We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple And Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River One Residence
Ranked #54 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Simple room with a comfortable bed,great location,toilet is clean,enjoy the nice view behind the guest house and friendly boss.They introduce all the famous places and food to us,Wonderful stay in River One.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kariechin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Aha.....I remembered this couple as adorable, very cheerful and rather talkative sometimes. It just spiced up our time in Melaka. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 121 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

River One Guest House Melaka - oh what a great place. Just arrived with my little Myvi from Kuala Lumpur, got a parking space in front of the house, got parking tickets from the hosts (one hour RM 0.80, for tomorrow from 8-11). Great hosts, they offered me free dinner! Now sitting on the terrace overlooking the Sungai Melaka (the nice river that roams through the city, where you can do the cruise), assigning reviewers for abstracts for a scientific conference - the free Internet is fast and perfect. Free water and cookies and hot soup on the stove are down there in the kitchen, nice people from all the world around - great!! And my room has a big window, with these old wooden blinds. It is an old house, with high ceilings. I highly recommended this guest house (double room for less than RM 70, January 2013) for your stay in Melaka!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

In fact parking is always a problem during weekend but no worries, just talk to us and we are happy to advise you or even guide you to some good and affordable parking location. Thanks for your feedback, cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The guest house had a perfect location near the centre, the rooms were clean and quiet. we have never seen such a friendly staff. Thank you for making our stay in melaka really great! Greetings from the austrian's :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi to our beloved Austrian guest, thank you! Thank you for being the first to put up a review in 2013 and thank you for appreciating our place and staff. Most importantly, we are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay in Melaka. May your next destination and experience be just as enjoyable as this one, Cheers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Located in the middle of Melaka's historic Chinatown, River One Residence is near to major attractions in Melaka City. I am impressed with the friendly and excellent services rendered by the staff. The hostel gives me a homely feel.

Although simple, the rooms are clean and comfortable, with air-conditioning and WIFI access. Heated water is also available for all 6 shared bathrooms/restrooms. The environment is open, bright and airy. The kitchen is open to all guest and guest can interact with each other at the guest lounge on the 2nd floor, overlooking the scenic Melaka River.

Being near to 2 vegetarian outlets, it is also a great place for vegetarians to stay. I would strongly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a getaway at Melaka,

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 2nd floor for a quiet rest as there will be less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Your pointer on vegetarian restaurants will benefits all other travelers. I will make it a point to include the restaurants in our map. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at our humble place. Thank you very very much and looking forward to having you with us in near future. Happy New Year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I could stay peaceful and lovely with wonderful staff. :)
They were so kind, helped me a lot!
If I have a chance going back to Malaca, I d love to stay this guest-house for sure. ;)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Are you the Yumi from Shibuya, Tokyo? I maybe wrong..... but one thing for sure, we at River One Residence are happy to learn that we were able to help you in any way. Thank you for your kind words and we would definitely welcome you back in an open arm! Merry X'mas and Happy New Year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Like:
Clean room, kitchen and shared bathroom
Great location to attactrive places: Jonker Street, Cheng Ho Cultural Museum, Melaka River and nice surrounding
Friendly & helpful Staff
Freebies: Cream crackers, coffee and tea making facilitiy

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikiooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Hi Hi to our guest from Vietnam,,,thank you very much for your compliments, we are flattered but we like it ...hahahaha.. That itself is an early Christmas present to us. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place, friendly personnels, i love the view frm window... But just A bit noisy due to Melaka river cruise activity along the Melaka River especially at nite time. Plus, free cream crackers , coffee, n tea making facility hahahaha.....

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eyague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverOne-Alain, Manager at River One Residence, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Hahaha..sometimes I was confused too when the river taxi cruises by, I though it was raining heavily...but soon I just get used to it and becomes a soothing lullaby...
Thank you for your review! Merry Christmas!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
River Song Residence
River Song Residence
#34 of 227 in Melaka
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 227 in Melaka
209 reviews
1 mi away
Ramarama Designer Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nomaps
Nomaps
#1 of 152 in Melaka
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nancii Guesthouse
Nancii Guesthouse
#13 of 227 in Melaka
13 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cyclamen Cottage
Cyclamen Cottage
#17 of 227 in Melaka
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River One Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River One Residence

Address: 60-62 Jalan Kampung Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River One Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River One Residence is strategically located within UNESCO World Heritage of Melaka, overlooking Melaka River and boasting unsurpassed service, with clean and comfortable amenities, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your River One Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing