We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our Stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Spent 2 nights here last weekend. Staff extremely friendly courteous and make you feel very welcome. we only ate breakfast which was limited but very good and sufficed our needs. Hotel is as described very colonial and relaxing. Bedroom was very clean bright and airy.

Complains : Swimming pool was very small shaded for most of day and squashed between two buildings, it was however nice to use when not busy. Bedroom walls were so thin you could hear the next room activities, this was our only main complaint and had we been staying longer would have complained
Location the hotel is sited between a huge concrete hospital that did not effect our stay but was a ugly distraction to one side, the other side is old a row of dilapidated buildings to the front there is a large building site of high rise apartments that ruined the view from the front of the building.

Would I go again? yes for short stay it is perfect (with earplugs)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca and we are please to know that you found our staff service friendly and welcoming and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    410
    101
    23
    15
See reviews for
364
700
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great place to go for a weekend away from Singapore. The hotel is full of 'old world' features. We found it was spotlessly clean and staff were absolutely charming. They did all they could to make us feel welcome and comfortable. We found that the manager on duty whose name is Kai was particularly impressive. We would definitely go there again and recommend it

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirdage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and feedback on the service extended to your good self by Kai. I have conveyed the message to him. Our Housekeeping team takes great pride to maintain the clenliness of the hotel for our guest comfort and your acknowledgement of their dedicated effort is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our stay at Majestic was excellent. The complimentary historical walk is a must for visitors who are interested to learn and see more about Malacca. The hotel is also directly opposite Villa Sentosa and it takes around 15 minutes to get to Jonker Street by walk. There are lots of small touches that made our stay more memorable. Local sweets and biscuits to sample while waiting at the lobby area. Instead of getting mints on your pillow, the hotel provides a sampling of local nonya cakes, a different one every night. They are constantly piling you with bottled water (A huge thumbs up for that, especially in view of the hot weather).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am please to know that your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca was enjoyable and that the highlight of your stay was the historical walk conducted by our very passionate Historian Rahayu. The walk is a good introduction to the rich and varied culture unique to Malacca and I will be passing on your feedback to Rahayu. Thank you and we look forward to your return stay with us. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had our stay here 2 weeks ago at the Majestic and simply their service are very excellent. As we arrived a Malacca by lunch but our room was not ready by the point of the check in time. The staff gave us a printed map and taught us how to navigate around the streets of Malacca. Clearly they went to the extend for their guest. :)

The hotel is a mix of rustic and modern, based on a early colonial style and furnishing. We love the deluxe bed room. It was simply gorgeous and spacious. :) The only down side was that the walls are rather thin that you can especially heard noises from gallons of water rushing into the sewage pipeline whenever someone above, beside you uses the toilet.

Overall, that aside, we had an awesome stay at The Majestic and we'd love to return back again! Very centralize location and accessible to any where especially to Jonker street!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovegurugong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review and we are please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. We take pride in our guest experience and your acknowledgement of our service is a motivation and much appreciated. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The public rooms of the hotel comprise a beautiful historic property with excellent bedroom accommodation in the modern block behind. Very good attention from friendly staff. Everything we asked for was arranged including a private boat trip to Pulau Besar which was a highlight and also the couriering home of some items which could not be accommodated in the luggage. Good breakfasts and generally good food. The outlook from the hotel is rather dramatically compromised by a new and gigantic complex of apartments and offices which does look appallingly out of place beside the traditional Malay village of Kampung Morten. How planning permission for such a monstrosity was obtained is a question. The location of the hotel is slightly removed from the UNESCO World Heritage Site which is mostly Chinatown and Little India but can relatively easily be reached. A trip on a trishaw is a must and the best guide appears to be Cowboy who had very good English and much enthusiasm not to say vigour on the bike despite being 68.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itinerant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you found our staff friendly and engaging to your needs during your recent stay with us. We thank you for sharing your review and look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved so many things about this hotel, the gracious atmosphere, the way every single member of staff went out of his/her way to greet you in a welcoming way, the manner of our arrival when we were shown our room, and offered jasmine tea. It's a very elegant building, furnished beautifully in colonial style with quiet corners where you can linger. The restaurant, where we ate twice we found a little disappointing. The food, we felt had been over hyped on Trip Advisor. The seaweed salad was poor, and the fish on linguini only adequate. The best part of that evening was the Singapore Slings, which were delicious at £16 each, charmingly served by the Burmese bar attendant. The real downer of this 3 night stay was the plumbing in our bed room, which was completely open plan, the bathroom being screened by louvre doors. These were very decorative in appearance, but offered no deafening whatsoever. We were wakened in the middle of the night, by what we thought was a burst pipe spewing out water in OUR bathroom. My husband shot out of bed only to discover the the occupants of the adjoining room were running a bath, which went on for some considerable time. For this reason this hotel , in my opinion, only merits 3 stars

Room Tip: Ask if they have remedied the plumbing problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadingLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. I am please to hear that you enjoyed the "Singapoe Sling" prepared by our bartender Zar Nee and will certainly pass on the message to her. Your feedback has been noted and I apologise for the inconvenience you had and will be looking into improving on it.

Thank you and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our two-night experience at the end of February 2014 was excellent. A cool, clean, quiet and comfortable stay in a hot, somewhat run-down but intermittently charming town. A noticeably helpful staff, nice touches such as candies scattered around the public areas, cold towels and tea on arrival (and cold towels at other times when requested after returning from walks.) Room well designed and roomy, bathroom has louvered sliding doors, can be open or closed from main room. Good shower. General colonial feel, good air-conditioning and beds, satisfactory breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure for us to know that your stay with us was a enjoyable experience. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,351 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing