We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I choose to stay here?”
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Explorer Hotel
Ranked #40 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well I used to pay S$180 a night for a family room at the Holiday Inn when my children were younger and wanted to swim and to enjoy the buffet breakfast. On our recent trip I paid S$100 a night for 2 adjoining rooms here, as my children are now into shopping and eating out. The best thing about staying here is the location. On one side, you have Mahkota Parade, and on the other side, about 10 minutes away by foot, you have Jonker Street. If you are travelling with family and like to have adjoining rooms, they will be able to accommodate that request because many of the rooms are adjoined. There is also a covered multi-storey car park at the back of the hotel (between the hotel and Mahkota Parade), which is complimentary for hotel guests.
However the rooms are small and does not have much space for large pieces of luggage. They only have showers (and not tubs) in the toilets and you cannot party in it. The doors connecting the adjoining units are quite heavy and you will need good door stoppers to keep the doors opened. Wifi in the rooms are either "fair" or "poor". There is a side board for coffee and the kettle but not a table for writing. If you are driving, you should note that you cannot enter the car park from the main entrance, which is actually an "exit" for cars. Go to the end of the block, and after the pass the "Upin and Ipin" restaurant, you will find the entrance to the car park on your right. However, the entrance to Mahkota Parade is also situated at the same place, so make sure you take the entrance to the right rather than to the left (which is for Mahkota Parade). If there is a queue of cars, and if you were to overtake on the left, you may find yourself forced into the entrance for Mahkota Parade rather than for the hotel. There is a rather nice cake shop (La Ho Pastisserie) located opposite the hotel in the Plaza. It's quiet because it is new but the cakes are worth trying. So, in short, if you want luxury, go elsewhere. If you want to save on cost, this is an option worth considering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceciltong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 157 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the town. Shopping malls, cultural/ historical places and river cruise jetty are within walking distance. The room is clean with comfortable bed. My only comment is i seriously think that they should improve the breakfast. Its been a long while since our last stay but the breakfast nothing changes, the same old same old.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kakamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is located right beside Mahkota Parade and opposite Pahlawan mall.

Hotel has a multi-storey carpark and is complimentary for hotel guests. Just have to present your carpark ticket to the reception before leaving and they will do the validation.

Arrive at 11am+, was advised by staff to come back at 3pm. Check in was swift and pleasant. Room was on 4th floor and was right at the end of the L-shape corridor. Room was very new and clean. Bathroom area was abit small but more than enough. Room has individual heater and hair dryer. Toothbrushes and shower cap provided. 2-in-1 shampoo and shower gel dispenser fixed to the wall.

Walking to Jonker St takes only about 10mins. Along the way there are some "attractions" to see.

There is a Newton hawker centre just beside the hotel at night and a 24hrs McDonalds (with drive thru) directly opposite.

Overall very good value hotel. Much better than hotels of the same price range in jb.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danzgir07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Was here for a business trip. Checking in was fast and swift. Nice and cozy room. It's located in the center of Melaka city and easy access to jonker street. There's also a night spot just beside the hotel should you need a drink after a day's work. Will definitely return and stay in this hotel should I be back for business trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Newly opened hotel and it location is situated next to Mahkota Parade Mall. RM 208 for triple sharing room (1queen sized bed n 1sgl bed). Flat screened TV. Coffee making facilities available. Bathrooms comes with 3disposable toothbrushes. However, breakfast is very simple with limited choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SofyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We checked into explora hotel on a fri afternoon..it was a quick check in for 2 sets of connecting rooms.
Surprisingly the room was pretty small, ended up we hardly open the connecting door at all, bath room is small too.
But as we don't intend to stay in the room that often I guess is alright that it is small.
But I would said the bed was comfortable, clean sheets, the air con was cooling enough and the shower head was strong.
I rate the breakfast 3/10.. It was just a make shift hall at level one, I was there at 9 am and everything is empty.. They were replenished plates by plates into the big metal warmer.. So you have to be fast as everyone will rush to get it even for their second serving..
Location of the hotel was so convenient walking distant to food n shopping, and parking was convenient as there is a multi car park behind the hotel..

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank jooei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our first visit we were very satisfied. Good location. The second time the toilet stained. the housekeeping staff did not clean properly.
Noisy tourist from China. Shouted on top of their lungs and the hotel could not do anything about these noisy tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#61 of 169 in Melaka
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.7 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#46 of 169 in Melaka
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#96 of 169 in Melaka
57 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arissa
Hotel Arissa
#19 of 169 in Melaka
48 reviews
1.5 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#42 of 169 in Melaka
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Address: Plaza Merdeka No. 1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $24 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing