We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at reasonable price”
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location at reasonable price”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located near (walking distance) to the Malacca River, Jonker Street, Tourist Attractions, Shops and eateries.

Relatively easy to drive in and out of the bustling area as the car park is located behind the hotel.

Decorated and furnished in Peranakan Heritage, charming difference to the usual hotels.

With extra pillows given, we have decent sleep. Mattress is comfortable.

Quiet, except the unavoidable noise from fellow hotel guests as they walk along the corridor, chatting at the same time, doors opening and closing.

Clean towels and bed sheets.
- See more at: http://neutea.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-baba-house-malacca.html

Room Tip: No windows may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeuTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    138
    144
    34
    18
See reviews for
68
115
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed with my family of 6 last weekend. The front desk and staff were not that friendly actually. One of the room we booked, the door access card system was at faulty. We tried many times and called up to front desk but they only send one of the guy to open with keys instead of the card. So we ended up accessing the room with keys without any feeling of apologetic from the Management.

The room were basic enough, value with the price I paid except finding few hairs on the bed. I am quite sensitive to cleanliness, so I was feeling rather itchy sleeping over. If you are fussy on hotel room, this might not be a good choice. But location wise it's good. Only a few steps away to Jonkers Street.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher range rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sometimes you stay in a place where for all its failings, there is something about it. For me, this was such a place. No wifi in rooms, no window and poor TV reception, but overall, comfortable bed, hot shower, good price, helpful staff and great location. Above all, it had a good feel about it. If you plan to stay in your room on the computer and watching TV, well maybe you can stay at home. Otherwise, give this place a look.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Located a few hundred yards away from the main road, Baba is very charming and quiet. The open veranda next to our bedroom was a great place to relax. The house is like a museum in its own right and will keep you occupied. Great place for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location of the baba house is very strategy, very convenient to those backpacker without own transportation.
Although the room is quite old, all the basic needs are provided.
As my skin is quite sensitive, I didn't feel itchy during the stay, so in my point of view, the cleanliness of the room considered okay for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheueLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is just a simple hotel that provide all the basic needs. The cleanliness is just average, some dust can found on desk and cupboard. Staffs do not smile but still helpful when asking for direction. We book the room with lower rate which does not provide breakfast. Personally, I think this is a better deal as there are lots of special food for breakfast in Jonker Street.

Room Tip: There are rooms with and without window. Room booking come with or without breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icywind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed one night in a windowless room; for the price we paid, it was ok (we had a good deal).
Plus: Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff,
Minus: Old, run down, in need of touch up and maintenance
Recommendation: Stay there if you get a good deal

Room Tip: Stay in windowless room if you can get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
#16 of 166 in Melaka
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#52 of 166 in Melaka
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing