We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good than expected!”
Review of Prima Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prima Hotel Melaka
Ranked #116 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
“Good than expected!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We not expected too high, but we step in the room, very satisfied! Room very spacious and clean. Only the cafe want to charge my child for breakfast, so I told them, my child already taken food, can sit there? They allow to sit,otherwise, I will go back to room directly. Usually we stay at hotel, the staff won't ask for the cost of breakfast if saw 1kid accompany with parent. This is first time, I met it. I will return if go to Melaka again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleyyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
18
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon, after a week travelling in Malaysia with a fair amount of luggage (plus extras) to find we were on the third floor, not bad except the lift was out of order. As there was only one person on the desk we had to wait for five to ten minutes to get help with the baggage. In the event we carried two of the cases ourselves. This was no mean feat as the stairs were to say the least inconsistent, ranging from about two inches to up to 6-7 inches high. Once in the room things were fine, the room was small but reasonably comfortable, basic facilities were available, and most things worked. Although we asked for a double room with a large bed we ended up with two single beds, but that was fine, at least the beds were very comfortable. We only had an over-night stay so we were OK with the facilities, although the breakfast wasn't exactly five star it was acceptable (first time we have been given plastic plates and bowls to eat off). Overall the experience was OK, remembering it was a budget hotel, but had we been there for more than one night the opinion may well have been different.
Incidentally, the hotel is a 20-30 minute walk away from the Jonker Street night market, a bit further than we had expected, but the riverside walk was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was there on 1Dec for a night .The hotel looks new, clean, room is spacious. Lift is not working & it seems like they are not going to service the lift & intend to leave it as it is..As for breakfast, if you must have an egg in the morning be prepared to pay 2 Ringgit for an egg. They will not charge to the room but the staff will collect your money & stuffed it straight to his pocket.Thats what i had seen !! I hope the hotel mangement can look into this matter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

On arrival, there was construction still going on with hand rails being installed to the front steps which that and the notice advising the lift would be Out of Service Until Further Notice set the Oops, We Made A Mistake Meter half way up the scale. The foyer, however was clean and showed the recency of its completion. The reception was warm and the quick attention of the luckless baggage porter who fortunately only had one floor to struggle up with our many suitcases showed they were aware of the shortcomings.
The room was easily opened with one touch of the only proximity card system we had encountered on our 18 day trip around Malaysia and the up-to-date room showed that there had been some good consultants engaged to do the technology fit. Can't say the decor was of the same level with some rather odd lampshade choices. The air-con responded precisely to commands from the remote, the wi-fi was the fastest and most reliable of any hotel we had used and the TV was in a good location that allowed in-bed viewing. The picture quality was good and it was the first hotel we had encountered to provide the National Geographic channel. Breakfast was a little short on selection, and with a two day stay, we were puzzled that on the first morning eggs to order were OK but the next day were at additional charge to our breakfast-included tariff. Perhaps because the second day was a Saturday, the rules changed.
Overall, the newness of the place was a bonus, but maybe it was too new for our visit but things will bed down after another month or so, I would guess.
Recommended, nevertheless.

Room Tip: If the lift is out, ask for a 1st floor room. Watch the steps if you have to use them to get to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am glade that I booked through Agoda.com for my Melaka trip a week ago.
The Prima Hotel that I and my family stayed was a small but pleasant one and was given two rooms on the 1st level connecting to each other.
Room price was reasonable, room was clean, pillow, bed was comfortable and towels were changed every day.
The toilet floor was slippery when it's wet and the drainage was very slow (need improvement).
Reception staffs are very helpful.
During the last August review I read, the lift is not working but now it's still not working either. Hope the hotel will look into the matter as it's very inconvenience for some elderly people staying at the hotel.
The hotel good location is not very far from the St Paul Church, Jonker Street (Night Market), Dutch Square, Melaka River Cruise, Maritime Museum & Naval Museum, Melaka River, Menara Taming Sari ( is the first and only gyro tower in Malaysia so far), Hatten Square Suites & Shoppes, Mahkota Parade, Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall and some recommended eateries to be mentioned. All these places are very convenience within walking distances about 10 to 20 mins.
If I will to go to Melaka again, I definitely will stay at The Prima Hotel.
Do not only read on reviews but to experience the stay at the hotel yourself.
In Melaka, it's not easy to get a taxi. Before you hopped into it, ask the fare as the do not use the fare reading meter. During my two days there, taken three taxi ride at a flat rate at RM15 per trip.
Do be very extra careful when you are crossing the roads, there are no traffic lights or pedestrians crossing and some roads are also very narrow.

Susanna :)

Room Tip: If family of 4, asked for two rooms that are connected. If travelling with elderly people request to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelakaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel looks reasonably new, as indicated by the bedroom decor. We asked for two connecting rooms which the hotel obliged. However, we had to climb two floors with an infant and luggage. The lift, as commented by previous reviewers, remains in a perpetual state of repair/maintenance. Frequent climbing of the stairs became a strenuous affair. Anyway, overall our stay was quite pleasant, except for the almost continuous barking of dogs in the night. The hotel's location is quite central to the main city atractions. No major complaints really, as the rates are very reasonable, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel.

The place is pretty run down although it is newly built one or two years ago. The hotel is still undergoing renovation. The lift is not completed. You have to climb up the narrow stairs with the luggage.
There is no potter to help you with the luggage.

The room is big but the bed is only a Queen sized bed.
For family with children, the bed will be considered small.

The floor in the toilet is very slippery. The drainage is poor hence the water will "flood" the toilet.

You have to put the "Please make up my room" tag at the door for the staff to clean up your room. We did not get one of our rooms clean because we did not put this sign. The room which was cleaned was not thoroughly cleaned. The dustbin in the toilet was not emptied.

The breakfast was not of good quality standard.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It's located near Jonker Street and there are many shop houses nearby. It's also pretty quiet at night which allows good sleep.

Room Tip: Choose Level 1 if you do not want to climb too many flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaonghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#101 of 166 in Melaka
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#39 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accordian Hotel
Accordian Hotel
#124 of 166 in Melaka
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 166 in Melaka
153 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#61 of 166 in Melaka
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark View Hotel
Hallmark View Hotel
#53 of 166 in Melaka
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Hotel Melaka

Property: Prima Hotel Melaka
Address: Jalan Kee Ann, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prima Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Prima Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing