We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth your while!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sunflower House to your Saves list
Sunflower House
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   No. 57, Jalan PJ 1,Taman Pertam Jaya | Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia (Formerly One Residence Stay)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Worth your while!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got this unit via a voucher promotion. It was really a steal. We have 8 pax so it was just perfect for our group. It was slightly tricky getting to this place due to the weird fork roads to get to Jalan Parasmewara but once you find your bearings, it's actually quite convenient. Location is NOT a problem if you have a car.

Back to the house. There are 4 rooms, 1 downstairs which is a twin bedder. 3 rooms upstairs, 1 master bedroom with super king size bed and thecother 2 twins. all rooms have ensuite bathrooms. All rooms with aircons n the lounge downstairs also fully air conditioned. on top of that, they have ceiling fans as well if u don't like aircons. Rooms are really spacious and the master bedroom is quite huge. Can put in at least 4 mattresses on the floor if required!

Although sparsely furnished, the house is adequately furnished. Beds are comfortable but most important, the house is clean and has a fresh smell. Must be due to the high ceiling! There is a sink and work bench in the kitchen. Full cutlery and crokery are provided. Coffee & tea & biscuits provided too. Kettle provided.

Other amenities available are a TV with selected Astro channels, a washing macine and a hairdryer. All rooms have towels and bathroom has the 2 in 1 shampoo/bath gel.

We have free wifi access and also free breakfast. Breakfast is delivered to the house (btw, the house is run by Sunflower Hotel across the road. If you do not have a big group, the hotel is a great choice. Very reasonable and clean (fm observation). You would need to check in to the house at the reception desk of Sunflower Hotel. Don't expect too much for breakfast. You can top up with snacks or other food stuff packed from town. The house has a microwave for warming food but no other cooking facilities like stove or gas. Understand can rent a stove and gas from the reception.

For night activities, can play mahjong or carrom. Tables and game sets are provided for free. Those who do not like to venture out to town can also book BBQ sets (including food for grilling) at RM35 per pax. The ingredients and equipment will be delivered to the house. It is really ideal if you want to hold a party with family or friends.

We enjoyed our stay and the kids (young adults n teens) were happy with the house and they are a hard bunch to please so enough said!!!

Room Tip: If you have a bigger group, you are able to book adjoining houses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The decision to stay here was because all our regular hotels are booked when we decided on the trip. We went by the reviews posted and was surprisingly pleased with the choice.

Depending on the purpose of your visit and if you are travelling with a bunch of friends or extended family, this is a great option. It isn't exactly near tourist spots, unless you drive. But the accommodation provided is superb. Everyone is under one roof, the place is clean, sufficiently equipped with a washer, medium-sized refridgerator, kettle and a stove (if you want to cook, you will need to purchase gas tank). Every room has an ensuite bathroom. Most importantly, it is relatively safe as the location is amongst residential estate. There're amenities like provision shops, massage place, food and bakery within easy reach.

I ordered in a BBQ Package and our family of 6 Adults and 4 children BBQ at the courtyard, it was more than enough food!

Service is prompt.

Downside is mosquitoes, as the end of this stretch of Residences is a piece of land preparing to be developed, there is a swamp, mosquitoes are breeding there. So lots of mossies in the house. You really need to keep the house door and windows closed at all times.

Would return again only if travelling in group. Individual stays would be better off in a regular hotel and with pool facilities to entertain the children.

Room Tip: They're the same, choose a unit away from the vacant land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I been to most Homestay and this is the best ever. Free wifi . Whole house aircondition . Its very clean . Definately will come again if coming to melaka for vacation. And I got to know that this place is one of the top 3 Homestay in malaysia. Wow...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fearrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad place, though a bit far from town. Breakfast not very fantastic. Place quiet, can park 2 cars. Only problem is many Mosquitos. Inside all the rooms and living rooms. If can spray or install mosquito trap would be better. Note have to check in at Sunflower hotel. Not the one in the map.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Father240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We rented one of the town houses. The place is very basic, however it is clean. We did have a problem with the toilet running all night. The breakfast is not the best.
We all got bitten by mosquito during the night. So bring some insect repellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOCH276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visit Melaka every year during Chinese New Year and this time we staying at One Residence Melaka for our family with 4 room (3 bedroom with attached bathroom at 1st floor and 1 bedroom at ground floor). So the double storey house can cater for 4 couples with 1 double bedroom and 3 single bedrooms.

Here some tips on the route using Lebuh AMJ, If you are coming from the city center passing Semabuk then you need to make a U-turn at the traffic lights. Keep to the left after the U-turn and you will see ESSO station on your left before you see the Pertam Jaya signage as there are no traffic lights to the housing area.

Here is my review on One Residence: -

Hotel Environment: The environment is basically a double storey suitable for family of 8. They provide baby cots for my 7 months baby with convenient. Take note, It is not a resort type of environment.

Around the hotel: There isn’t much around the residence as it is a new development and lots of new shops and it is far away from the city center near Ujong Pasir. It is only suitable for family or friends with cars.

Hotel Service & Staff: Since it is a housing area and residence, there isn’t much services from the hotel except there are breakfast provided where it served sandwiches, potatoes, egg scramble and fried meehoon. For those that stay more than 2 nights may need to call the reception for housekeeping if needed. They only come at 4pm for my housekeeping on the living hall and 1 bedroom on the ground floor.

Room Comfort: Room is pretty normal and acceptable with attached bathroom. Nothing fancy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The house is very clean and the rooms are spacious...there's a fridge, microwave and even a washing machine in the house. Breakfast were provided but nothing fancy. We enjoyed our stay. I will come back again.

Room Tip: The MB is very big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feliciatshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#31 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
8.1 mi away
Everly Resort
Everly Resort
#127 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.5 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#81 of 161 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jetty Suites Apartments
Jetty Suites Apartments
#4 of 99 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cyclamen Cottage
Cyclamen Cottage
#24 of 201 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.8 mi away
Troka Prewar Residence
Troka Prewar Residence
#12 of 99 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunflower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower House

Property: Sunflower House
Address: No. 57, Jalan PJ 1,Taman Pertam Jaya | Padang Temu, Melaka 75050, Malaysia (Formerly One Residence Stay)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunflower House 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value, Great location and peaceful environment can be found in this house. The house is Clean and spacious with four bedrooms and bathrooms attached to each room, suitable for family or friends gathering. It is located within the heart of Malacca, 5 km from the city not far from tourist attractions. Spend your day sightseeing in cultural attractions and shopping in antique shops or just relax in the house and enjoy your own barbeque dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sunflower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing