We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable night just before Christmas Eve.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driftwood Guest House
Ranked #11 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Klang, Malaysia
1 review
“An enjoyable night just before Christmas Eve.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Driftwood Lodge Hotel.
My family and I consisting of 5 person went down to Malacca for a night’s stay. We were introduced by a friend to try Driftwood Lodge. We booked the suite room, which sleeps 6 comfortably.
The accommodation is a short distance away from town center and for those who intent to stay its best to have your own transportation.
Upon arrival were greeted by the lodge owner and his wife. They were friendly and informative when asked whereabouts good meals and best sites are found. After exchanging some casual conversation we were brought to see our rooms.
The rooms were well decorated and very tidy. It reflect a sense of warmness, unlike times when I booked into other accommodations. I was then told that the owners did all the decorating themselves. Bravo!
The suite room had all the basic amenities i.e. Wi-Fi, TV, room fridge, washing sink, coffee and tea complimentary, cutlery for your takeaway meals (no cooking), a dining table for 4 person, great shower and bathroom. The room is divided into two levels. The bottom level is furnished with two double-sofa beds and the upper level has two single beds. All rooms were with air-conditioning.
There is also a K3K restaurant (similar to an up-scale-coffee house) nearby, thus should you be hungry for a late night supper it’s with walking distance (5 min max).
If you like a quiet and relaxing place to stay. If you're into enjoying an evening with family members or a group of friends. I suggest you give DRIFTWOOD LODGE a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensoncyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
24
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Here's a short summary of why I think people should stay at Driftwood Guesthouse (based on my experience):
1. The rooms are really clean. And I mean, impeccably clean; not to mention spacious.
2. Cozy. You feel like you're in a five-star hotel once you step into your room. I like the fact that it doesn't feel like those cheap hotel rooms you can get in any city. This has more feel to it, and it's really quiet.
3. The owners are very nice. They will help you and give you the information you need about Malacca.
4. The price is just right!
I am happy my boyfriend and I stayed at this guesthouse instead of some cheap, noisy, and dirty hotel in the town area. Thanks to the owners for making our stay as comfortable as possible!

Room Tip: The Caribbean room is worth every penny for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyannedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having traveled a lot in Malaysia, the main point of concern has been the service at hotels and their cleanliness.

The couple running the establishment are very pleasant + helpful to deal with was shown right from the time calling to inquire, arriving after booking till the time we had to had leave ;-(


At Driftwood we were pleasantly surprised by the extremely high standard of cleanliness and eye to detail in the decoration of the rooms and providing the little touches which made our stay very comfortable.

We'll definitely come again!

Though it's not downtown of Melaka. Staying in town, you mostly find OLD accomodation with rather bad sound insulation. Hence the advantage in staying at Driftwood are the very personalized service, cleanliness, quietness and actually easy to reach location.

Room Tip: No specific recommendation. The place is NEWLY renovated from the inside and tastefully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 on two different occasions I had a different rooms each time and both were equaly comfortable very clean and spacious. Loved the shower which once preset delivered the right temperature at the push of a button. Another big plus for me was the free WI FI in the rooms as I rely on the internet to stay in touch with friends and manage my affairs
The guesthouse is located about twenty minutes walk from the tourist heart which suited me as I enjoyed the exercise but if you do not wish to walk there are frequent and cheap buses and taxis. Not being in the heart of the tourist area meant that I was able to experience some of the real Malaysia not just the tourist bits. Check out the local food courts delicious and very very cheap meals.
The biggest plus though were the hosts Syl andMay who made me feel so very welcome and for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Clicked on swimming pool by mistake and do not seem to be able to remove it without losing the review. The guesthouse does not have a swimming pool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jed c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The owners were most accommodating and very into details.

Even before my stay begins, their hospitality had been displayed in allowing us to check in early to fit into our traveling plans.

There was a misunderstanding in the price initially but that showed they do not charge strictly to their displayed charges. We took the Driftwood Suite cos it's good for 5. N initially we told them we hv 4 adults when we have actually 2 more kids. 15% less of the displayed charge was quoted. Subsequently a final entourage of 5 adults n 2 kids was set off n they were accommodating to all of us n I was more than happy to pay the displayed charge.

The room, was clean n very cosy. My boy clamours to go back whenever we go out cos he was so happy in the room. We like the room layout n it's comfortable.

May and Sylvester are friendly folks and very detailed in their service. They provided an extra bin n plastic bags to dispose of my boys' diapers. What impressed me on their hospitality is there is this Rooibos tea bag provided n I like it a lot. I asked where can it b bought n learned that its actually brought over from Holland by their friend. N they shared it with their customers!

We drove n hence had no transport issue. Truly recommend this homestay to anyone visiting Melaka. U wun regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvint22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My partner and I had an amazing stay here and I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in Melaka. The owners were very warm and friendly, and the local knowledge transformed our trip from being tourist-y to a memorable and genuine experience (the great advice on food was VERY useful). The rooms were all clean and well decorated, and the option for a more personal touch and talking to the owners was always available (and very welcome).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We've had the pleasure to stay at Driftwood Guest House during the most recent CNY holidays. All in all, it is really a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are really clean, interior decor are of 5-star levels, convenient location (if you have a car) which is central to major attractions in Melaka, affordably priced rooms & really great owners. I would definitely return whenever I visit Melaka.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyng5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,595 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
#15 of 166 in Melaka
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Guest House

Property: Driftwood Guest House
Address: 39 Lorong 2, Jalan Haji Pitchay | Jalan Ujong Pasir, Melaka 75050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DRIFTWOOD GUEST HOUSE The Driftwood guest house is located in a quiet residential area of Melaka between the historic Portuguese Settlement, where you can experience the life style of the descendants of the Portuguese settlers, and the lively Melaka Raya with its shopping, restaurants and night life. We are in easy walking distance of local shops, food courts, restaurants and fruit stalls. There is a supermarket, a 24 hour Seven Eleven with an ATM nearby and there are taxis and bus services. A ten minutes walk will take you to the centre of Melaka Raya and a further ten minutes walk will take you to Jonker Street, the centre of historical World Heritage Melaka. FACILITIES All our rooms have local TV, mini bar, hair drier, air conditioning, ceiling fan, access to balcony and private bathroom with shower gel, shampoo and other bathroom amenities. Tea and coffee is provided and we have an iron and ironing board for your use. We have free Wi-Fi and CCTV security surveillance and free parking. A baby cot is available. Upon check-in you will be given house keys so you can come and go as you please. We will assist you in any way we can to enjoy local activities, swimming, cycling, food experiences and the local culture of Melaka during your stay with us. We speak English, Malay and Cantonese. RATES (Nett) Room only per night Sunday to Thursday Japanese Room 2 Persons RM 130 Caribbean Room 2 Persons RM 150 Suite 5 Persons RM 312 Deluxe Room 2 Persons RM 150 Friday, Saturday, School and Public Holiday, Eve of Public Holiday Japanese Room 2 Persons RM 150 Caribbean Room 2 Persons RM 166 Suite 5 Persons RM 336 Deluxe Room 2 Persons RM 166 Extra bed RM 60 Breakfast is available for RM 15 per person. The Driftwood Suite and our double rooms are available on a monthly basis. Rates are available on request. Dinner can be provided on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Driftwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing