We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy spot in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayfarer Guest House
Ranked #4 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just back from 2 nights stay at Wayfarer, its managed by a small family. Situated by the riverside, it's an excellent location to chill at the pubs besides it and also a short stroll to Jonker street. We stayed in a twins room, room is comfortable, good size and hot water works great in the bathroom. Our only complaint might be the housekeeping, we noticed that you HAVE to inform the front desk if you want your room make up, we didn't realise it. The second day we came back to a baby cockroach running around, and we killed it! It would be good if they could come in daily to empty the bins and make up the beds (no change of sheets or towels is okay for a short stay) but I think its still necessary to keep it hygiene by doing the basics. Otherwise, I still love this cosy boutique hotel, great ambience and a nice lounge to chill. Ask the lady boss for recommendation for good food :)

Room Tip: If you do not need twin beds, go for the room with a view of the river!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppyPotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Wayfarer Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked the Trader's Suite at Wayfarer Guest House last weekend based on the good reviews and were not disappointed. It was very spacious for the 4 of us with everything new and in good working condition, from the toilet to the aircon to the kettle. The exceptionally comfortable beds (1 king and 2 twins upstairs) with clean white sheets definitely exceed our expectation. We like the decor - simple with style and character but not too heavy. The hosts are friendly and helpful.
Location is great as Jonker street is within short walking distance with eating places like Baboon House (for burgers) , Nancy's Kitchen( for Nonya food) , Bikini Tops (for ice cream) and Laoqian (for durian chendol) . About 100 m from the guesthouse is a corner coffeeshop that serves breakfast - coffee with good kaya toast and half boiled eggs. The duck noodles (soup) are also good.

We parked our car at the open carpark across the guesthouse along the river bank and got a spot away from the trees but unfortunately still found some bird poos on the bonnet the next morning. Not a big problem as we drove to a car wash on our way home.

We would definitely choose this guest house over a 5 star hotel, with the reasonable price, the location and the local feel of the Jonker street. Planning to come back with more friends next time. Book early in advance as they are quite full on weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khseow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have a comfortable good stay at Wayfarer Guest House end of May 2013. It is a small boutique hotel along the riverbank which is a perfect location for Melaka city walk. Jonker Street and Melaka sightseeing places are just within walking distance.

We stayed at the Trader's Suite which has 2 floors. It is suitable for a family of 4. Lower floor consist of a King size bed and the upper mezzanine floor, it has 2 normal single beds. The room was quite big and most important it is clean.

The owner do gave a good suggestion on some local restaurant along the city. You can ask them for suggestion if you would like to try the local food.

It is a guest house, so do not expect a daily housekeeping to clean your room. The only con for this guest house is the parking problem. If you are to arrive in the day time, you would not be able to find a parking along the guest house.

Would definately stay again....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvnLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed in The Wayferer with a family of 4, 2 children 10&13. Occupied the family room at the front of the house. The room was a condo type room with two single beds on the mazanine and the biggest bed I've ever slept on in my life.....it was massive!! The room was decked out in plain whites and dark wood and was very clean and well maintained. We stayed six nights in total and the room was cleaned and the linen changed twice, which was perfect for us!! There was an older style TV in the room, but to be honest we didn't even switch it on. The guesthouse is in a great locations and only a few minutes stroll to most of the main attractions. The owners were very friendly and helpful,but never intrusive. Our only gripe was that the room could have been a bit cooler. Coming from the northern hemisphere it was a little to warm and stuffy at times. The AC in the room.wasn't set low enough and as the ceiling was so high and the fan was above the mazanine, then the cool air didn't circulate well. However this could be easily remedied. All in all a good stay in an excellent house at a very reasonable.price. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tcheuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Love having your family staying with us. There were 2 air-cond in the room and 1 must have broken down and that is why the room is not as cool as you wanted. With both air cond working it is a comfortable room. Would have it fixed immediately if we had known that one air cond was down. Looking forward to having your family staying over at Wayfarer again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this little gem which is full of character, loved the olde worlde charm, great to see these buildings taken care of and great location right on the riverfront. The twin room was just gorgeous!. The hosts were just lovely, so helpful with suggesting places to see, saved us from missing our bus and drove us to the bus depot, very kind!
Would definitely come here again!

Room Tip: Really nice light in the room from the central courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzabelle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Original BIG hotels are not well friendly like the wayfarer's employee.They even get us to eat at the back table near e LOBBY!so nice.The bathroom design really makes me stare it in awe.The river view is super nice.I suggest this hotel should be top 1 in the world me.My parents says the only nice attractive place in Melaka is This hotel.I like the swinging bed near the lobby.My parents say she wants a house like the lobby.The employee and the manager is really nice,she even tells us the place for us to eat.

Room Tip: The higher roomas have a balcony,but of you are sleeping with your family and gets super single beds...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiesya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

It was my second time staying here. During my first time stay, I already grown fond of the nostalgic feeling of every piece of furniture in this guesthouse, even the bathroom door, which is made of heavy wood and used latch, not knob. Nostalgic but not heavy is what I even favor more.

I requested for a River Room this time, with a balcony facing the infamous Malacca River. The Balcony... In white theme color, it has 2 white laid back wooden armchairs, small silver table and wooden planked floor. Been sitting with my mum in the evening, night and even morning, taking in the scenery and watching people passing by... I got that Italy street vibe.

The bathroom is so spacious that I just wanted to spend time in there. If you keep the door connecting to balcony opened, it is a nice view to have while brushing teeth in the morning. But, of course, if you are a privacy person, you might want to keep the door closed while you take bath. :)

The room was very clean and neat. Every appliance worked well. The hospitality of the owner, Lian and her business partner had made the stay even more enjoyable. They made sure that we had seen and tasted Malacca. Thus, the location is strategic. It is a walking distance to the Jonker Street and the St Paul Church.

We will definitely stay here again for our next trip in Malacca. Thanks, Wayfarer!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassandra2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#57 of 167 in Melaka
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer Guest House

Address: 104 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $31 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarer Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, nice and cozy guest house located in the heart of the historical city of Melaka. Located along the historic Melaka river with stunning views of the river and only a short distance away from historical sites and popular eateries. All of our rooms are en-suite, air-conditioned and comes with hot shower. Free internet access for guests is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Wayfarer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing