We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a night or two, safe parking for car is the only plus point”
Review of Doris Hotel

Doris Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doris Hotel
Ranked #157 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
HongKong
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a night or two, safe parking for car is the only plus point”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Yes, I do agree with earlier posts that this hotel is quite hard to find. But actually if the hotel people just say "we're on the same side of the road as Swan Hotel" then everything will be clearer, as Swan Hotel is a prominent high rise building at a major traffic light junction.
The Doris Hotel is on the last two/three storey new shophouses at the far end. This is a new area and I believe this is land reclaimed from the sea.
Going to the city centre means turning right or going straight at the traffic light junction. Turning right is the coastal road, while going straight toward the Tengkara/Tan Cheng Lock traffic light junction. Turn right into Tan Cheng Lock and keep going will reach the old city of Melaka. If you walk, this may take half an hour, no fun if the weather is hot.
If you're driving, this place is ideal as it has big parking space in front of the hotel and very quiet at night, so I believe car thieves wouldn't want to risk being caught in such open sok pace as the hotel people and the security can easily see them from inside the lobby glass.
There is no lift, and the room is ok size, but very bare. Toilet/bathroom has working hot shower and flush. Clean towels and bedsheets.
If you're only bunking for a night and out whole day driving and sightseeing, and need a safe parking bay for your car, this hotel is ideal.
Malacca is a big city, we were glad we rent a car and drove from Kuala Lumpur. It's very easy on the toll highway but we got lost driving in Kuala Lumpur, should have rent the gps!

Room Tip: Get a window room. Ours was with no window and it was terrible not knowing the sky is dark or bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

First of all, its REALLY, REALLY hard to find this hotel even when we are using GPS & google maps. My friend & myself arrived at Malacca around 5.30pm but it took us 1 & a half hours to get to the hotel. We were like driving up & down, up & down the bridge for a few times just to find the hotel. Its actually the same roll with the swan hotel but at the back facing the ocean.

The hotel was ok but during check in, we were not being informed that in the room there was no remote control for the tv & air-con. The hotel only give to us when we request it from them.

Since it was new, the lobby condition was pretty good and relatively clean. But, I don't think they clean very well or often. The sheets were clean, but in the toilet, when I walked in, the floor was pretty dusty. If they don't keep up maintenance it will likely degrade to a pretty dirty place. Inside my room, the drawer in the room was eventually broken as I pulled the drawer out, the handle was torn a part with its body.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisLkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is hard to find! The address correct, but it is in a new area which IS NOT on google maps. (or any other maps) Instead Google Maps shows the hotel close to Jonker Walk - which it is not.

We had a Malay speaker with us and even calling the hotel, they could not explain how to get to the hotel. Big extra points for them, however, as they sent a guy on a motorbike and we followed him to the hotel (at 1am!)

The hotel is in a new strip mall located at 2.19229N 102.23806E (http://goo.gl/maps/vwUc8). Look for the Swan Hotel – in the back of the same strip mall.

In March 2012 the hotel was six months old. Since it was new, pretty good condition and relatively clean. But, I don't think they clean very well or often. The sheets were clean, but general dirt and dust everywhere else. Cigarette butt floating in the toilet. If they don't keep up maintenance it will likely degrade to a pretty dirty place.

The rooms shown on booking.com because the Queen bed rooms are exactly as they advertise – 12 sq. meters. That's quite small but ok for a short stay. Combined shower/toilet common in Malaysia so very wet in there after the first person showers.

The rooms have three big bright lights with individual switches. Putting on even just one light is totally bright in the room. Depending on your taste, this might be good or bad. For us, it was much too bright for 1am. No bedside or desk lamp – so it is super bright, or nothing.

Had breakfast at the back (front?) the building at the Donald & Lilly Peranakan Restaurant. The manager is super nice and super helpful. Excellent food!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were on the social visit and our relative booked this hotel on behalf of us for two days thinking, finding a veg food would not be a problem for us as they were living in nearby area. Hotel is new and behind the big building,very hard to found even by local Taxi Driver.Rooms were small and so so. Card swipe was not working on my HDFC card and I had to pay cash.Just OK for a day or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiturajgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.0 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#8 of 166 in Melaka
1,819 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#30 of 166 in Melaka
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doris Hotel

Property: Doris Hotel
Address: No 43 & 45 Jalan KSB 3, Taman Kota Syahbandar, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing