We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Delicious Teo Chew Bak Ku Teh”

Teo Chew Bak Kut Teh
Ranked #89 of 691 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple and Delicious Teo Chew Bak Ku Teh”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Claypot ooked ribs and celery. Soup base is brown clear but simply delicious.
Special request if you want mushrooms and tau pok to come together with the simple pot of ribs with celery slices to neutralise the oiliness of pork.

Also recommended will be stir fried vegetables and the braised pig trotters.

All goes well with either white rice and they yam rice.

Very affordable price.

Shop operates from 7:30am to 2pm daily except on Monday

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    25
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon recommendation by the hotel, we visited TeoChew Bak Kut Teh for breakfast on a Sunday morning. Crowded with the locals and do need to wait for a table (about 10 minutes), the food is delicious, good and hot, but the range is limited to pork. Rather surprise to find celery, wooden ears in the soup but rather refreshing as the aroma of both is not overpowering. Price is a bit higher than other Bak Kut Teh places. Services generally is okay except the chef cum boss who kept giving instructions in loud and sharp voice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Different tasting Bak Kut Teh”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The soup was delicious with a distinct herbal flavor . The pork was tender and falling off the bone . The inoki mushrooms in the soup was a nice touch.
We ordered a plate of bean sprouts with salted fish and a Claypot of pigs trotters -both were excellent . The yam rice was a good compliment .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of The best”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

For me, its officially one the best bakut teh i've ever tried. The place was so simple, me and my mom found this place incidentally while we're looking for hotels nearby.
The bakut teh portion is plenty, even for a man. The taste is just feels right. The char kwe is ok.
The price is higher than other foods nearby, but its still sooo worthed. (Compare with other bakut teh restaurant in melakaraya area, this one is still cheaper!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy...”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just next to La Boss Hotel.
Really yummy Bak Kut Teh, even my 4 & 6 yo loved the soup.
Served in pipping hot claypot.
Remember to order yam rice and fried fritters.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank oliverlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teo Chew Bak Kut Teh also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Teo Chew Bak Kut Teh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing