We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #39 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not really recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Like everyone said, it is a very decent hotel. It is very near to Jonker street. The service is very good where they will give u a map for references. The room has a bad smell, it is very noisy early in the morning where all the cleaners walk around making noises and from the construction nearby (poor sound proof). Only 2 pillows are provided which is not enough. The wifi is really bad which I cant even connect to it, also the signal there is poor, I cannot even make a call. DO NOT BOOK THE ROOM ‘WITH WINDOWS’!! nothing special about it.

Room Tip: do not choose room with windows. nothing special about it only more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yan_22o9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    137
    144
    33
    18
See reviews for
67
114
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We got a king sized bed room for a decent price. They only gave us 2 pillows. We have to pay extra for another pillow. The location is good. They provide free wifi but it is slow in the rooms. My tap stopped working. We could not flush the toilet. Wash hand. It caused us inconvenience. The safe box did not work.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Raynardong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a a pretty decent hotel with quaint decor of Peranakan style and really immerses one in the culture and history of Malacca while staying there. Location is excellent and walking distance to Jonker Street, the major malls and other tourist attractions.

Building is authentically pre-war looking and decor seems to be really retro and conserved from the past. Pretty cool indeed and I passed groups of other tourists agreeing and commenting the same of the building. Along with me, we were snapping away at the dated but well kept premises while others were just chilling in the courtyard nursing a beer and chatting away.

Indian lady staff at the counter checking us in was helpful and gave us proper directions and a map, speaking fluent English. Proper service with a smile, not often had in Malaysia. I must say all the front desk staff I've seen were pretty courteous.

Room is basic and the hotel could afford to invest in better beds. I personally feel a good bed can make or break a stay and could be a factor for return business.

Breakfast was very very basic, coffee really poor and one can forgo it and get better food outside I'm sure. Although I really couldn't complain given the very reasonable price this hotel is.

All in all, its all hotel I may come back too if I didn't come across any other highly recommended ones.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator and window is not needed to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arai33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Smooth check in and check out.

We had a room without window and it is okie for us. Very friendly staff when we ask for direction of nearby attraction. They even gave us a map for easy reference.

Simple but nice breakfast.

Sound proofing is not very good as we can hear the noise made by the kids playing at the corridor early in the morning.

Parking is available behind the hotel.

Try looking for parking around 12noon as it is the check out time and will have more available parking.

Free parking provided by the hotel but very limited. There is a bigger car park near by, RM3 per day (weekday) and RM5 per day (weekends).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I really like the exterior of the hotel and the common spaces outside the guest rooms. There are really a lot of interesting things to look at. Unfortunately the rooms are not as pretty. In fact they looked really old. If you are just looking for a basic place to lay your head and you wish to stay on Jonker Walk, this will fit your bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pageten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Was decent, but a few things could be improved, as follows: i) the toilet bowl was smelly ii) no extra pillows by default (budget hotels do provide at least 1 extra pillow) iii) the washbasin is wrongly designed, water splashes out all over the place

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghuram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

They did some minor changes to the hotel. New wing added, a small business center (2 computers), complimentary pack (comb, shower gel, soap etc) and Spa.

The rest are more or less the same.

Still the best value hotel around Jonker Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#47 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
#16 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing