just off the main strip. What could have made this a Great stay was if the windows were somehow sound proofed. We got 2 rooms facing either side of the roads flanking this shophouse and the dizzying sound of thumping Karaoke music emanating from passing trishaws was very difficult to ignore especially if you're trying to sleep. Either get very super or just join the night revelers if you intend to get a full nights rest. The noise dies down sometime after 3am. Stay away from the corner rooms with windows. Take the courtyard facing ones and forget about the premier room which faces a noisy back street (it does come wig a nice rear balcony though).

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms. Choose courtyard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raven678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Location is very strategic, 2-3 mins walk to Jonker Street and the room was good enough for couples or w a child. Theres 2 reserved parking at the back of the hotel and a public carpark nearby.

The only problem was mosquitos, we were told by the staff that might be a problem at night. They provided repellent and everything was perfect given its location next to the river.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Omar_Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was a lovely hotel - lovely room, very clean with good amenities! Nice bathroom - great shower!
Breakfast was good and different each morning!
Staff were very helpful and would go out of their way to help you!
The hotel is situated very centrally - easy walking distance to everything you need to see!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank 707Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#46 of 168 in Melaka
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Timez Modern Heritage Hotel
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#21 of 168 in Melaka
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerflower Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerflower Boutique Hotel

Address: No 13 Jalan Tun Tan, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $46 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gingerflower Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel is a small beautiful boutique hotel housed in a tastefully restored Peranakan townhouse within the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Melaka. Retaining the gracious old world charm of a 19th century cultural and architectural treasure while offering contemporary luxury to ensure a comfortable stay, the Gingerflower Boutique Hotel will appeal to all visitors wishing to immerse in the cultural splendour of an elegant by-gone era, while indulging in some of the finer luxuries of contemporary living. The Hotel's elegant rooms feature beautiful en-suite Italian marble bathrooms with sensuous rain showers and luxury amenities. Each room is designed in contemporary boutique hotel style. You lay your head on plush down pillows, sleep on sumptuous pillow top beds dressed in luxurious bed linen, use waffle yukata bathrobes, watch large flat screen TVs, surf the internet with complimentary wi-fi connectivity, & enjoy a turn down service in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gingerflower Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing