We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Majestic indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Majestic indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at this beautifully restored heritage boutique hotel. It was worth every penny we spent. From the ornate four poster bed & vintage bathroom (albeit marred by the modern shower cubicle at the corner) to the redolent lobby and front porch, the Majestic hotel lives up to its name in every way. The staff were helpful & polite. The breakfast service was lovely (yummy waffles) & there was nothing to really complain about. Except the toothpaste that comes with the dental kit - it was the cheapest, tiniest little tube with tasteless hard white paste that barely lathers. But with everything else being so perfect, the toothpaste bit can be easily overlooked. Hotel has its own parking space & is about 10 minutes walking distance from Jonker street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river for a much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay is pleasant. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    405
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
356
689
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and overall stay was very pleasant. Thank you Majestic for a Majestic stay. Would definitely recommend. The spa was excellent. My wife went for a spa treatment and enjoyed. Breakfast was delicious. Good walking distance to town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrugueMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We expected a lot from lunch at The Majestic. We were disappointed on all levels. The restaurant is not open, you are seated in the reading rooms off the lobby. They look cosy until you realize your seating choice is a chair too high for the coffee table or a woven, sloping lounge chair which tips you back from the table, or the sofa. We drew straws to see who got the sofa. The rest of us perched uncomfortably thru the meal. We asked for but did not receive napkins until we were halfway through our meal. We found our own salt and pepper in the nearby cabinets. The iced lemon tea, at RM10, was a can of Lipton served to the table. When we expressed surprise at this low budget, tacky choice, the manager asked if we weren't happy with the tea in the rooms, as if that made it OK to serve bad tea in the restaurant. Since we aren't staying there, that didn't help us. The burger was missing half of the promised accessories. Cheese was another low budget option...plastic cheese slices. We had to ask for, and wait for, condiments. They were not offered. My guest had the fish and chips. Both were served with frozen potatoes. The Caesar Salad was not. It was romaine lettuce with a thick mayonnaise dressing. All this disappointment set us back over RM160! You read that right. Our disappointment was complete. We had planned to go tomorrow for a birthday celebration but will never return. We glimpsed the dinner menu and saw the Kuey Teow is RM50! More substantial dishes are double that. As mediocre as lunch was, it's hard to imagine them producing a RM50 worth Kuey Teow or anything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear you are disappointed with the venue and lunch experience. We will use your feedback to develop and improve our services as we want you to have a memorable experience with us. We value your review and my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations this time. We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a wonderful 4 nights here. The main building is so lovely.. the room we had was also very nice. Great staff.. close walk to Jonker St.. Breakfast was included and was very yummy.. Staff were all extremely nice.. I cant fault this hotel at all.. Simply lovely.. Treat yourself to something a little special.. The nite snacks were really a nice touch too.. there are all sorts of snacky items in the main building for guests.. Ok bit of advise.. try Nancy's Kitchen at Jonker for Lunch and Eleven 11 Restaurant beside it for dinner.. Great Nonya and Portugese food..
One down part.. small pool but there were hardly anyone there anyways..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Simple, restful, and flawless...even after a 17 night stay. Other hotels may have more stars, or fancy options...but this hotel is unmatched...not just in Melaka...no other hotel I have ever stayed at can touch it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSTSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and it is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Undoubtedly the best place to stay in Melacca if you want old style charm. Service impeccable, colonial time charm. Only disappointment is that the road its on is less than charming - though one does feel very cocooned in this secret hidden gem of a hotel. Though I had a lovely time with a BFF, the louvered shutter doors for the attached bathroom was a tad more intimate than was wished. Even with a lover, some sound proofing privacy in the loo dept would have been appreciated! Nevertheless, will visit again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, Front Office Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Take care and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

As with most of our experience in Asia, customer service has been impressive. The Majestic holds this standard pretty high. It's a beautiful place, but it's positioned next to a hospital and a vacant lot...so there aren't any views. The food is great and the pool is pretty cool (an infiniti pool that ends in a waterfall). Our rooms were spacious and quiet. I came with family (kids, mom, and wife) so they gave us adjoining rooms which was absolutely crucial. The hotel is well-positioned for a walk into old town but far enough away that you don't have to deal with all the late-night craziness. We thoroughly enjoyed it. My wife hit the spa and said it was fantastic...she's the resident expert on such things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukejames52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you and your family home again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing