We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Aged but charming. Rooms might turn off many.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Aged but charming. Rooms might turn off many.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

One of the first boutique hotels in Melaka, you are greeted by a helpful receptionist amidst a Peranakan-themed lobby. The ground floor is grand, intricately decorated and a sight to behold. Much attention is put in the decor, down to the last detail. Many tourists would just come in just for a few snaps. The location is superb, with many famous food/sightseeing highlights within walking distance. Parking is provided, but limited.

Unfortunately a lot of the charm wears off in the rooms. Although rife with Peranakan touches, the room is damp and musty. The walls are mouldy and unsightly. Might be because our room was windowless, but nevertheless the room looks like it needs urgent refurbishing. However, to their credit, the shower is good, and bed very comfortable. My wife's sleep quality was affected by the musty smell though. As for extras, the wifi is spotty, TV channels limited and no mini-fridge in the rooms. You won't be comfortable staying in the room for long. If only they maintained the rooms as diligently as the lobby.

Breakfast is simple and filling. There is a massage centre at the first floor but rather expensive (RM39 for half hour foot massage). The Baba House functions more like a depot where you rest and refuel before going off to explore Melaka old town again. Once again the location is excellent, service is efficient and the lobby is inviting, but stay too long in the room, and you might go nuts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezekiel_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    136
    141
    32
    18
See reviews for
64
113
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

The rooms at the Baba House are so drab and depressing. As much as I don't like to hang out in lobbies, I spent my time reading in the lobby just to avoid the dreariness of my room.

PROS:

Good sight-seeing location in old Melaka. Old Melaka is small enough that any lodging within it is in a good location. Quiet street.

Large room, with high ceiling.

Interesting design elements: Greek key crown molding, ceramic door knobs, and a small bathroom that has a window (with translucent green glass) that opens up into the bedroom. So very odd.

Front desk staff were pleasant, and one woman was particularly helpful: I was looking for sewing thread, and she directed me to an variety store two blocks behind the hotel, that had an amazing selection. That place is worth a visit. The store had about 20 colors of thread, covered with years of dust, but they had it. That store is all you'd need to take to Mars.

NEEDS IMPROVING:

Walls are very scuff marked. So depressing.

Moldy smell in room. So depressing.

Lack of horizontal space; I ended up with most of my stuff on the floor.

Although the A/C was set to 16 degrees, it never got cooler than 22.

Moldy and faint urine smell in bathroom. So depressing.

No TV remote control; just another reason to sit in the lobby.

Soul-sucking lighting. So depressing. My room had no natural light and trying to pretend that the window to the bathroom was a window onto the world did not work one bit. So depressing.

No electrical outlet next to bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel provides all the basic services you need for a comfortable stay. The location is excellent and everything is within walking distance. The room was clean but needs a bit of a "facelift". The breakfast was very basic but there are cafes' nearby if you need a good coffee. It gives reasonable value for money for Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were used to stars rated hotel accomodations in Melaka and had stayed in almost all 5 stars hotels there. My son recommended that we go for a change this time round, as he cherished the atmosphere and food that can be found in Jonker Walk.
The Baba House is located at the adjacent road with Jonker Walk, which is less than 500 m away. The place was a heavily renovated shoplots built in early 1900s. It was themed as a Peranakan residence of the 18th/19th century. Many items like furnitures, fixtures, garden decos were ancient lookings. In fact we found a pair of planted pot stands, rigth in -front of our room (1st Floor Lift ), that looked almost identical to the ones that we saw of a photograph on the wall of breakfast area, which dated back to 1890s. This museum piece are just left at the hallways.
Rooms are rather small but clean. We ecountered problems with the air-con, but were shiftly offered a replacement immediately. Breakfast could be better, but we don't mind as long as we could grab a bite and a cup of coffee, and out to venture the old part of Melaka.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

antique and magnifique.
this hotel is one of heritage site in Malacca. it may look old and vintage, but they made some renovation to facelift the interior. and one more thing, they had elevator to help you carry those luggage to the upstairs :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank deapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We took a superior KING room on May 17.

1. No fridge in the room
2. Toilet door opens out and will hit the person using wash basin
3. TV with no remote control
4. (last day) the door didnt lock after closing door (staff said battery weakening)
5. Breakfast is anything but nyonya - fried bee hoon, super dilute porridge (my friend gave up after 1 mouth).
6. WIFI is horrendously slow. One of the PCs was not working.

I will NEVER step into this over-rated hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the compressors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResortLoverCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is impressive with their peranakan decorations and local antiques. It is truly a peranakan residence from lobby to dining area. However, this ambience stops just there. The small room is nothing short of a budget room with little touch of peranakan extension. Breakfast is decent in a comfortable and unique ambience, although it is limited in range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#27 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#34 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing