We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

There are many reasons why this hotel is currently rated number one in Melacca - it really is sensational. Having travelled extensively this hotel is a gem. Ignore silly comments such as "a bit tired" - if you are seeking a friendly and warm experience with some of the best service around then this is the place for you!

Thank you Sharifah (I'm Mr Nick, and we do have a fridge in our room!), Kai (best wishes for your new role in KL and no more sleeping under the dining room table!!), Dev, Jerome and Richard (if you want to experience authentic Malay cooking then Richard is the best chef around!). I'm sorry I can't name you all but you are a credit to the hotel and your country.

A unique experience and one we'll not forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PacificNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and your feedback have been e-shared with our enthusiastic stars. Our sincere thanks to you for acknowledging the efforts of our team members and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    406
    98
    22
    15
See reviews for
358
693
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with connecting rooms on the 5th floor, facing the river.

Pros
1) Spacious bed, large room space with good wifi & lan internet.

2) Friendly staff & in the evening, housekeeping will prepare the room for you & added an extra touch by serving Peranakan kuehs which tasted yummy!

3) Check-in was smooth, less than 15mins and we had our rooms.

4) The mains for the b'fast are to be ordered so it's great to have food being served hot, rather than via buffet. Fruits, bread are buffet styled.

Cons
1) The service during our b'fast on day one was messy though it wasn't full occupancy. eg: we had to take our own coffee/tea, fruits buffet spread were mostly empty when we came and only top up some of it. Considering it's a 4/5* hotel, service is unflattering. However, on the 2nd day, the service was much better, at least the staff are more attentive & prompt :)

2) Err....no welcome drinks for us! haha

We drove here and hence, moving around town was easy for us. If you're looking for a hotel that's easily accessible to get ard town, maybe this isn't for you. But if you don't mind the location & is open to immerse yourself in a Peranakan atmosphere housed in a former 1920s mansion, this charming hotel will work for you, as it did for me ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidah_sgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Noted on the comments and we will look into areas for our continuous improvement. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had very high hopes for this characterful hotel. The staff are all delightful and couldn't have been more helpful.
However, while it is an interesting main building, the rooms are all in a block behind it, and the view is of the building site opposite.
It is a 20 minute walk to the main sights, with no very local restaurants, other than one serving frogs,(and while we are adventurous and used to the Far East we didn't take up that option) though taxis are very cheap, it wasn't a walk we particularly fancied back in the evenings, though I am sure it was safe.
It is also next to the hospital, so there is ambulance noise at times.
We too found the bathroom arrangements less than private and rather off putting.
Breakfast was lovely, and the evening meal we ate there was good, though not particularly cheap, nor were the bar prices.
My main issue was it didn't live up to the premium cost- the rug in the room was curled over at the edges so we kept tripping on it, and the only communal place to smoke was on the verandah; if the street cafes can install ceiling fans on the verandah then surely the Majestic can afford it. The wi-fi worked fine.
The staff were great, but the owners need to fix the infrastructure. If I were to visit Melaka again Casa del Rio looked like a better bet, more anonymous perhaps but probably better facilities, though it would have been noisier as next to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Noted on the comments and we will look into areas for our continuous improvement. We look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the pick up at KL airport through to the staff waving us off as we departed our stay at the Majestic Malacca was a flawless experience of great hospitality and service. We were amazed by the main Mansion house building which houses the reception, bar and dining room and then left speechless with happy amazement as we were shown the very characterful and unique bedroom and bathroom. We just loved this characterful hotel. As others have commented the cold towel as we arrived was really welcome and every member of staff we encountered was helpful and friendly. A good lasting memory for us all is having the hotel front door opened each time we arrived at or left the hotel by the attentive concierge and also the lovely breakfasts served by staff in traditional uniforms. We didn't eat other meals in the hotel preferring to explore Malacca and would highly recommend Pak Putra a restuarant serving north Indian and Pakistani food; only open in the evenings and an inexpensive taxi ride from the Hotel. The small outdoor pool was wonderfully refreshing at the end of each day exploring Malacca and never very busy. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk away from the main tourist sights of the town but for us this added to the attraction as it meant we saw parts of Malacca that were more frequented by local residents. The walk is easy and at no time did we encounter any problems. We stayed as a family in interconnecting rooms and had a great time!

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Majestic and even if Melaka on its own is very special, by staying at the Majestic it becomes even more special. I loved it. It works. The staff are excellent and the hotel doesn't miss anything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is a lovely heritage building - unfortunately it is surrounded by derelict looking buildings and construction sites. The welcome was lovely with a cool towel and cold drink and very friendly staff. The Chinese tea served in your room on arrival was a great surprise. The room is luxurious with a very comfy king size bed and antique looking fittings in the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely surrounded by antiques and the domination has a lovely ambience. On the negative side, there were loud noises from the plumbing when neighbors used the bathroom and the shower leaked badly. As we were only there for one night, we didn't alert the management so I can't say if it was fixed quickly or not. Overall a comfortable stay but the surroundings are a bit off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and noted on the comments. My apologies for the inconveniences during your stay with us and we looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

5 star hotel with a heritage reception building.

Pros:
- heritage building
- large rooms and bathrooms
- designer glass gym
- authentic finishes and setting
- welcome tea
- good service (it is 5-star rated after all)
- freshly cooked breakfast mains

Cons:
- noisy plumbing
- small pool
- separate grounds for outdoor uncovered carpark
- bathroom can't be locked (privacy issues if travelers are not a couple)

Overall the hotel was rather nice but I felt that the price charged (similar to a top grade hotel in the capital city of Kuala Lumpur) isn't justifiable for what is actually just another city hotel rather than a resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shockl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Noted on the comments and we will look into areas for our continuous improvement. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing