We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“2 days one night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calanthe Artisan Loft

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calanthe Artisan Loft
Ranked #5 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
1 review
“2 days one night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Longing to visit this place! Finally have a slot for us! Really big thanks for Joe, Christie, Angelica and Joseph who made this tour happening !! We will sure come back !! Keep up the effort and good job !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Esther Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A beautiful place to visit . I love the history over here . It is more interesting if you get local people/ tour guide(highly recommended Mr . Joe Ng)to explain further . Although I had studied from textbook from school but wow there is more story which is not in textbook .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very cozy & clean home stay with beautiful decoration. We feel very comfortable & enjoyable moment in here. The owner is very friendly & helpful. It is so convenience staying in here, because it is just next to Jonker street & have very easy access to it. Not only that, It also has it's own parking lot that able to park up to 4 cars.
The only down side is it only has 1 wash room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KongThien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This quaint two-storey shophouse was home to us for two nights last month. It's a luxury to have our own private parking lot in Jonker Street. It's convenient, clean, and full of nostalgic memorabilia, making it feel like home. Wonderful place to chill out. Only gripe is the mosquitoes. More information here on my personal blog. http://kidsjoyhome.com/2014/07/04/malacca-revisited/

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Close to everything. Jonker, historical fort / sightseeing and a block from the amazing river walk. Joe an amazing host. Do his walking tour if you get the chance. Really a great place to enjoy the city but feel at home with a kitchen / tv room to wind down and do your own thing. Much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there back in April 2014. There were 4 of us and we fit perfectly into the 2 king size beds. The moment you walk into the house, it's just like home. Great ambience with some vintage decor which give you the good old days feel. They have kitchen with fridge, spacious shower room and overall the house is clean. The owner is very helpful too.

The plus points are: 1. Very good location i.e. few steps away from the ever busy Jonker Street, few minutes walk to the famous Stadhuys, A'Famosa, etc. 2. Big car porch, if you're driving (I believe you won't be able to find 1 like this in that area, correct me if I'm wrong). 3. Cosy AV room with air-cond & bean bags if you just choose to chillax in the house. 4. If you're lucky, the owner might organise a historical talk for you if you're interested and he's good. 5. Find out yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed 3 days 2 nights here with friends last weekend. The house is at Jonker street and very convenient to eat and shop around. It also have personal parking lot which good for those who travel by car. I like the house decoration. It's very creative and nice. The only thing which i dislike is cockroaches. We saw a few cockroaches running around the living room at night. Besides, we need to wait for shower as there is only 1 bathroom. The bedroom is ok and quiet at night but it may be a little bit annoying as the wooden floor will sound when we walked through it and may wake someone up in the morning. Overall, the place is ok as we have our own privacy place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akimotomichiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanthe Artisan Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanthe Artisan Loft

Property: Calanthe Artisan Loft
Address: No 16, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A natural home concept for "home away from home" - a place where you comfortable and content as if you were at home. A house with car porch located in the heart of the historical city Melaka, that is within walking distance to the UNESCO Historical Site, main business, shopping and entertainment districts by walking distance as below: Jonker Walk - 1 minHereen Street (Art Galleries, Fashion Boutiques, Baba Nyonya Museum, Bird Nest Museum, Conservation Museum) - between 30 seconds - 5 mins Malacca Stadthuys, Clock Tower, Christ Church, St Francis Church - 3 minsShopping Complex (Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade) - 10 minsOur loft with a build up of 130 square meters, fully furnished, self contained, self-service comfort and privacy. It is come with approx. 35 square meters Living with Dining room, setup with a old fashion cushion chair and 8 seaters dining set table. A 9 square meters AV room with a 39in LED Flat Screen TV, Home Theater System and Bluray Player, provide you the comfortably bean bag chairs for your leisure holidays with your treasure movie or music. We also have only bathroom with WC at ground floor, attached with hand and rain shower water heater. A useful kitchen by the indoor garden. Full facilities such like Electrical Cooker, Slow Cooker, Oven, Microwave, Dining ware etc. We also provide home basic cooking ingredients for your convenience to prepare your private meal as your wish. BBQ or Steamboat equipments will provide upon request too. One mezzanine bedroom approx. 35 square meters comfortably for 4 persons. It is a pair of King Size Bed with a branded Destress Mattress for you release your stresses and have a sweet dream in this Artisan Loft. If your plan is more than 4 persons, we will set up the extra DESTRESS MATTRESS at the AV room for make sure everyone have comfortable environment and setting for leisure. Looking forward to serve you and share with you our love and - culture of this heritage city - MALACCA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calanthe Artisan Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing