We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst aquarium ever!”
Review of Coral Wonderland - CLOSED

Coral Wonderland
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst aquarium ever!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Popped in on an afternoon of exploring melaka, first stop is the touch pool where staff chuck fish around for you to have a touch,bringing them all out of the water for a bit, clearly distressing them, most of them constantly trying to wriggle free, stingrays have had their sting removed to allow them to be touched..

Several tanks contained fish with visible damage from repeatably swimming into the walls of their overcrowded tanks, the young sea turtles were absolutely jammed into their tanks and the larger ones which were in a larger pool were constantly swimming full pelt into the sides and trying to climb out to escape their tank! Again completely over filled with barely any room to themselves. compare this to an aquarium in vietnam where 3 turtles shared a space of 25mx25m.

There was one exhibit where a crocodile shared a tank with some frogs.. and frog skeletons, probs not beign fed enough.

one to avoid!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank adam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    3
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Educational, fun & exciting!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Prepare to spend over an hour here as there are a wide variety of not only aquatic but reptiles and insects to look at. Detailed information provided by not only written, but audio visuals too. Worth sticking your hands into the aquarium tanks to touch the sea creatures. This isn't only a place to bring your kids along. As a marine creature lover, one could take it's time to admire & view them as long as they want by the aquaruims taking pictures & videos.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MelChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very fun and interesting experience - Must Visit!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a fun and interesting experience at Coral Wonderland. Firstly, we enjoyed the opportunity to touch the sea creatures with our hands. Secondly, we got to see the sea turtles up close. There's an option to feed them with additional RM10, but we didn't go for it due to lack of time. What surprised us was even though the name says Coral Wonderland, there were other animals like reptiles, spiders, beetles, and even the cute and furry hedgehog! An overall exciting and fun experience with animals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JSqPARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for family!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went to the Coral Wonderland Melaka with our 8 yrs old and 4 yrs old kids. It was an unforgettable experience at the interactive touch pool. We touched the bamboo shark, stingray, starfish,puffer fish, sea cucumber and sea urchin. The other sections include the Coral Reef Garden, Life Cycle of Frog, Snake Corner, Clownfish Kingdom, Arthropod Zone, Seahorse Corner and Shark Pool. A great learning experience and exposure for the children.We were there for about one and a half hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Santiago0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wonderland”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My four-year-old loved this place so I'm writing a review on his behalf! He loved being able to touch some of the sealife and letting his curiousity run free. Not as big as Aquaria in KL or some of the other aquariums, but we should judge this one on its own merit.

Was hard to find at first, but it's in Dataran Pahlawan itself. Great to see that they hire people with disabilities (one of the staff). You are also given a 'passport', at the end rewarded with a cute clownfish keychain or a sand picture, if you collected all stamps required.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank malaccaRulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Wonderland also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing