We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable with a nice lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Troka Prewar Residence
Ranked #29 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Located at jalan bukit cina, this guest house will give you an excellent services and beautiful ambiance. From my experience, we booked 2standard room with single bedded. The price is very2 reasonable and the room is simple and nice. Suitable for backpackers, couples and those who don't mind with shared bathroom. Even it is shared bathroom, i don't feel like it was because the environment is very pleasant. Most important the owner and staff is 5star friendly and becoming our tour guide and show us many interesting places. Breakfast is halal and simple. The location of this lodging is not that far from POI within malacca. All i can say is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miekasopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

i had the best time here! Troka is the best place to stay in Malacca! Very good location: walking distance for everything but not in the noice of the heritage area, soy you can relax and be near everything! Dorms cleans and beds comfortables! What else can you wish? But the best part is Kuzman , the owner of the place!. Always wanting to help you, he takes the time to have lunch with you, show you the highviews of Malacca and even he took me to the bus station to go to Singapur! He is the nicest person! Really i have the best time in Troka . I recommend it! No doubt i'll choose againTroka the next time in Malacca!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carito412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I think I had higher expectations of this place given the great reviews online and unfortunately they weren't quite met. That being said, it was all pretty ok.

Two bathrooms, one upstairs and one downstairs shared by everyone- bathrooms clean and of average SE Asia standard -e.g. shower unit over toilet.

Pros: very friendly and helpful staff, free breakfast, walking distance to old town, towels supplied and clean linens, free and functional wifi

Cons: partitioning in rooms meant that light and sound came through despite being in a private double room

So, nothing bad, just not of the quality the rave reviews may lead you to believe!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank delamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in Troka 3 nights and we are very pleased. Free toast, cofee and water:) The staffs are really nice, helpfull and if you have any question then Kuzman knows everything. Thanks again, it was fun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean and quiet place just a few meters from the centre, river, jonker street... Kuzman, the owner, is an awesome dude and it was really fun to stay at his place, hang out, talk and laugh with him. Best breakfast on our Malaysia trip here (roti canai, rice, toast - everyday different, everyday great!). Nothing to complain, enjoy your stay in melaka! 43 RM for double fan room with shared.bathroom, weekends 55 RM. wifi and free computers, too.
Off topic:
If you're vegan, check the great, cheap buffet at "Chin Hua Vegetarian Food", Kuzman knows the address.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank FruttiDiMare1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamIdris, Front Desk at Troka Prewar Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Ma Rian,

Thank you for choosing Troka during your stay in Malacca and thank you for taking some time off to write a review about us. We are very honoured to serve you as our guest. Kuzman and the rest of his staff sends their well wishes.

Regards,
Troka Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staffs are really nice, and the breakfast was also good(he specially offered traditional Malaysian food). Everything in the hostel is working well, with the price its a worth of journey and to stay at.

Room Tip: get the single room..pretty cool,simple and awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at Troka last month and we really enjoyed this hostel. Kuzman was very helpful, very interested in other cultures and he knows the area pretty well! My friend & I were going to Cameron Highlands by bus and Kuzman knew there was a bus going straight there and it saved us a bus transfer in Kuala Lumpur! All his recommendations were great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mtetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamIdris, Front Desk at Troka Prewar Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Mtetra,

Thank you for choosing TROKA PREWAR as your place to stay in Malacca. We are happy that we are able to assist you and recommend you to the places of interest in Malacca.

Best Regards,
Troka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
0.2 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.6 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troka Prewar Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troka Prewar Residence

Address: 7 Jalan Bukit Cina, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range: $9 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TROKA is an abstract sanctuary in the hub of Malacca’s historical precinct. It was built in 1914 and is one of the preserved buildings which is located in the old town center (a street filled with classic colonial residences). Just about a stone's throw away to Little India Street, Malacca River and only 4 minutes walking distance to the historical area such as Stadhuys, A'Famosa, St. Paul's Hill, China Town, and hustle bustle of the famous Jonker Street and many other famous museums. Troka boast 7 guestrooms including dorms, with shared bathrooms. Whenever you need time to chill out, unwind yourself at our Cafe for some light snacks. Original wooden beams on the ceiling, richly-textured lobby hall of rough exposed bricks, fusion of old antique wall, courtyard, and reclaimed wooden floor inviting you to experience the modern to the local influence of Peranakan heritage era. TROKA is inspired mixture of tropical nature, old-world charm with distinctly style and energy. TROKA describes itself as the next generation of cheap chic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Troka Prewar Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing