We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Elegant Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Elegant Retreat”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Majestic Malacca delivered everything we had hoped for when we made the booking. We were greeted with cool refreshing towels as soon as we walked in the door..and then the service continued to be fabulous throughout our 2 day stay. Tea brought up to our room on arrival in a Chinese wicker basket.

The rooms are elegant and well appointed with excellent amenities, wifi and a turn down service.
You can leave the bathroom doors pulled back and enjoyed a luxurious bath with salts supplied.

Breakfast was generous and served in a wonderful high ceilinged room in the original mansion. We had a drink by the quiet and private pool.. and it was much enjoyed.

The staff anticipated our wants and after a casual chat about our upcoming trip to Singapore offered to purchase bus tickets and organise a cab to the bus station, at no extra cost to us. They even packed a complimentary lunch for us for the bus trip.

If you want to treat yourself stay there.. yes it is further away from Jonker Street, but cabs are cheap and plentiful and it really wasn't too far to walk in any case.

Well done to all the staff and Management.. we were thrilled.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennymac1274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    410
    101
    23
    15
See reviews for
365
700
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Beautiful old world hotel with a modern annex behind built sympathetically to the original.We were served in our room a local brew of tea by a lovely girl on our arrival.The room itself was outstanding,a freestanding bath,the focal point of a very smart bathroom area which was incorporated into the bedroom but separated by sliding louvred doors.The breakfast was also served in a lovely old part of the hotel and cooked to order.The location of the hotel was great,just a 10min walk from the main tourist area of Malacca but in a quit area of Kampung Morton.The staff at the hotel were delightful,always smiling,cheerful and willing to give local advice.So if you visit Malacca and wish to stay in a quiet but beautiful hotel,then the Majestic is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stehel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant .Our sincere thanks to you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, I neva stay at Majestic..
but I try their restaurant ..
The food was nice .. and the service also good .. specially mention for Khen and Masum .. they were friendly .. masum knows how to take care of the guest .. khen was very patient answering all my question ..
nice ..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Your feedback have been e-shared with our enthusiastic stars. Our sincere thanks to you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I'd booked one night at the Majestic after looking at traveler's photos of the rooms... it is even BETTER in person because you can fall asleep on the nice soft bed and take a long soak in the bathtub. Comfortable bedding, very clean room, a good wifi connection and a fully appointed bathroom with a big bathtub ;) Everything we needed for a restful weekend getaway.

We had showed up with backpacks looking a bit rough after getting off the bus from Singapore. Despite our scruffy appearance, the immaculately groomed staff in an expensive-looking sarong kebaya sat us down in the beautifully furnished lobby, got us some water, explained about the hotel's heritage, and gave us a simplified map of the area. Treated us like royalty basically. Then we were shown to our rooms and how to use the TV, wifi etc was explained to us. After that, every time we left the hotel or entered, we were greeted warmly. So thumbs up to the service as well.

I'd planned to eat dinner at Jonker Street and since my partner and I are both long-distance runners, we thought the walk there from the Majestic would be do-able... Unfortunately, the weather was really hot and we ended up perspiring buckets on the way there. It's about a 15 minute walk, 20 if you're going at a leisurely pace. So unfortunately, the only downside to staying at the Majestic is its awkward location, especially if your itinerary is Jonker-heavy.

But we may not care so much about the location because seriously, none of the other hotels look as well-appointed and I am thinking of going back again to the Majestic later this month. Its only real competitor is the Casa Del Rio, which has a much better location (being only half the distance from Jonker as the Majestic), but the recent reviews are not encouraging to say the least.

Room Tip: Pick a pool facing room as the river is really nothing to look at... it's muddy. Pool facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SW973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and your feedback have been e-shared with our enthusiastic stars. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well we turned up directly from KL IA at 11.30 pm. They were waiting for us with a warm welcome and a room upgrade. Ben gave us the run down on the Hotels history and the multicultural mix of old Malacca. We had a fantastic room on the top floor with great ambience and plenty of space. The staff were very helpful and exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was nice in the old restored dinning room. Then they took us out for an old Malacca orientation tour. This was a great way to get a feel for the place before we spent the next 2 day looking around on our own. All up a very pleasant stay. Good enough for us to recommend my brother stay there in around 3 weeks time.

Room Tip: At $180 AUS good for the top floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you and your family home again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

stayed 1 night...wasn't great but wasn't the worst either.
Room was nice, comfortable beds, attractive bathroom, etc.
Pool is small but nice.... hey they did what they could with the small space they had.

Breakfast was basic. For a 5 star hotel I expected something like eggs Benedict, fresh croissant, miso soup etc but the menu only serves omelette, poached, eggs, scramble eggs, fried eggs, half boiled eggs, nasi lemak with egg....you get what I mean.
Hotel is in need of a International touch if they want to be considered 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are many reasons why this hotel is currently rated number one in Melacca - it really is sensational. Having travelled extensively this hotel is a gem. Ignore silly comments such as "a bit tired" - if you are seeking a friendly and warm experience with some of the best service around then this is the place for you!

Thank you Sharifah (I'm Mr Nick, and we do have a fridge in our room!), Kai (best wishes for your new role in KL and no more sleeping under the dining room table!!), Dev, Jerome and Richard (if you want to experience authentic Malay cooking then Richard is the best chef around!). I'm sorry I can't name you all but you are a credit to the hotel and your country.

A unique experience and one we'll not forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PacificNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and your feedback have been e-shared with our enthusiastic stars. Our sincere thanks to you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing