We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Service and Fantastic Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayfarer Guest House
Ranked #5 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The accommodation was really beautiful, we love the chinese shophouses and this one has been very well restored. We will definitely come back, the place was clean, has all the services you need (great shower) and is in a great location.
The best part was the service we received from the owners, they were super friendly and helpful, providing restaurant recommendations, other places to visit, let us use some of their washing detergent to get a stain from my clothes and booked a taxi for us to go back to the bus station.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the river have a beautiful view and are really well set up but maybe a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly for your precious time taken in writing this review. Hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    51
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
57
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This guest house is situated along the Jonker Walk, and if you don't mind walking, most of the historical places is within the walking distance! This was a great way to escape the jam during the weekends, saves time.. Madam Lian and her husband were very helpful and friendly as well.. I stayed in the Standard Room, and it is at a very very reasonable price, paid RM300 for two nights.. And the room and bathroom were very clean.. And having enough plug sockets were very convenient.. It is just that no TV is available, this could could be a disadvantage if you are bringing kids along.. Would love to stay here again.. :)

Room Tip: Standard Room does not have a balcony.. and it is nearer to the street.. If you like a peaceful stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajananthini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. Every room is different in the guest house and we hope you will get to experience a new room in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I spend with my wife at this lovely place for a night. Very-very nice, clean, wonderful, friendly owner. Very thankful to Madam Lian and her husband. She's very nice helping us find interesting places. I stayed at Author Suite, very nice got balcony faces Melaka River, you can watch boat with tourist sail the river. While at night, you can spend a lot of time at your balcony with beautiful night view of Melaka River or just talk a walk to Jonker street. You can walk by side of the river to Kampung Morten, a very cool village. I like this place so muchhhh. Also got high speed wireless, but no TV. I hope I will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyazwanAdnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. One simple pleasure is walking along the river and visiting Kg Morten.
First and foremost, thank you for your time in writing this review. Sure hope that you and your wife will stay with us again in your next trip to Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and i had to stay an extra night in malacca as we could not get a bus back to singapore. As we were hotel hunting along lorong hang jebat, all the lovely small boutique hotels were very tempting and nice. But once we stepped into Wayfarer, we made up our mind. The lovely lady was super helpful and gave us many tips and ideas on the food and sight-seeing area.

We got room 1 which is facing the river and we fell in love with it. After a long day, it is wonderful to take a nice hot shower, get a champagne, sit at the balcony, listening to the sound of the river, looking at the church opposite with its beautiful lighting, watching the world go by,before retreating to a comfortable bed for the night.

We were invited to check out the family duplex room, and it is perfect for a family of 4. very unique experience.

try it to believe it!

Room Tip: Get the rooms that face the river if you could, if you are travelling as a couple, it will be very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheetong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of the guesthouse and also your time taken to write the review.
We are glad that you make the best use of your stay in the river room by relaxing and enjoying the view. That is about the best thing to do . Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This old shop house has been tastefully renovated and decorated with oodles of old world charm. There are antique floor tiles, quirky shaped rooms and an eclectic collection of staircases. Plus it's only a hop, skip and a jump from Jonker St, Red Square, The river, and all the other bits of the historic city centre.

The beds were firm and comfortable. The bed linen spotless. The pillows were so astoundingly squashy I had to abandon them for fear of drowning.

The room was generous with space for cases and to spread your stuff about. However there was nothing surplus in it. No chair or table. No TV. No Phone. (Plenty of plug sockets). Personally, I like to be alone with my book, but the lack of tv might be an issue if you were travelling with children for example. There was fast, free WiFi.

There was also no kettle, but the lady of the house produced one, a tray, two mugs and a teaspoon immediately on request.

The shower was glorious. Hot. Pressure. Volume.

We stayed for four nights at RM130 per night. The charm and the no frills but high standards was worth every sen.

Room Tip: Room 3A is a duplex, and doesn't have a window on the bed level. However, that meant the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurhazlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Your review is encouraging and we hope to make your next stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

i had stayed in multiple hotels scattered along jonker street, but for our wedding we wanted a special hotel that would mean something to us. The thing ith jonker street is that most of the fanciest hotel doesnt have the malacca river view, only the street view, and on weekends the noise from the bars block pretty much all the peace of mind. so i walked along the fancy hotels, doubled back then walked along the malacca river side to find hotels there. I came across a budget hotel and requested to look at their rooms. they had the standard cheap brown bedding synonymous with all budget hotels. but this one just threw me off. They had such a laid back entrance, homely bar (where can you get a homely bar in a boutique hotel?!) a traditional Gujarati swing, a group of mismatched wood and rattan chairs and a great view of the malacca river, flowing into the sea and a clear view of the church across the river. The room was great, it was by far the biggest hotel room we've had in all our years of staying in hotels.

Room 6 on 3rd floor has:

a tv but i totally didnt see it
a china tea set
private balcony facing the river with quiant table and chairs
big bathroom
a huge bed
fan and air condition

I requested their best room for my wedding night and we were given room 6 which is on the highest floor, the 3rd floor. mind you that they dont have elevators so you will have to climb up each time. well, what can i say. i fell in love with this place and would definitely come back next year

one thing which i wasn't really happy about was that the lady promised she would give us roses and candles free of charge but when she emailed me she listed these things with price list so i had to tell her to cancel it and just get the bucket of ice and wine glasses.

Room Tip: get the rooms facing the river to avoid noise from the street. you have to be quick because they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We regret there was a miscommunication over the roses and candles. However it has always been our nature to ensure our guest are happy and we went through some length to ensure you have a wine bucket of fresh ice for your romantic night. Thank you for your time to write this review and we hope you have a wonderful stay at our guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahad Datu, Sabah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this sweet guesthouse recently from 15 Nov - 17 Nov. We had a good stay as the guesthouse is located at strategy area, close to jonker walk and those famous tourist spots. It is also located along the river where you can have a good view at night time. The room is great as well as the water pump is fantastic. Decoration in ground floor make us feel like we are in our own home, clean, beautiful etc, can see how much effort they put into the house. Of course the host are super friendly and helpful! Thanks Lian and Wei Yi very much. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heart_fish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerMelaka, Owner at Wayfarer Guest House, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your time taken to write this wonderful review. We like that you get this home sweet home feeling during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
702 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer Guest House

Property: Wayfarer Guest House
Address: 104 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarer Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, nice and cozy guest house located in the heart of the historical city of Melaka. Located along the historic Melaka river with stunning views of the river and only a short distance away from historical sites and popular eateries. All of our rooms are en-suite, air-conditioned and comes with hot shower. Free internet access for guests is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wayfarer Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing