We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for short stay in Melaka” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Okay for short stay in Melaka”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel provides all the basic services you need for a comfortable stay. The location is excellent and everything is within walking distance. The room was clean but needs a bit of a "facelift". The breakfast was very basic but there are cafes' nearby if you need a good coffee. It gives reasonable value for money for Melaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    133
    140
    32
    18
See reviews for
63
110
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were used to stars rated hotel accomodations in Melaka and had stayed in almost all 5 stars hotels there. My son recommended that we go for a change this time round, as he cherished the atmosphere and food that can be found in Jonker Walk.
The Baba House is located at the adjacent road with Jonker Walk, which is less than 500 m away. The place was a heavily renovated shoplots built in early 1900s. It was themed as a Peranakan residence of the 18th/19th century. Many items like furnitures, fixtures, garden decos were ancient lookings. In fact we found a pair of planted pot stands, rigth in -front of our room (1st Floor Lift ), that looked almost identical to the ones that we saw of a photograph on the wall of breakfast area, which dated back to 1890s. This museum piece are just left at the hallways.
Rooms are rather small but clean. We ecountered problems with the air-con, but were shiftly offered a replacement immediately. Breakfast could be better, but we don't mind as long as we could grab a bite and a cup of coffee, and out to venture the old part of Melaka.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

antique and magnifique.
this hotel is one of heritage site in Malacca. it may look old and vintage, but they made some renovation to facelift the interior. and one more thing, they had elevator to help you carry those luggage to the upstairs :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank deapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We took a superior KING room on May 17.

1. No fridge in the room
2. Toilet door opens out and will hit the person using wash basin
3. TV with no remote control
4. (last day) the door didnt lock after closing door (staff said battery weakening)
5. Breakfast is anything but nyonya - fried bee hoon, super dilute porridge (my friend gave up after 1 mouth).
6. WIFI is horrendously slow. One of the PCs was not working.

I will NEVER step into this over-rated hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the compressors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResortLoverCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is impressive with their peranakan decorations and local antiques. It is truly a peranakan residence from lobby to dining area. However, this ambience stops just there. The small room is nothing short of a budget room with little touch of peranakan extension. Breakfast is decent in a comfortable and unique ambience, although it is limited in range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were visiting from Singapore, a three-generation family with a range of tastes to satisfy, and the Baba House met our needs. The style is authentically babanyonya, with many features of the typical house retained. In terms of modern living, the shower and other basic facilities were fine, the breakfast excellent (ok, the baked beans were cold, but who comes to Melaka for baked beans?) At breakfast most of the clients were ethnically Chinese, a marker of who you are going on holiday with; if you want to be among Europeans or Americans there are plenty of places in Melaka, but this suited us very well.

The location is about perfect, especially for the night market and the other classic peranakan houses. In a few years it may be swamped by the gimcrack 'heritage' industry, aimed at the American/European market but sadly missing the heart of the original, but for now grab this opportunity while it is there. To be sure, a coat of paint would give a better impression, and the attitude to maintenance is one clear distinction between the priorities of the local hotel and the global chain, but I hope that those who love the style of the Holiday Inn will just go straight there. For us the Baba House was just right.

My daughter, son-in-law and grandson and I loved it, and would certainly go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Like most of the places in this part of Melaka, the Baba House has undergone a major facelift since my last visit in 2010. Room rates have risen commensurately. I was paying under 80 ringgit a night, but this has more than doubled. Not a problem unless you're travelling on a fairly restricted budget.

Ideal location for exploring the colonial core of Melaka, the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Gweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#28 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 161 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing