We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Ranked #114 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed March 19, 2010

To keep it sweet and short, I stayed in A'Famosa Resort after viewing the attractive pictures on their webpage. The rooms are not the least close to what they publish on the web. It is run down without a doubt and please do not expect anything more than a 2 star comfort. We ordered room service one of the nights and it never came, leaving us hungry and aggitated. The resort's so-called main attractions include the water park, cowboy town and safari world. The safari world is nothing but a cheap version of the local zoo's in Malaysia and offers nothing more than a rip off. We did not even want to consider stepping into the water park since we have heard from other patrons that it was really run down and unmaintained. We did however, decide to have our dinner in the chinese restaurant located in the Cowboy Town. Before you can step in, you'd have to queue up and pay an entrance fee depending on the type of activities you chose. The prices ranged from RM30 to RM120 per pax for a couple of miserable shows which is not the least worth your time or money. To access to the chinese restaurant, it was free of charge but you'll still need to queue up and obtain a wrist band from the counter. The chinese restaurant had an extensive menu but we were sadly informed that they only served dinner packages instead of ala carte. A simple 4 course meal (Comprising of a soup, prawn dish, fish and bean curd) will cost you RM150 which is said to be fit for 2 - 5 pax. In actual fact, it was only me and my partner and we found the protion to be suited more for 2 pax. Afterall, what kind of idiot would package their food for a range of 2 to 5 pax (Usually it would be 2-3pax). The food was tasteless and cold when served. I can cook better if I was born without a tongue & with my eyes closed. Do not get hoaxed by the pictures you see on their website and consider this a friendly warning to a disasterous holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 482 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

My husband and I were disappointed with the trip as a whole. We paid RM50 each for the entrance fee to the Cowboy Town. The 4D theatre wasn't worth going. In the town, there is only short street with shop fronts only except for restaurants, bar & merchandise shop. Would be good if the inside of the shops can show something of historical value. Cannot see much on the cowboy show except the parade as both sides of the narrow street were packed with people. Should change to square ground like the one for elephant show in animal safari. Adequate lighting should be placed at walk way, especially where there is staircase. A lady fell off a 4 or 5 flights stairway right beside me because there was no lighting nor warning sign at the stairway.
We were forced to purchase the entrance fees to water world and animal world with lunch even though we have to leave by 12 noon and the lunch won't be ready by 12.30pm. I think our time would be better spent in Melacca!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LehChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2010

Greetings LehChai

We're referring to your review and would like express our disappointment that you didn't enjoyed the your time at A'Famosa Resort.

We found that you review was out from our norm standard and we would like to investigate for furthers information. Please do drop us a mail at customerservice@afamosa.com. Nevertheless, we appreciated your review for which had been forwarded to the respective departments.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I don't know about the A'Famosa Condotel or the Villa, but our stay at the 'Resort hotel was absolutely a huge letdown after our extended family, all 18 of us, was there a few days ago at the last leg of our tour through Penang, KL and Genting Highland for the CNY. We arrived at the resort hotel at 1:30pm but was told the 5 deluxe rooms were not ready and that the check-in time is at 4pm....the checkout is at noon! After expressing our disgust, we were told one room was ready and were given keys to that one room first with the rest to follow 2 hours later.

The rooms were large for sure but had that unpleasant musty smell. The bathrooms were not provided with any floor towel. From my room, one can see that the resort ground was littered with garbage and used playground toys/equipment. There is no dinning at the resort hotel. For breakfast you have to walk 200 meters to Cowboy town....it was god blessed that there was no rain that morning. And the foods? Well, I told one staff that they literally served better foods at the refugee camps or the homeless shelters than at the resort. How would you like to be served with less than lukewarm meals, with one of three choices to be ordered while not seated but at the long lineup at check-in reception? The meals at the Water World, included as part of the over-priced admission ticket, were not that much better.

Final analysis? If you must visit A'Famosa, stay at Melaka City hotel but visit on a day trip the Water World, a fun place on a better scale vs Sunway Lagoon in KL. For me, I will never set foot at the resort again....way over-rated with its Cowboy town and Animal World.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BungaRaya_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

We referring to your review on Trip Advisor and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that it might had caused to you and your traveling family during your last visit to A'Famosa.

Your suggestion had been forwarded to the respective departments for their action. Meanwhile, we hope that you can drop us a mail at customerservice@afamosa.com in order to us to learn more about our service.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for your suggestion and we hope that you would not place us in your permanent disfavor.

Best Regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We were so looking forward to our short getaway for the long hols during the Chinese New Year. However, we were in for a rude shock the minute we arrived. The rubbish bins at the carpark lots were overflowing and there were ants everywhere. We could even see the ants making their way up to the cars. The rubbish should have been cleared on a daily basis or twice per day, shouldn't it?

The check-in counter was fairly busy and we saw a bespectacled man who had just finshed attending to a guest. We approached him and passed him our blackberry phone so that he could view our booking details as we had forgotten to bring the printed booking confirmation. He took our so-called booking number and told us that there were no reservation being made for us. Imagine our utter dissappointment, when he said that to us especially after our long tiring drive from Singapore. We then told him that this was not possible as we have made all the arrangements prior and then he kept asking us for a certain number which we then realize was actually our postal code address in Singapore. We tried to clarify this with him and instead of listening to our explanation, he insisted that the booking number is 6-digits. What he failed to see was that there was a 6-digit booking number under confirmation. We had to write that on a piece of paper for him to double check our booking. Even after he realized his mistake, no apologies were offered and he just conveniently told us that his staff would assist us. Being from the hotel service industry ourselves, we find it very unbecoming that a manager would treat guests with no respect at all.

Our hearts were heavy when we got our key cards but since we were too tired, we proceeded to our hotel room. We were amazed by the huge spider's cobweb at the top of our door which we've decided to ignore hoping that the room's interior would be worth our RM288. We were in for another awakening. The room still had a musty smell. The mattress sheets were not even the standard of a 2-star hotel. The lower part of the bed was bare and should have been concealled so that it would have a clean finish. The upper part of the bed was only covered with a piece of sheet and you could clearly see the mattress design. There were no lights working in our room and we called in the technician who managed to fix it. Are there no housekeeping supervisors going on their daily rounds to check and ensure that the rooms are released to front office in good condition?

We were relieved and very glad that our stay was only for one night. We would definitely not be considering A' Famosa for our short trips to Malaysia. We could have gotten better deals and a far more rewarding experience from hotels in Malacca Town or even KL. Our only regret is that we did not look at the reviews by trip advisor before confirming our reservation. We feel that the management have yet to seriously look at the comments made by all the reviewers as no improvements have been made thus far.

A hotel may lack in all other aspects however it should not lack in customer service. Isn't that the main / primary role of any operating hotel? To those who would be going there, we emphatize with you and hope that your experience would be far better than ours.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2010

Greetings Ms. Sally,

We referring to your review on Trip Advisor and would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your travel to A'Famosa.

We take each and every review as the step for improvement, we hope that you can communicate with us in order for us to rectify the problem. Please do drop us a mail at customerservice@afamosa.com

Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

The hotel management has forgotten that they are in the hospitality industry. As an event organizer, i will NEVER EVER use it again. The insult to injury, my industry peers had a good laugh and said i told you so, as i had mentioned to the contrary before the event.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2010

Dear Hoscon,

We referring to your review that you've shared on Trip Advisor.

In order for us to rectify the problem, we need to know much more of the details. If possible, we hope that you can drop a mail to customerservice@afamosa.com

Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I find staying at the A' Famosa D'Savoy condotel an unforgettable experience for the staff are friendly and serves with a smile. The room was clean and facilities were very well maintained. However, the management should look into the safety aspect as the portable water heater provided the electrical cord was too short to be plugged into the wall socket. Nevertheless, I have NO major complaints and simply rated it excellent service and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting From A'Famosa Resort,

We glad to hear that you've enjoy your previous stay at A'Famosa Resort.

We would also like to Thank You for your suggestion for which had been forwarded to the respective department for their action.

Hope to see you in the Resort again in the future.

Regards,
Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The resort have the worst customer svcs ever. The sales exec based in Kuala Lumpur have cheated us by given us wrong info about the hotel facility. The hotel room in bad condition not safe at all for anybody esp children .We ll never go there again..

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afamosa, Customer Service at A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2010

Dear Value Guest

Warmest Greetings From A'Famosa Resort

We're referring to your review you shared on www.tripadvisor.com and would like to apologize on the inconvenience that caused to you and your traveling family.

We take each suggestion as the step for improvement therefore we hope to learn more on the details of your previous stay. Do drop us a mail at customerservice@afamosa.com.

Hope to hear from you soon.

Regards,
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
18.2 mi away
Sunflower Villas
Sunflower Villas
#65 of 168 in Melaka
19 reviews
18.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
17 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
18 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Kemus, Simpang Ampat | A'Famosa Resort, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $72 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing