We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy and not worth the price”
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Explorer Hotel
Ranked #44 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed in room 422 the other night. Not only does the toilet is leaking and the electricity went off all the time, the room is very noisy because of the pubs. The receptionist was kind enough to move me to another room but it is still very noisy. Furthermore, the bed and pillow was so uncomfortable thus I did not had any rest afterall.

Room Tip: If you have more time, try looking at others.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for The Explorer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Went there over a long weekend, the the hotel was basic, clean and nice. Receptionist was helpful. Majority were Singaporeans whim came for a short trip like us. Near to makota mall and jonker street. One on the right and the other on the left respectively. Definitely a good loaction for stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lineasy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well I used to pay S$180 a night for a family room at the Holiday Inn when my children were younger and wanted to swim and to enjoy the buffet breakfast. On our recent trip I paid S$100 a night for 2 adjoining rooms here, as my children are now into shopping and eating out. The best thing about staying here is the location. On one side, you have Mahkota Parade, and on the other side, about 10 minutes away by foot, you have Jonker Street. If you are travelling with family and like to have adjoining rooms, they will be able to accommodate that request because many of the rooms are adjoined. There is also a covered multi-storey car park at the back of the hotel (between the hotel and Mahkota Parade), which is complimentary for hotel guests.
However the rooms are small and does not have much space for large pieces of luggage. They only have showers (and not tubs) in the toilets and you cannot party in it. The doors connecting the adjoining units are quite heavy and you will need good door stoppers to keep the doors opened. Wifi in the rooms are either "fair" or "poor". There is a side board for coffee and the kettle but not a table for writing. If you are driving, you should note that you cannot enter the car park from the main entrance, which is actually an "exit" for cars. Go to the end of the block, and after the pass the "Upin and Ipin" restaurant, you will find the entrance to the car park on your right. However, the entrance to Mahkota Parade is also situated at the same place, so make sure you take the entrance to the right rather than to the left (which is for Mahkota Parade). If there is a queue of cars, and if you were to overtake on the left, you may find yourself forced into the entrance for Mahkota Parade rather than for the hotel. There is a rather nice cake shop (La Ho Pastisserie) located opposite the hotel in the Plaza. It's quiet because it is new but the cakes are worth trying. So, in short, if you want luxury, go elsewhere. If you want to save on cost, this is an option worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceciltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the town. Shopping malls, cultural/ historical places and river cruise jetty are within walking distance. The room is clean with comfortable bed. My only comment is i seriously think that they should improve the breakfast. Its been a long while since our last stay but the breakfast nothing changes, the same old same old.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is located right beside Mahkota Parade and opposite Pahlawan mall.

Hotel has a multi-storey carpark and is complimentary for hotel guests. Just have to present your carpark ticket to the reception before leaving and they will do the validation.

Arrive at 11am+, was advised by staff to come back at 3pm. Check in was swift and pleasant. Room was on 4th floor and was right at the end of the L-shape corridor. Room was very new and clean. Bathroom area was abit small but more than enough. Room has individual heater and hair dryer. Toothbrushes and shower cap provided. 2-in-1 shampoo and shower gel dispenser fixed to the wall.

Walking to Jonker St takes only about 10mins. Along the way there are some "attractions" to see.

There is a Newton hawker centre just beside the hotel at night and a 24hrs McDonalds (with drive thru) directly opposite.

Overall very good value hotel. Much better than hotels of the same price range in jb.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danzgir07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was here for a business trip. Checking in was fast and swift. Nice and cozy room. It's located in the center of Melaka city and easy access to jonker street. There's also a night spot just beside the hotel should you need a drink after a day's work. Will definitely return and stay in this hotel should I be back for business trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Newly opened hotel and it location is situated next to Mahkota Parade Mall. RM 208 for triple sharing room (1queen sized bed n 1sgl bed). Flat screened TV. Coffee making facilities available. Bathrooms comes with 3disposable toothbrushes. However, breakfast is very simple with limited choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#48 of 167 in Melaka
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#45 of 167 in Melaka
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balik Pulau Hotel
Balik Pulau Hotel
#74 of 167 in Melaka
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#38 of 167 in Melaka
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Sui Hotel
Sun Sui Hotel
#89 of 167 in Melaka
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Address: Plaza Merdeka No. 1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $20 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing