We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“utterly beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
South Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“utterly beautiful”
Reviewed March 8, 2011

This is a seriously beautiful hotel - the room and staff are first class. Staff are friendly, professional, polite and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is wonderful. Probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.
An added bonus was Donovan, a staff member who takes guests (at no charge) on a walking tour of the city area. Wear comfortable shoes and be ready to ask questions.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    413
    102
    23
    15
See reviews for
368
708
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laupasat
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Majestic is a wonderful hotel to get away for some peace and quiet.
It is a smallish hotel with less than a 100 rooms over 10 floors - it does not have the crowds which u may experience in a larger hotel.
Likes:
1. very clean and spacious rooms. The bed is huge and same goes for the bathroom. There is a very comfy bath tub for a cool soak. The sound proofing of the room is also good - u don't hear that much noise from adjacent rooms and from the corridor.
2. we hardly saw the chamber maids. Our room is always cleaned or turned down for the night each time we returned.
3. great breakfast in the hotel's cafe. The food is excellent although the choice is rather limited. But for a couple of days stay, it's enough to fill our palate.
4. the pool is indeed smallish, but big enough if u are not sharing it with a few families with children. What I do like is the fact that the gym is just next to the pool - so after a workout, u could just jump into the pool for a good soak (or swim)
5. Great spa with great service - the staff are just so patient and detailed!!!
6. Value for money - the rooms are a bit pricier than most other hotels in Malacca. But our rooms came with daily breakfast and daily 50mins spa for 2 pax. On a standalone basis, the breakfast would have cost about RM100 for both of us and for the spa, its about RM400 for each nite.

Dislikes:
Nothing much to dislike about the place.
But children might not really like the place given its small size and limited facilities (there is no children's club, playground, etc)
The hotel conducts free guided heritage walks daily - do give it a try as it really looked interesting. I had missed it as i only found out about it on the last day!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The service that you get is really worth the money you pay. All staffs were helpful and kind. They were attentive and pleasant. The hotel is like a perfect homestay. There are snacks on table tops which you can help yourself to. The snacks are reminisense of my younger childhood days.Breakfast was sufficient and of good quality stuff. The fruit juices are great. Real fruit juices.They even serve 2 delightful nonya kueh in the afternoon to your room. Delicious. Not mentioning the luxurious bath tub where you can soak yourself in with bathing salt provided. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was really sooooo comfortable. The beddings were very good, so much so that falling asleep is easy.The temperature of the airconditioner was just right. The whole place was just so right and so cozy. It would be lovely though if they could provide a room with a computer for internet. Although we can gain access to the room's internet, we did not bring our own computer. The whole staff and their chief were all great. Ms Hui gave us a great impression of impeccable service on checking in. Keep it up! It's really a great hotel. Try it yourself. : )

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaTan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is situated about a 10m walk from Jonkers St, the so called antique street market. I reality a tourist rat run. The hotel is wonderful with its colonial entrance and public rooms. The reception and attentiveness of the staff was the best we experienced in Malaysia, and certainally better than Raffles Hotel in Singapore. The room was situated in a modern block behind the old entrance and was made very special to carry on the colonial feel. Our room had a view over the river. Being modern it had every facility, including slide open bathroom walls, that was a nice touch. The swimming pool is slightly on the small size but adequate. The beds were very comfortable. All in all a wonderful honeymoon experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crhardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Good Day ! I write to express our sincere appreciation for your feedbacks. We are pleased to hear that your experience in The Majestic Malacca was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming both of you back in the not distant future. From all of us in The Majestic Malacca, congratulations and we wish both of you all the best - Ben Quah (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We loved the Majestic. Service was superb, food was delicious, rooms were well decorated. It was a mini-hike from the night market etc., but it only took a few minutes by trishaw (we left our car at the hotel). Breakfast was delicious. We had connecting rooms and there was no problem checking us in early.

If I had to nit-pick, the pool is more of a large bath, but we didn't visit Malacca to go swimming.

The Majestic is a true ambassador for Malaysian hospitality. We will certainly be trying out some other YTL properties after such a pleasant stay. Wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed a night at the Majestic over Chinese New Year. Traffic getting into Melaka from KL had been horrendous, so the easy parking, cool lobby and gracious welcome from the hotel manager and staff were a relief.

Hotel amenities, including bar, reception desk, lounge (with afternoon tea service) and restaurant are located in an historic mansion house. It is obvious that the mansion has been restored with loving attention to detail. With the CNY holiday, everything was also festively attired with red bows, lanterns and bowls of oranges.

Rooms are set behind the mansion in an 8 or 9 story building. It is located next to a hospital that lacks charm, but the rooms and hotel itself are thankfully oriented away from the hospital toward the Melaka River. The bathroom was incredible -- old, colonial style with new fixtures. The clawfoot tub was a relaxing way to shrug off stress. Some travellers, however, might not like the fact that there are no fixed walls between the sleeping area and the bathroom -- sliding wooden doors partition the space.

The hotel is located just north of the colonial area of town and Chinatown is across the Melaka River. But both areas are just 5 - 10 minute walk along the shaded and lively streets. The hotel offers two free walking tours of the city each day.

We enjoyed the buffet style breakfast. Delicious fresh juice and our servers remembered to offer more tea/coffee as we ate.

We would stay at the Majestic Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We booked 2 rooms with a connecting door and stayed two nights from 28 to 30 Dec 2010. Having always stayed in YTL-owned hotels in Malaysia, I had high expectations and these were met. The hotel service was excellent, the rooms were well designed, spacious and nicely furnished. The sliding louvre doors for the bathroom were aethestically pleasing but be forewarned that there are gaps through which you can see what's going on inside e.g. where the toilet bowl is. The rooms are actually in a new 2-year old building behind the historic building which is the facade you see. The old building houses only the lobby and restaurant upstairs.

The location is not exactly in the heart of town but it is not too far off. If you drive, then it is not a problem. We used the GPS in our car to get there from Singapore and like some reviewers said, the GPS took us to the other end of Jalan Bunga Raya. Just continue driving straight down and it is on the right. You need to look out for it as it is just after a slight bend before the back of the Putra Hospital.

Broadband internet is free in every room but it would be much better if the entire hotel was a wi-fi zone. We tried the food in the restaurant despite the advice given by some reviewers. It was actually quite nice, especially the nonya set lunch, the assam fish, the pie and fish and chips. Breakfast is pretty expensive at the hotel but there are lots of choices just outside. For Singaporeans who are used to kaya toast, walk across to the food centre opposite, The kaya toast at Sin Sing is quite good, the kopi-o is the old style Hainanese kopi and do try the half-boiled kampong eggs - beats the eggs at Ya Kun. We went there twice!

A downside is the pool. It is so tiny - don't expect to be able to swim. This is the only downside I can find.

If you are looking for a really nice place to stay in Malacca and which comes with good service, then you should try the Majestic. It is what you would expect from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,360 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing