We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soo charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Soo charming”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Such à charming hôtel in Malacca. I loved the old stylish bathroom but with new appliances, do not worry . Room was big and lovely. Service great and staff very smily. We appreciated the glass of water upon arrival and the tea in the bedroom, the little treats after dinner were also delicious. The free tour of the city was also very interesting and helpful. The treatment at the Spa was perfect. No doubt : the place to stay in Malacca !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bliesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    410
    101
    23
    15
See reviews for
364
700
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon, and we couldn't have been happier with it. It has a charming, elegant colonial feel to it; the rooms are luxuriously and tastefully furnished; breakfast is abundant and delicious; the staff is attentive and professional. We enjoyed yummy cocktails and fresh fruit juices lounging by the pool, which is a great place where to spend the hottest hours of the day. It has a spa that we did not have a chance to try, but looked lovely. The hotel is within walking distance from the best spots - little India, Chinatown, Jonkers Walk - and overlooks the Unesco district. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuscany82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment, we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My fiancé booked this as a surprise for me but after seeing the film 'Best Exotic Marigold Hotel' and with him having 'previous' for booking super bad hotels I was understandably more than a little concerned!
Boy did he come up trumps with this GEM of a hotel, beautiful everything and Zan-eer makes the very best fresh fruit Mai -Tai cocktails in the whole world! We couldn't find anything at all that we didn't like and would like to thank ALL of the staff for our wonderful stay in The Majestic Malacca. We will come back : - D

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor and if, like me, you don't like sleeping without a window open yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

You would expect it to be good as it is rated the Number 1 Hotel in Melaka! It is expensive, but worth it! The room we stayed in was beautiful. The staff are very helpful, organising tours and recommending things to do. The evening meal was lovely, as was the breakfast. Would definately return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajgray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice boutique hotel, hard to find but worth it when you visit Malacca. The original buiding has lots of charm and the staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are in a new building adjacent to the old mansion and are beautifully layed out and decorated. Super nice, spacious and clean! The breakfast is based on a small buffet with the hot items at order.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I so liked this hotel, I wish I could give them 5 stars, but there is some room for improvement. It is a very beautiful hotel with well-appointed rooms. Quite luxurious. The staff is professional, prompt and always smiling. The gym was great and the pool lovely and refreshing. The complimentary walking our was quite well done. It is about a 20-minute walk from the center of town, which usually would pose no problem, but Melaka is infernally hot. Fortunately, taxis are cheap and plentiful. My only serious complain is about the restaurant. I ate dinner there one night. The food was absurdly expensive, mediocre and the service glacial. I waited 45 minutes for 4 dumplings -- and there were only a handful of other guests present.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limingde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant , however my apologies for the inconveniences on the dinning experience. Your comment has been dully noted and we look forward to welcoming and serve you better in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We only had high tea in this beautifully renovated boutique hotel. The high tea was excellent and included hot chicken pies about the size of a curry puff straight from the oven. In addition there were sandwiches, scones with cream, cakes and other bakery items. The selection of teas was also good and it made an excellent ending to a long day in Melaka.

This property has been noted by us as somewhere that we want to stay when we next come to Melaka.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and dining with us. It is much appreciated and we look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,353 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing