We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm hotel. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #4 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night on transit to KL. Love the old charm to the hotel. Service staff were helpful and friendly. Walking distance to Jonker area (15 to 20 mins). The spa looked tempting but way too expensive for our taste. An area of improvement would by the in room wifi. I know it's complimentary but the speed was very poor even for light surfing.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ThomasChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. The upgrading of the wifi has been in discussion and will be addressed soon. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Overall, I would return here and recommend the hotel - mainly for how well they've restored Malacca's old world 'peranakan' charm with so many little touches, while maintaining a high standard of luxury.

Points to note:
1. Wifi, although available and free, was very poor strength. Both in the room, and in the lobby and restaurant. Very patchy. Even the ethernet 'fast connection' line in the room wasn't functioning.

2. Gym is 'functional' with 2 treadmills, 1 step machine, 2 stationary bikes, and a set of free weights (see picture) but limited in size.

3. Pool is small, less than 15m in length. Enough for kids to splash around, but not for a real swim workout. For triathletes, I recommend checking out the public 50m pool about 2km away (good warm-up run) - Search 'Kolam Renang MBMB' - its near the historic precinct of Malacca (not far from The Stadthuyst)

4. I had a mixed experience at the spa. Overall the ambience was perfect and the 'peranakan' treatments well packaged. However, my therapist was inexperienced.

I agree with some comments that the location isn't great, surrounded so closely by the hospital (not a bad thing), other hotels and buildings, but its walking distance to the historical sites and Jonker street (about 1+ km).

Otherwise, hotel staff service was exceptional. Limited dinner menu, but its Malacca - go out and explore all the local cuisine!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mr Azran,

It was a pleasure to read your review on your recent stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. We are pleased to know that you had a great cultural experience. Your feedback on the wifi is noted and the upgrading of the wifi has been in discussion and will be addressed soon. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Travelled with family of 2 adults + 2 kids, age 12 & 8

Likes:
1. Old world architecture, clean rooms, quality furnishings
2. Personalized service
3. Small, boutique feel with nice touches (eg old world cookies, sweets)

Dislikes:
1. Surrounded by tall bldgs incl a hospital
2. No shuttle service to Jonker St. Wait for taxi 10 mins
3. Not enough lounging areas/ seats & Slow wifi

Room Tip: Room walls are thin so choose a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanlover1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay. It is much appreciated and we have noted on your feedback for corrective action for our guest experience..

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The local authorities must be stupid or very corrupt. This hotel is an oasis in the midst of high rises all around, but it is less of a pleasant place to be until the powers that be address some basic problems such as drains before handing out building permits for 20+ storey buildings.

I shall not return to the Majestic, which is a shame because in itself it is a pleasant hotel; but the turgid river at its front and the smell reminded me of the old saying - " You don't need to be a proctologist to recognise a turd".

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate the opportunity to have accommodated your good self on your recent visit to Malacca.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Almost surrounded by towering condos, the hotel is an oasis of old fashioned charm. Service is very good and rooms have all the amenities. Breakfast very nice--you can get espresso for your coffee. The spa is excellent and a great deal! Do the 10 am or 5 pm free guided walk--Rakuya does a great job. You can walk to China Town in 15-20 minutes. See review of Pak Putra for a great place to eat.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank chuckatbigsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. We thank you for sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in the near future.

Thank you and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a lovely little boutique hotel. You may get a little oh oh when you first see the front of the building but when the lobby doors open, a lovely charming hotel. The reception, the dining room and the bar are at the old mansion. The front office staff were always smiling and helpful. The rooms are in the new wing behind and very pretty. We were so happy when we first stepped into our room we just smiled. From black and white bathroom tiles to lion claws holding up the bath, was inviting. Everything was wonderful and with modern facilities in the room. The dining room was lovely, very pretty with nice linen like in the grand old houses of old Malacca. The chef made us a special peranakan dinner because I wanted something local. Now that was what I call service. They have a little bit of nostalgia all over the lobby. Nuts, biscuits and preserved assortments, things that kids grew up snacking during the 50s & 60s presumably.

A bit of a walk to Jonker Street and to the Hardrock cafe. Not far to walk to take a cruise by the river. No shopping malls near this place, you have to take a taxi. So if you like being near the mall, this is not the place for you. Also this is not a place for little children. This is a place if you appreciate the quiet old peranakan charm.

Service was top rate. They were all so nice, always had a smile. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Ms Anne Flowers,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay and the compliments on the team's service engagement and property facilities. Your review was read and received with much delight and enthusiasm by all and much appreciated.

Thank you and Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The very good
Impeccably maintained rooms. Very clean. Charming "old colonial" look. Excellent bed, bath & shower. Everything works. Fast check-in. Exactly what you expect from a YTL hotel.
The "not" so good
The colonial building is getting lost between existing high rises. A gigantic ugly high rise is being build in front of the hotel. Not the hotel's fault but still ugly and disturbing.
The "very bad"
The breakfast is unbelievably bad. We arrived around 10am. Only a few leftovers on what they called semi buffet. Dirty, flies all over. Tea from the "jar". Cappuccino took 15 minutes to prepare and was tasteless. The " a la carte" Nasi Lemak was served cold, the so called fresh murtabak looked and tasted like it was two days old and was heated up, dripping in the oil. Food on the street and in food courts is of much better quality. The food quality offered was a disgrace, nothing else. We got up, asked the reception to deduct the breakfast from the bill (they promptly did) and left.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and have noted with concern your feedback on the breakfast which will be look into with the team to improve on .

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#3 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $144 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing