We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and Friendly”

Me & Mrs Jones Cafe
Ranked #48 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Malaysian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Me and Mrs Jones Cafe is a pub where you can come and enjoy a drink while listening to the music of Hawk. Hawk plays anything from oldies to rock to blues. We serve beers and health juicess.
Melaka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Friendly”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Located in a heritage building just off Jonker's, this has to be one of the best live music bars in Melaka with an excellent atmosphere, value and service (no food).
Great selection of live rock and roll and blues music performed by Hawk with an interesting mix of local, expat and tourist customers. Serves cheap beers plus a large selection of fresh juices made and mixed to order (both thirst quenchers and health drinks).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matsallehlagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Better than the Hard Rock!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owners welcome you and serve you drinks and play live music as well...very nice decor reminiscent of a small family owned homely Hard Rock cafe! Drinks at reasonable prices and always some interesting customers in house to have a drink and a chat with...Hawk and Joan certainly get this joint rockin'!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wardysworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb night out”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Just had a superb night out at Me and Mrs Jones'. Shame we didn't know about it til the last night of our stay. Hawk even got me up on the stage, lent me a guitar and got me singing Wonderwall which I haven't done for a good few years. We're defo back next time we're in town.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Malacca's best live music bar”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Run by local music legend Hawk and his wife Joan, Me and Mrs Jones Cafe (geddit?) is the perfect place to spend your evening if you love live music and I'm not talking about that saccharine lot of tosh that you get in a lot of Asian cafes and bars but full on rock and blues classics.  

Hawk is a talented multi instrumentalist and singer who has a rich history of jamming with some of music's A list of legends. Opening up his own cafe to cater to travellers' musical tastes, he has a stream of visiting musicians who pop along for a blues and rock jam session most nights. If you're a bit of a muso yourself don't worry about not having your instrument with you. Hawk will lend you one from his amazing collection. Just get along there and join in. He's even got a grand piano. 

Good prices, great ambiance and a very warm welcome coupled with the best sounds in Malacca make this a must go to venue. 

Highly recommended. 

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cookiemonster171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanmonterio, Owner at Me & Mrs Jones Cafe, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Greetings Bernie =) hawk and joan on behalf of 'me and mrs.jones' would like to thank u and show appreciation for creating and introducing our live music bar to the world through trip advisor. Our music bar currently rank number 1 out of 333 in Melaka. Words cannot express my feelings, nor my thanks for all your contribution and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me & Mrs Jones Cafe also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Me & Mrs Jones Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing