We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Ranked #109 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

I was a bit hesitant about visiting A'Famosa after reading all the horrible reviews but I am so so glad my friends and I went ahead anyway. We had such a wonderful time!

We rented a 3 bedroom bungalow with a private pool at the amazingly low price of RM 18 per person!

The rooms were spacious and clean and the pool was big and serrounded with beautiful flowering trees!

The service was great too. We called for pool cleaning (just to be on the safe side even though the pool looked perfectly clean) and they came really quickly!

I have no idea why many of these reviews are negative. I'm guessing it's because only people who have nasty things to say bothered writing reviews. I'm sure for every one person complaining here there are many that had a wonderful time at this resort.

It was awesome and I definitely would recommend this resort to my friends.:)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadeofpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings From A'Famosa Resort,

Referring to your review share on Trip Advisor and we're glad to learn that you had a wonderful time during your last visit to A'Famosa Resort.

Your appreciated your review and we're looking forward to see you in the Resort again someday.

Best Regards,
Customer Serivce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    94
    113
    86
    122
See reviews for
282
37
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed at A'Famosa resort for two days during our trip to Malaysia in Nov-Dec. '09. We booked a condominium. The condo is separate and at some distance from the club-house and other attractions like Cow-boy town and Animal-World. But the ferry service is free and quite efficient.

The rooms are really large with two balconies, bed-room, living room and pantry area. It perfect for family of three who wants to spend a few days there.

Though spacious the construction is quite old and need some renovation. The bathroom has cracked tiles and bath tubs. The flooring in the lobby area was in need of urgent repair.

We got a room at 16th floor and the view from the balcony was really awesome. You get a full view of the large lush green surroundings of the resort.

The service was quite nice and I found girls at reception very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihirshah161281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Warmest Greetings From A'Famosa Resort,

We're referring to your review shared on Trip Advisor and we're glad to learn that you've enjoyed your stay at A'Famosa Resort.

We appreciate your suggestion which we will take action into it. We're looking forward to welcome you to A'Famosa in the near future.

Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

this is the worst hotel that i have ever stayed before!!! the room is very big, but empty, all the furnitures are very old n smelly, the bed is horrible!!! i couldn't sleep at all for the 2 nights!!! the only thing i wanna compliment abt this hotel is their website, the photographs are all very well done, like what the rest of the reviewers say "DON'T GET CHEATED BY THEIR PHOTOS!!!" Everything is out, even the location, to conclude nothing is even average for this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiterose_Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Dear Valued Guest

Greeting from A'Famosa Resort

We hope that you could communicate with us and advise us on further details of your stay at A'Famosa Resort as we found that the situation that you've describe doesn't reflect our normal standard of service and product.

Please do drop us an e-mail to customerservice@afamosa.com

Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

The only unprefect is the hotel is too large, take lots of time to travel to the lobby. Despite this, it's a really nice resort with big room, nice air. Highly recommand for friend gathering.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yansfxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Dear value customer,

We glad that you enjoy your holiday at A'Famosa Resort.

Tips : We do provide Shuttle Bus (Banana Truck) if you wish to travel along the Resort.

Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Reaching the hotel, it looks like a huge resort. Before we have gone to check in, we drive around the resort the found there are a number of banglos, apartments, golf course and few of the entertainment or recreation park such as water park, animal park an CowBoy town. Well, we thought this should be very interesting.

Then, when we were checking in, the lobby was in unwelcoming mood. It was lack of staff and I have to waited for 20 min to be served. It was pretty annoying. Once reached the room, uuh...it was hugely a disappointment for the room rate that we paid. It was old, washroom was not clean, bed was old, musty smell and the lighting is poor...very deem even we have switched it all. It seems that we have reached a low class hotel.

Anyway, just for one night, we straight away headed to water park. For sure, this water park was quite huge and it is worth to visit. It has quite a number of different environment...wave, pool, huge children pool playground, high water slide and much more. Definitely, this have compensated the poor hotel room that we got. We had simple lunch there and I have no complain about the water park.

We did not go for animal sanctuary as it was getting late. However, come to dinner, there was no restaurant or cafe in the hotel. We have to walk to Cowboy Town for dinner. Well, it was about 200m away but there has not much choices. However we drove out to find any other eating place but we only found in the Cowboy town. Everything was pretty expensive. They purposely hike up the prices as there was no other places to eat in the resort. The only other option place for meal would be outside the resort which we need to drive out. So, looks like we were forced to take the meal there. Very well planned uhh.

After the meal, we have waited for the Red Indian Show. Well, the place was very crowded and difficult to get a good place. We have to wait till the sky was dark as the show involved lots of fire dancing show. The show was entertaining and we enjoyed it. After the show, then we headed to Carnival Show. Well, the Carnival show was indeed good which there were lots of animals parading...elephant, horses and tonnes of colourful lighted vehicles. My children were just so excited and happy. The Carnival Parade was indeed a very interesting and end with big fireworks. No disappointment for us.

Then, our luck ran out as our car broke down and we have to walk back to hotel. I asked if they could contact any foreman to fix my car. To my disappointment, they know nothing about fixing car service and no contact provided. It was huge setback for the helping customer. I have to call my own Car Service Breakdown hotline to get help and they arrive early in the morning. Really no thanks to hotel unwillingness and unresponsiveness attitude.

The morning breakfast, once again, we need to walk to CowBoy town....what on earth they did not have a breakfast cafe in the hotel...it was annoying. The breakfast was prepared in a room where it look like a temporary place..this was not good at all. The breakfast was really disappointed too.

However, after the breakfast, the only light moment we had was, we got 2 bicycle at the hotel and we cycled in the resort. That was good and enjoying...we had good laugh and children loved it. It was free of charge.

I would say that they should do lots of improvement on guest CONVENIENCES. Well, the room need to be refurnished badly. They should think that what would guests think if they need to walk so far for meals and all sort of hassle created. However, thumbs up for water park, Red Indians and Carnival show.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, April 7, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Warmest Greetings From A'Famosa Resort

We're referring to your review share on Trip Advisor and we're truly embarrassed to learn that.

However, we would like Thank You for your suggestion which had been forwarded to the respective departments for their action to be taken.

We glad to learn that you've enjoyed our Carnival Show, Red Indian and our Water Theme Park and we are looking forward to Welcome You to A'Famosa Resort in the future.

Regards,
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Wow !!

What a resort it is ...

It is spread in a very large area,

There are various programs held during the day like Animal Show, Bird Show
Their attraction is the Red Indian show and Cowboy show.

They have various options for staying ranging from independent villas to single rooms

A very romantic place !!

They have animal safari too !!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justchilling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear Value Guest,

Warmest Greetings From A'Famosa Resort

Glad that you've enjoy your holiday at our place. Make sure you don't miss out our Water World on your next visit to A'Famosa Resort.

Have a wonderful day.

Regards,
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
622 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

To keep it sweet and short, I stayed in A'Famosa Resort after viewing the attractive pictures on their webpage. The rooms are not the least close to what they publish on the web. It is run down without a doubt and please do not expect anything more than a 2 star comfort. We ordered room service one of the nights and it never came, leaving us hungry and aggitated. The resort's so-called main attractions include the water park, cowboy town and safari world. The safari world is nothing but a cheap version of the local zoo's in Malaysia and offers nothing more than a rip off. We did not even want to consider stepping into the water park since we have heard from other patrons that it was really run down and unmaintained. We did however, decide to have our dinner in the chinese restaurant located in the Cowboy Town. Before you can step in, you'd have to queue up and pay an entrance fee depending on the type of activities you chose. The prices ranged from RM30 to RM120 per pax for a couple of miserable shows which is not the least worth your time or money. To access to the chinese restaurant, it was free of charge but you'll still need to queue up and obtain a wrist band from the counter. The chinese restaurant had an extensive menu but we were sadly informed that they only served dinner packages instead of ala carte. A simple 4 course meal (Comprising of a soup, prawn dish, fish and bean curd) will cost you RM150 which is said to be fit for 2 - 5 pax. In actual fact, it was only me and my partner and we found the protion to be suited more for 2 pax. Afterall, what kind of idiot would package their food for a range of 2 to 5 pax (Usually it would be 2-3pax). The food was tasteless and cold when served. I can cook better if I was born without a tongue & with my eyes closed. Do not get hoaxed by the pictures you see on their website and consider this a friendly warning to a disasterous holiday.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
18.4 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
16.0 mi away
Everly Resort
Everly Resort
#128 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
17.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Property: A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Address: Jalan Kamus, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing