We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change the Signage of the displayed Hotel sign.”
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Explorer Hotel
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Change the Signage of the displayed Hotel sign.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Flag out displayed "Explorer" is too cursive and makes tourists drivers locating the place a bit difficult. The hotel is not sound proof. The band at the mall next to the hotel plays so loudly and into the early hours of the morning. Those light sleepes may be affected.
Rooms are a bit small like shoe box unit. Good for short stays.
Room 403 parquet flooring, next to toilet has large air pocket. Hope management will do some repair. Would be niice to have some holders for toiletries and glasses for rinsing mouth.
Otherwise, the location is great. Lots of things to see at the Malls. 10 minutes walk to Jonkers and church of Saint Francis Xavier.
So much lovely things to see at Jonkers that there is so little time to sleep in.
The location is really great!

Room Tip: We stayed at the 4 Floor a little noisy. Maybe should stay at the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinaTan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    53
    50
    12
    9
See reviews for
37
41
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Considering the price I paid, I can't really complain. The room reminded me very much of the hotels in Hong Kong - very small, but everything was fairly new and clean, with basic amenities like a kettle, hot water, toiletries and hair dryer. Service was prompt - I requested for extra towels and pillows and housekeeping came within minutes. Wifi didn't work and TV reception was poor (although they have Astro) - but I didn't really spend much time in the room anyway.

The indoor garden and playground on level 2 was nice for my little one to explore, but I wouldn't recommend staying on level 2 because there are some common areas where guests would like to hang out (into the wee hours of the night). Location wise - perfect. Right smack in the middle of all the shopping centers and fast food. Great for those who don't have cars, because everything is walking distance. Bad for those who are driving because of the bad traffic around the vicinity. Parking is free if you get your ticket validated, but the parking lot is not connected to the hotel, so a bit of walking will be required. Most people have trouble finding the main entrance from the car park - so some sign boards would really help!

Room Tip: Don't stay on level 2 because these are near the common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarisMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Explorer is a new hotel situated in close proximity to 2-3 mega malls in Melaka which makes it a very convenient place to explore Melaka. It is also near to Jonker Street and the World Heritage sites of Melaka.

The hotel seems to be one of few occupants in a large square/building but never once did I feel unsafe (even late at night). They also had a security guard seated outside the hotel at night. The hotel also had ample parking lots/space which is great for those with cars and they will reimburse you for the costs of the parking tickets.

Due to the long weekend, we only managed to book the deluxe rooms with 2 single beds and while the room was small (barely space to walk), it was very clean and made for a comfortable stay.

One bad thing for us was that the TV didnt work as well though all we could see was static and blur images but this was compensated by the fact that the hotel had free wifi (not common for hotels in Msia).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephSeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Pros: Location is fantastic as its only a stone throw away from Mahkota Shopping mall. Walking to Christ Church and Jonker Street are within 10 minutes only. Free WIFI. Free parking.

Cons: Standard room is rather small but good enough for 2 person. No cupboard for clothes but comes with hangers on 2 hooks. No fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed this hotel on their level 4 during last weekend and find that the hotel room is clean and acceptable. The HOTEL word is bigger than the EXPLORER, therefore for people who are driving, need to take a close look at their logo where there is an eagle like in front of the amin road. There is a free carpark and it is just beside the Makhota Parade shopping area. It is super convenient and is also near the jonker walk which you may walk around 10-15min. The wifi there is not very good which may not able to detech and the room we stay, the aircon is abit noisy. But overall, we will stay there again for the our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuiQing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed 1 night in this Hotel.

Hotel: New. Location is close to shopping centers right in the heart of the city. Night market is right next street. Rates are affordable. Please note there is no smoking anywhere in the hotel.
Also no breakfast provided. Car park is free.

Rooms: Clean, comfortable beds, provides Tooth brushes and shower gel, air-con in my room was noisy, small room.

Service: The hotel was kind enough to let me change the dates (last min) when I made a mistake booking the room. However, it took 2 trips to the reception after my check in to finally get the correct room. Once due to key not working, the second was when i entered the room, found that it was Double and not the twin i requested. I would let you draw you own conclusions. I would think that maybe the staff is new and may not have had the proper training needed.

I have rated this hotel average with consideration to the rates charged. Sin$60 gets me a small clean room with comfortable beds at a convenient location. The service provided pretty much depends on your luck I guess.

Room Tip: Maybe consider to pay a little more for a upgrade to bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Took a weekend off to stay at Malacca and this hotel was spot on. It was very convenient to find - next to the huge mall (Mahkota Parade Shopping Center) - from Christ Church Melaka and Melaka Art Gallery (red buildings) 15 minutes walk or you can opt for those well-decorated flowery tricycles and you'll reach the place in 8-10 minutes.

The hotel comes with free wi-fi (connection is not good but I didn't really care much about this as I was out of the hotel most of the time) and some basic add ons - like toiletries and bottled water. I guess people shouldn't be complaining too much about the size of the rooms as really they are quite ok for the amount that you pay. The room had a water pot (to heat some water) and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: I took the bus from Sentral station and only cost me 1 ringgit to reach Christ Church. How cheap is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan-skin-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#15 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#50 of 166 in Melaka
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balik Pulau Hotel
Balik Pulau Hotel
#72 of 166 in Melaka
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
Aldy Hotel Stadthuys
#31 of 166 in Melaka
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#44 of 166 in Melaka
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Property: The Explorer Hotel
Address: Plaza Merdeka No. 1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing