We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location... Awful Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #38 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good Location... Awful Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

First surprise on checking in was a demand for RM50 cash deposit on arrival, which my on;ine booking site had no mention of.
Further, there was no offer of local information, or local map but I was simply directed to my room with directions to breakfast in the morning.
My room was ok... large with good big bed with aircon and wifi.
Bathroom, toilet and hot water were ok but wash basin was located outside the bathroom next to main door. The decor is tired and very much in need of a spruce up, but that applies to the entire hotel.
The location is great except for one thing. The street out front is very narrow, and very busy with traffic during most of the day. The hotel side of the street is lined with parked vehicles, leaving very little room for the constant stream of vehicles, from motorbikes to large tour buses, to pass. Indeed, when a large bus or lorry passes, pedestrians must step into a doorway out of the way... at other times when walking, the traffic passes very close to pedestrians.
Breakfast, to be blunt and honest, was awful. The breakfast staff behaved as if totally disinterested, sitting around with iphone in hand except to take your voucher on arrival and deliver your breakfast. I stayed 3 nights and each morning breakfast was the same. Scrambled egg (cold and bland), baked beans (cold), hash brown, a type of tasteless sausage and toast, with tea or coffee.
No fruit juice, no fresh fruit, no fresh milk, no cereal, no veg options. No choice!
The garden furniture in the restaurant is chipped and worn, and the entire area lacks any ambience.
There were many reception staff, most who were ok, others less so, and one who was downright cold and unfriendly. Why? At most hotels the reception staff will look up when you pass reception and greet you... here they don't bother.
Then, because there were no printers in the "business centre" (2 laptops only) I requested 2 documents to be printed at reception, and was surprised to be charged RM1 per sheet. Many hotels have happily provided this service with no charge.
To summarise, The Baba House may be ok for 1 night, but look elsewhere for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostratamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    136
    144
    33
    18
See reviews for
66
114
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there a night with my family. It's located in the historic part of Melaka, so that's great and the price was affordable.

The breakfast wasn't anything to shout about, but the room the bathroom were are clean with hair dryer, wifi all available.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel has good location, it's about 5 mins walk away from Jonker street. I chose the hotel because we were driving up and hotel offered secure parking as it has a watchman for the car park compound behind the hotel from 7pm onwards. The hotel is a very basic hotel, sufficient for one night's stay if you are not fussy. The receptionist was polite and attentive enough to arrange connecting rooms (room 234 & 236) for me & my friends although I did not request so. No amenities are provided, only the disposable toothbrush & mini toothpaste and a small soap, so please bring your own amenities. The bed was decently comfortable and aircon was cold enough. The toilet was averagely clean (definitely not squeaky clean, but clean enough for a few quick showers), the shower head seem a little faulty (water seems to be coming out from the sides of the shower head instead of from the jet holes) but functional and water was still flowing strongly enough for a proper bath. In 236 (my friend's room), the shower is spoilt, the water temperature cannot be adjusted and it was too hot to bathe with. Sound proofing of the place is not great, you can hear the conversation of the people passing by along the corridor or from the neighbouring room. Breakfast was average. The interior compound of the building is quite quaint and exudes a comfortable vintage feel. Overall the hotel is average for one night's stay if you are not intending to spend much time in the hotel (just rest and move on the next day). Don't expect too much (considering it's a 2 star hotel and the room tariffs are pretty reasonable) and you may be pleasantly surprised..

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the ends of the corridor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
366 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

All staff friendly and helpful. I had a couple of issues with my room which were dealt with immediately.breakfast was amazing and in the price - sausage, scrambled egg, baked beans and toast. The place is within easy walk of everything, including eating places, shopping malls, the rivers, heritage and Jonkers Street.we actually found a are nearby where we had rice,vegetables and chicken, plus cup of coffee for total of 9.50 Ringitt!!

Will definitely go back. To the whiners - try smiling and saying hello to the staff, and remember it isverymuch abudget hotel! Clean towels and sheets every day is not the norm at this price!!

Room Tip: Ask for third floor 337 and 339 are good,but by the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The place is clean, and has that interesting heritage style with a good service but the rooms are small, no windows for the double room, very simple which I found a bit expensive for what you pay. The location is pretty central and food ok. We didn't mind staying there for a couple of nights but I am convinced we could have found better value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jehntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

First, we were told to pay extra for taxes upon check in, which it did not specifically highlighted to us upon reservation and we had no choice but to accept it. Secondly, upon checking into room number 233, we were overwhelmed by stale and musky air from the room, like it had never stayed for long. Thirdly, the air con was making hell lot of noises when we turn it on, and i had to take it with my own hands to get it fixed! Last but not least, while we were sound asleep, the power in the room kept tripping and making the light going on and off multiple times at 754am, and was told it was card slot error which pending for repair, so why should you open for customer to stay in the first place??!! If its not bcoz it was already morning by the time we woke up, i might be scared to death for it might be haunted! i was amazed after we had lodged the complaint, the manager did not attend to us in timely manner, instead, we were told that the manager was still out shopping and its us who couldnt wait, but that was already close to 1030am by the time we check out, she had been given all the time in the world to attend to us for almost 2.5hrs, but yet she failed to have these issues addressed. it does not deserve to be on the top 20 hotels in tripadvisor at all!

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sickal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

It was a last minute booking ( and thus made us received the room*with window* but apparently it was a window not-to-be-opened as it was on the ground floor )

What i love most is that , this small "inn" is appointed into a-back-to-history setting, of a Baba Nyonya's House
You are provided with the best interior design of the peranakan house, with the "restaurant" soo comfy and relaxing to have breakfast with ceiling open to the sunlight.

But it gets creepy at night - who doesnt since its an old house turned into an "inn"
I walked throught the house( alone) , and climbed stairs, and it was soo silence ( either guests are already asleep , aor walked outside) , since it is situated at the Jonker Street, but the location is one or two blocks away , so your sleep arent disturbed by the noisy atmosphere of the Jonker.

Parking was troublesome - we made 3-4 turns before managed to get the best parking site - right in front of the house, and we parked there unmoved since Jonker was the only target for us stayed @ Malacca.

Overall, thumbs up!

Room Tip: Just ask first what kind of room you will get , We are a bit dissapointed for getting a window room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AthirahEtty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#33 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#42 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing