We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Over-Rate Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over-Rate Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We took a superior KING room on May 17.

1. No fridge in the room
2. Toilet door opens out and will hit the person using wash basin
3. TV with no remote control
4. (last day) the door didnt lock after closing door (staff said battery weakening)
5. Breakfast is anything but nyonya - fried bee hoon, super dilute porridge (my friend gave up after 1 mouth).
6. WIFI is horrendously slow. One of the PCs was not working.

I will NEVER step into this over-rated hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the compressors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResortLoverCWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    136
    141
    32
    18
See reviews for
64
113
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is impressive with their peranakan decorations and local antiques. It is truly a peranakan residence from lobby to dining area. However, this ambience stops just there. The small room is nothing short of a budget room with little touch of peranakan extension. Breakfast is decent in a comfortable and unique ambience, although it is limited in range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were visiting from Singapore, a three-generation family with a range of tastes to satisfy, and the Baba House met our needs. The style is authentically babanyonya, with many features of the typical house retained. In terms of modern living, the shower and other basic facilities were fine, the breakfast excellent (ok, the baked beans were cold, but who comes to Melaka for baked beans?) At breakfast most of the clients were ethnically Chinese, a marker of who you are going on holiday with; if you want to be among Europeans or Americans there are plenty of places in Melaka, but this suited us very well.

The location is about perfect, especially for the night market and the other classic peranakan houses. In a few years it may be swamped by the gimcrack 'heritage' industry, aimed at the American/European market but sadly missing the heart of the original, but for now grab this opportunity while it is there. To be sure, a coat of paint would give a better impression, and the attitude to maintenance is one clear distinction between the priorities of the local hotel and the global chain, but I hope that those who love the style of the Holiday Inn will just go straight there. For us the Baba House was just right.

My daughter, son-in-law and grandson and I loved it, and would certainly go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCornishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Like most of the places in this part of Melaka, the Baba House has undergone a major facelift since my last visit in 2010. Room rates have risen commensurately. I was paying under 80 ringgit a night, but this has more than doubled. Not a problem unless you're travelling on a fairly restricted budget.

Ideal location for exploring the colonial core of Melaka, the staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle_Gweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is my second time back to this fuss free and value for money hotel... Don't expect Ritz Carlton services nor Shangri-La facilities... Just a place to sleep, shower, and go shopping and sight seeing from...

Perfect to crash in and location is superb for Jonkers Street and other sights around. Again, love the unique character of the exterior and interior but not so much of the room. Not that it's shabby though, just basic and fuss free. No windows in the room, but then there's not much of a view too I guess.

Oh ya, you can forget about the breakfast or pay for it in your package. There's just so much more to save your stomach for in Malacca rather then toast with butter, jam and baked beans plus lousy coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arai33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

As always great location but everything else is bad. At least they are upgrading some facilities - covered carpark, LCD TV, WIFI in the room.

It is good if you only need a place to crash for the night. Book only the room without the breakfast and save the money and have breakfast outside (plenty within walking distance).

Was there during the weekend and the water supply was disconnected at midnight! Only supply is from the rooftop water tank and those who woke up early still have water supply until that ran out. The hotel did not even inform the guests until we called the reception! Imagine you are showing or using the toilet when you discovered there is no water supply!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a room with a very modern ensuite bathroom, but it was ridiculously made & ruined the whole "local" atmosphere. The lobby & courtyard area (where breakfast is) were nice and they managed to keep the charm of a Baba house. The rest is boring with white walls, dirty carpet. The staff is loud. No windows in the room made us assume no annoying light, but there was a opening in the bathroom over the shower with no curtain and a light right outside our room going straight on the bed thanks to the window at the top of the door! Only good thing is the location.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite or try the new building which is supposed to be more modern & hopeful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#27 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#34 of 165 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing