We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple and good for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prima Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prima Hotel Melaka
Ranked #109 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple and good for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms (connecting) for 1 night. The room did clean, more space and quite. The staff also quick response and nice. But they should make a dial phone number list on the phone. Because last time we don't know how to dial room service so we have to go to front desk. The breakfast is so teribble. They don't provide orange juice and slice of fruits. The location is not too far to jongker street. At night you can find for food nearby. For muslim there was nasi kandar,for non muslim there were lot of food staal a few step ahead. If back to malacca, won't refuse to stay at this hotel bcoz the price is cheap

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rulelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
18
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We reached at 11+ am but was refused for early check in.
We booked 3 rooms via agoda 2 weeks in advance & paid SGD90 per room per night.
2 nights before departure, we realised in agoda site, the rate dropped from SGD90 to SGD60 per room per night!!!
Was shocked by the bare minimum we got when we checked in - TV did not work totally for all rooms,no mini fridge,towels look very old,give you the feeling that they are not washed.
My friend commented that their towels are smelly too....
The mount-to-wall shampoo dispensary in 1 of our rooms were missing as well.
Rooms are not sound proof,all 3 rooms we got can hear the passerby of other guests in & out the same floor & door slamming from other guest rooms as well.
Breakfast very limited choice & taste horrible.
WIFI signal was poor, at times no signal.
In general, we are displeased by the quality & standard of rooms for the price we paid for.
We will not come back again & definitely will not recommend staying in this hotel.
Luckily, we stayed only for 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quite nice hotel. Affordable price and we got more than enough. The location is good because it's near from Jonker Street. We can get a lot of nice food there. But to be honest, the breakfast was not too good. I hope they can improve the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Spent a night in a Superior room. Came with a queen and a single bed. Beds were ok. LCD TV was fine. WiFi easily available although gets laggy when more people got online.

The bad was the place was dirty and dusty. The carpets felt grimy and have not been washed for the longest time. Because of this, the stay was unpleasant. Luckily it's only for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Location was across from the old Lido theatre of yester-years! Food outlets were all within waking distance. I stayed only one night. Check in and out was fast. There was no underground parking so one had to park outside and if you come back late, you park on the road side. The staff were kind enough to tell me that they would place the parking coupons on the car when it was time to display the coupons to avoid being fined. The room was sparse to say the least - reminded me of my hostel in student days! Bathroom was spacious but the room was small. The 2nd person had to walk like a crab - sideways - to lie down on the other side. There was no drawers and no wardrobe. One had a corner with a bar at the top to hang one's clothes from. They had very thoughtfully provided a prayer mat for the Muslims! Coffee and tea making facilities were adequate. Towels were not clean and looked like they could do with some bleaching and real washing. Bed sheets did not look frightfully clean but certainly did not stink. Bed and pillows were acceptable. Air conditioning worked well. Bathroom heater was the instant kind with a noisy pump and it worked well. Internet access was slow and the TV reception was limited to three channels and quite poor quality. Breakfast was simplistic and of very poor quality - again reminding me of my student day hostel stay! But then for the price paid one cannot expect more than this.

Room Tip: Make sure you go early if you want a parking lot in the hotel's driveway or else you have to par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palani47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Got very good off season discount so happy with price and quality of hotel. Room was decent size, clean and comfortable. Don't need a fridge, don't use the TV. found staff to be friendly and helpful and spoke reasonable English. It was handy to the riverside walkway which gave a good short cut to many of the attractions. The supplied breakfast was pretty mediocre and didn't change. Wifi in all rooms though a bit slow. Having a back room meant it was pretty quiet and there was no street noise although there are some barking dogs nearby. Plenty of cheap food stalls in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked the Prima Hotel as it claimed to be in the "Jonker St/Chinatown", however upon arrival it became quite clear that this was not the case. The hotel is situated off a main road, amongst a bunch of fruit stalls and right beside a large empty lot currently in use as a car park, on the other side of the river and approximately 2 km's from Jonkers St. Although the walk into Chinatown and the main attractions is not hard going (apart from the heat), it is pretty unpleasant and through traffic.

The hotel itself is pretty shabby, our bathroom looked like an unfinished project and the room itself stunk of cigarette smoke when we checked in, while quite clearly claiming to be a non- smoking room. The staff didn't seem too bothered by this and produced a de-ionizer which only partly cleared the air. I don't think they made up our room at all either, which for the amount of money we spent on the place, wasn't good enough.

Having said all this, the bed itself was comfy and the sheets were clean when we arrived. As the hotel seems to cater for a mainly Asian customer base, the buffet breakfast was very good - if you like your Nasi Lemak and Kaya Toast that is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#44 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#94 of 165 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#25 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#32 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldy Hotel China Town
Aldy Hotel China Town
#79 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#48 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Hotel Melaka

Property: Prima Hotel Melaka
Address: Jalan Kee Ann, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prima Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prima Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing