We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, quality and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights between Christmas and new Year when Malacca was really busy with tourists, but the hotel was a lovely haven of tranquility. Service was excellent. All the staff really friendly and helpful and agree with another reviewer that Min was delightful. The room was very characterful and well furnished, though note that soundproofing, both in the room and with other rooms is minimal. The bathroom is only separated from the bedroom by sliding louvred doors, which is fun but as a couple you have to be 'close'. A bit of a walk to Jonkers, but no great problem as Malacca is compact and v visitor friendly. So far! As unfortunately in their wisdom the city authorities have given permission for an enormous and quite out of character hotel / apartment/ 'attraction' complex which is dominating the loop of the river outside the Majestic. Far enough away that it does not impact overly on the hotel's views, but you can't miss it! All in all a very enjoyable stay. Both the hotel and Malacca itself highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in The Majestic Malacca and the service rendered by our stars acknowledged. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be conveyed and shared to all our stars. Thank you.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

A fantastic hotel. Great value for money, great ambience, amazingly attentive staff. Beautiful breakfast room and spa. And did I say amazing rooms? Absolutely the go to place in Melaka. Only quibble is that hotels (all) do not have sliced lime to add to the red papaya on the breakfast table.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. Your feedback is much appreciated and noted for our dedicated team to improve for our guest experience.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hotel ground, facilities and room are very nice decor and comfortable. We loved the room: large, bright, with large and very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and old style bathtub. All in colonial style, clean and updated. Staff very nice, polite, helpful and attentive. We stayed over Christmas and all hotel was nicely decorated. Great breakfast. The best choice if you stay in Melaka.

Room Tip: Any rooms is probably great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

We read with pleasure your review on your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. My team and I is very encouraged and motivated and we thank you sincerely for your feedback.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Had 5 nights in this excellent hotel. It was like stepping back to a far more civilized time and place. The staff were excellent. Look out for Min who is a real sweety. Highly recommend staying here. If only all hotels were run like this one. Top marks to all the staff.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank paults66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time and I appreciate your acknowledgement of the service rendered by Min and will convey your commendation to her .

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice service in a hotel with an interesting past. Strengths are excellent service, nice rooms., very nice city walk from hotel. , proximity to river boat trip station. Weaknesses are odd absence of privacy of bathroom toilet, non/insulated door/ensuite between rooms, location somewhat off the historic center (about 15 walking minutes). Breakfast was ok, but meager by Malay standards. Dinner was good, but not exceptional and rather expensive. In a year rtime the view will be destructed by an ugly high rise that the Malaccan City Council approved and that could cost themn their assigment as world heritage. Constant haggling with taxi and bikle drivers and non/fixed taxi fartes are a nuisance in Malaysia at large.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with a door to next room `en/suite', river view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldlaufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. It is much appreciated .

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children (toddler and infant) in one room. It was the perfect size for us. The bathroom is separated from the room by sliding shutters (so not much privacy if you need it:) and includes a large claw-foot bathtub and separate shower.

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. Always friendly and helpful. They even packed a small lunch for our bus trip back to Singapore. Much appreciated when the bus stops at a small place on the side of the road that has nothing appetizing.

The hotel lobby is extremely welcoming and has all of these wonderful nonya snacks that I grew up with like salted plums, almond cookies, coconut milk caramels, preserved sweet olives, etc. I loved it! Every evening, we came home to a small nonya kueh (cake) and it was delicious.

The breakfast was really nice. Good selections.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Just next to the river and about a 10 minute walk to Jonkers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbunnykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you and family stayed with us in The Majestic Malacca and we thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the jars of titbits and nyonya kuih and look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

1) Nicely located - within walking distance to many of the city's attractions
2) Room was big with good size bathroom complete with standalone bathtub
3) The bed and pillows were comfortable and clean
4) The staffs were friendly, helpful and always smiling
5) Great breakfast and dinner selection (included in the package)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macy7470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,456 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
636 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 168 in Melaka
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $119 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing