We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Nearby Hotels
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RC Hotel(Melaka)
$57
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$56
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
$153
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$41
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveler rating
36
104
133
93
131
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
104
133
93
131
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 497 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the A famosa resort. The bungalow magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. The hospitality was so excellent. The fascinating scenery will surely wave us to come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank emilaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Our experience with A famosa has been pretty disappointing overall.

BOOKING RESERVATION>>We were told to call the KL reservation centre for reservation however the customer service at KL reservation centre
seems to know very little about A famosa.For all the enquiries we had
before our booking, the personnel did not know, i remember her saying
this: "I don't know, so do you still want to book the villa?", After many questions asked, finally she told me the bungalow villa is fully
booked, the next day we call, they are 70 villas available.

BREAKFAST>>I suppose those who stay in resort hotel, can have breakfast in the club house(worth rm25pp). For those who rented the bungalow villa like us, have to drive about 5-10minutes to Water world and paid RM3 for carpark before you proceed to the breakfast area which looks more like a low cost food court centre, during peak holiday season, you might need to park your car as far as 10 minutes walking from the water world entrance.(open air car park,hopefully it doesn't rain during the breakfast area). The breakfast at waterworld cost RM10 if you have more than 8 persons (for a four room
villa we have 8 voucher). The breakfast is not buffet, we have three portion of the voucher, one is main course, you can choose from nasi lemak, western fried egg and sausages. The dessert portion they will give you 3 slices of watermelon per voucher. The drinks portion you can choose from tea or coffee or orange juice, all of them are very diluted, not worth trying. The breakfast is certainly not inspiring, but there is virtually no restaurants around. Unless you choose to top up RM15 with the voucher to eat buffet breakfast at the club house, which is about 15minutes drive from the villa ,we did try and the quality of the food is not worth the money and time.

THEME PARK>>Water world is RM30per person(no discounts even you stay there),children below 3 feets are free. The wave pool is like a malay discotheque, very noisy and unpleasant experience. During peak season, you will have problem renting the tube as they have very little supply ,may be they dont expect many people visits at one day.
If you ever been to sunway lagoon, the afamosa water world is rated no star in terms of service and ambience. For the cowboy town, you need to pay RM30 for the carnival show and the red indian show. They will be difficult on you if you only want to dine in the cowboytown (there are 2-3restaurants inside) and not wanted to watch their
shows. The ticket counter lady told me if i dont have reservation with the restaurant, i am not allowed to go in. She told me i need to wait at least 1-2hours since the restaurant are full at that time.I told her i don't mind waiting, she mentioned they dont allow people waiting outside the restaurant without reservation. Of course i didnt' settle for this ridiculous reasoning .Finally the ricket officer let us walk in the cowboy town without buying the show tickets reluctantly.

BUNGALOW VILLA>>for those who never stay in a bungalow with own swimming pool before, this is a wonderful experience and joys .I must admit we had a good time with the private pool.The bungalow is not maintained with high standard.The interior and equipments are 2stars if we use hotel jagoon. (do not trust the picture of their websites, is not reliable)

Others>>A famosa has a very good idea of this integrated resort.They have great varieties in terms of games however non of them are maintain with reasonable standard, which i find is such a waste, if only this resort is managed properly, i will certainly revisit. With our experience, this is a very much run down and sad places, we will never revisit and will not recommend for those who demand a quality or value vacations.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Marcs-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: hotel superior room will be better
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews