We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“good & quiet getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Neem@Banda Hilir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Neem@Banda Hilir to your Saves list
The Neem@Banda Hilir
117A, Jalan Parameswara | Banda Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good & quiet getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

everything was ok. private request were provided professionally. but could have been better if we were provided with more information of the facilities/services provided.

other than that, was a decent stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siokjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went to Malacca last April and stayed 1 night at The Neem @ Banda Hilir.. got lost in Malacca city about 2 hours while finding the place.. Lack of signboard.. cannot find the way to the place, got to ring the person in charge more than 3 times.. at last, found the place when the clock hit 6pm.. were starving.. The Neem neighbors' dog keep on barking on us..

A small unit of cottage with own unique bathroom.. Very classy and clean... rent extra mattress for a charge of RM50 as we come as a family of 3 boys and spouse . .. room were provided with basic astro channel.. there are 4 small cottage all together in the compound.. got small pool, not so clean but still can attract the boys to have fun... water in the pool were bit salty..

the place were so close to Malacca historic attraction.. only 10 minutes walk to Dataran Pahlawan, A Famosa and etc.. enjoy our night walking around the Malacca city..

We enjoy our stay so far at The Neem but we had sleepless night there... were disturbed by loud noise from nearby club.. i think the club name is, indian association sumting... cannot sleep the whole night.. :( woke up in the morning and got headache.. we hurried packing our things and check out.. went straight home...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools most probably less noise at night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurliesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harold_Lim, Public Relations Manager at The Neem@Banda Hilir, responded to this review, October 19, 2014
Dear Nurliesa,

Thank your you for kind comments and feedback.
1) As mentioned to a previous guest, what may seem like dirt is actually mango flowers and the pool is salty as we use salt instead of chlorine as this is a natural pool.
2) We have put up a huge banner based on your comments. Thanks
3) We will be in touch with you to offer you an offer you can not refuse in order for you to re experience the Neem magic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Relaxing place to stay, away from the busy streets but still quite accessible to tourist spot like Jonker Street and Dataran Pahlawan shopping complex.

The room was quite spacious even though I stay in the smallest room, their shower/toilet was special too with see through roofs on top so that the light will go thru it during the day saving electrical cost.But during the night it is a bit dark because the light was block by the bamboo stick wall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SzeMingHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Malacca did not quite live up to expectations, but this hotel is a pleasant place to stay. It is centrally located. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main attractions. The accomodation is in four very roomy and simple but tastefully decorated cottages arranged around a swimming pool. It is grewat to come back to ot simplyly spending time relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkwb252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent just 1 night with my family, but enjoyed it very much. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very cosy place with everything you would need. Rooms were very spacious. Pool was small but sufficient for dip.

Location is great for foodies. Close to all the nyonya restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Neem is a tree whose medicinal properties and benefits were discovered by Indians over 5000 years ago. The Neem @ Banda Hilir, Melaka is right in the city of Melaka but located away from noise and bustle of city life, it has a rustic charm all its own and all the chalets are set among various species of trees with the Neem. tree dominating, hence its name.

The amenities available at the Neem @ Banda Hilir are admitted,y basic but all that one needs for a quiet , simple, no frills holiday have been provided. The polite, helpful, courteous and friendly staff add to the Neem's charm. City attractions such as shopping, complexes, cinemas, eateries, The A Famosa, St Paul's Hill, Stadthuys buildings and even Jonker walk are all within walking distance.

If one wishes to savour, for a change, a simple holiday in quiet and peaceful surroundings, close to nature with basic amenities, the Neem @ Banda Hilir with its rustic charm will appeal to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suchristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were a group of youth from a church in KL who spend our 4 days 3 nights Church Camp at the Neem. We took hold of all the 4 chalets available and added a few beds to accommodate this 23 people camp. The groups were especially amazed by the sincerity of the staffs there who willingly helped us as much as possible. Great environment and location as we were just about 20 mins walk away from Jonker Street. The swimming pool was just a few feet away from each chalet and the youths enjoyed a game in the pool. Food was also excellent most times and we were also treated to a BBQ chicken for one dinner. Overall, it was a great experience living in the Neem, and we will definitely come back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 160 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#13 of 160 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 160 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 160 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#8 of 160 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Neem@Banda Hilir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neem@Banda Hilir

Property: The Neem@Banda Hilir
Address: 117A, Jalan Parameswara | Banda Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neem is a quaint collection of four rustic chalets that were once the workers’ living quarters of a Dutch Colonial coconut plantation belonging to one of the last Dutch Governors of Malacca. The chalets are collectively known as the Neem due to the magical and therapeutic Neem trees found on the common grounds of this homestead together with the humongous Ketapang trees, coconut trees, mango trees, frangipanis, ixoras and the odd kelor tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Neem@Banda Hilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing