We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Ranked #116 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great entertainment and accomodation”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Read alots review from others on this resort issue. So far our recently trip was very good. Fast check in, they provide us condotel with 3 room. We stay at D Savoy CondoteTower 1. (6 of us) so all the room comes with towel which change daily by the room service that included the toilet items, instant coffee, mineral water and so on. The internal shuttle a.k.a banana truck easy to get and helpful to send us where we want to go. The entertainment at cowboy town, safari were excelent .All of us enjoy it. The food at Clubhouse is good the only things food at Kopitiam Cowboy town need to improve.The water park also good unfortunately heavy rain so we enjoy on short period there.All the staff from the Condotel,Cowboy town,safari and water park very friendly and we do enjoy on that short period.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joehali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    94
    115
    88
    123
See reviews for
284
37
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

I booked online, and find out it is 100% higher than they LIST price in the counter.
They told me the list prices (not a promotion price, it's standard price) is for Malaysia and Singaporean.


I am a Singaporean, and I have made this clear in my online booking which is on their own official website.
SoI have written to their management asking for refund.
They refused. They said next time I should book by phonecall to enjoy their so called "local rate" which is 100% lower than online booking rate, or if I have already paid online higher rate, I should tell them before check in for refund, and they can give vouchers as a refund. Since I have checked out, I cannot get any refund.

It is a ridiculous pricing practice, obviously discriminate against online customers

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank airconlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

First impression from the moment of entering the resort...creepy feeling. The distance from the main entrance to the villa itself was the longest drive i have ever taken. On reaching the villa, reception service was good.On entering the villa was another story....The ambiance of this villa is atrocious.On entering the villa, there's this funny musky smell and there were ? cat or rat droppings near the pool area and the master bedroom toilet.Oh yes, I found a toad,yes a TOAD in the master bedroom toilet!!! I found litters all over the villa area and the pool was full of dried leaf.There's also a security lapse in the villa, as one of the entrance's lock between the dining area and the pool area is spoilt.....I am a person who is never judgmental but this experience really traumatised me forever...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antzy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

I recently went on a family holiday and stayed in one of the villas. Although it was clean it was definitely not up to the 4 star standard that it is advertised as. Stating that they can accommodate up to 8 people in the villa, they only provided cups for 4. There was low pressure in one of the toilets and the phones do not work.

What really angers me most is that the management was very crafty. When my dad rang to make the booking for the villa, it was recommended that he takes a package to include all meals and entrance fees and was under the impression that it would be cheaper if booked earlier. My dad said he will think about it and discuss with the rest of the group. The week before our holiday, the management rang him, pressurising him to pay up for the meal package. It was only when I rang them back to ask for the breakdown on the price, did they then admit that the package price would be the same as that of a walk-in price.

Fortunately we did not take the package deal. When we arrived at the resort we found that they were running a special deal which started the day before we arrived and due to run for the month. All admissions were discounted by nearly 50%! For a party of 8 adults that is a significant saving. The management sure kept that quiet when recommending the package deal. I feel they were really dishonest.

With a bit more care and investment, the place could be a success.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brumUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We have had our summer vacation in A'Famosa Resort , Melaka.
The resort is huge and unique with variety of facilities and activities.
While we enjoyed the golf game , our children had their fun time at Water Park and Safari Park. Evening, our family visited the Cowboy Town, which the animal musical parade was an entertaining one, and it end with the firework displays.

We stayed at the Villa with private swimming pool, the villa was spacious and the children spend most of their time in the pool . It was not luxury but just good for a holiday stay.

The half day Melaka City Tour was interesting, however it could be a great one if it is a full day tour , as there are too many places need to be visited and too many local food need to be tasted.

It was a good summer vacation ; short , simple and yet everyone enjoy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giayue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Make sure you pack ur clubs as the golf courses are amazing and if your average like me... pack alot of balls as well :). theres heaps to do and everyone is really friendly.
thanx for making my Malaysia experience an awesome one and will definitly come back and recommend A'Famosa to everyone!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muckhohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed at the honeymoon suite and the design of the suite was magnificent! The private jacuzzi and pool were great. Enclosed courtyard also means that added privacy.

Went to the cowboy town and the carnival parade was very entertaining. Especially love the elephant that went nuts dancing with music!

Didn't play golf but the course looks good from the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloesclau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
18.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
16.0 mi away
Everly Resort
Everly Resort
#130 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
17.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Property: A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Address: Jalan Kamus, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing