We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial charm and luxury with attentive service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Woy Woy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Colonial charm and luxury with attentive service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a lovely gracious colonial hotel located opposite the Morton historical village and adjacent to the canal. Conveniently close to the tourist haunts. The large rooms are lavishly decorated in the older style with large comfortable beds and marble bathrooms with claw foot baths. The service is attentive and outstanding. All guests are offered a courtesy walking tour of local historical sites with a knowledgable and well spoken member os staff which is very worthwhile. We were also provided with shopping tips and advice on some of the local restaurants. They also have a pool, spa with massage and other beauty treatments. I personally very much enjoyed a cooking class with the hotel chef which was both fun and extremely informative, I would highly recommend staying at the majestic.

Room Tip: The one I had was great being a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woywoygoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We are delighted to know that your stay is pleasant and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    410
    101
    23
    15
See reviews for
364
700
52
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Actually the hotel is very nice, clean , 19th century design, the location is perfect, but I would like to highlight some points.. As compare to the price that you pay in that hotel which is expensive than other hotels in the city, the breakfast is extremely poor, seriously I shocked as I did not expect the breakfast would be like a 2 stars hotel , I stayed 2 days, the same types of food with fix menu, not many western choices or even local.
The second issue is the swimming pool, its is very small in a tiny space.
Apart from that the staff were so nice and friendly, housekeeping twice a day..,.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muayad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences during your stay with us and rest assure that we are taking corrective measures for our continuous improvement.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our first trip to Malacca. From the moment we arrived the service we received was impeccable and personable. We were greeted by our names by every member of staff throughout our stay. Our stay was dotted with small personal treats such as daily local desserts in our room and traditional tea on arrival. The hotel has the colonial charm of a bygone era and not to mention a great cocktail list! The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with a beautiful open plan bathroom and roll top bath which was heaven plus a large rainshower. Wooden shutters do close across the bathroom if you prefer. We made use of the spa in the hotel and chose the "double cooling package" consisting of local traditional Malay treatments which were just wonderful and thoroughly recommended. We ate breakfast in the hotel as it was included in our room rate. There was a good selection of food predominantly geared towards Asian taste (as you would expect) but the service could have been a little more attentive ( e.g. We had to ask for cutlery, tea coffee refill etc..). This really is nitpicking but as the service was so exceptional in all other aspects of the hotel, we felt this stood out as the only small development area. We would like to make a special reference to Poshan who has exceptional client service skills and demonstrates that he genuinely cares about the guests. In our case, we feel he went beyond his call of duty to ensure we were happy and well taken care of, a rarity in many hotels these days. The hotel location is a 10 - 15 minute walk from the center of town but don't let that put you off staying at The Majestic. A trishaw ride is a fun way to travel and only cost RM25 from the center back to The Majestic. If you can, stay over a weekend to experience the night market in Jonker Street with lots of great food to try. We will return to The Majestic some day, it really was a relaxing escape.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor which provided us with a great view across Malacca. There is some ongoing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGarethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Majestic over a weekend in 2012 in a standard room to met up with one of our business partners and do some sightseeing in Melacca. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay in this small, colonial-style hotel. Probably one of the better hotels in Melacca! However, there is room for improvement when it comes to the breakfast (choices were quite limited). Traffic is a nightmare but it is OK to walk from the hotel down to the city center.
Would absolutely stay there again. Recommended for anyone visiting Melacca for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaWanland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Noted and thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon for 3 nights in April 2013. I wasn't quite sure what to expect but... It was beautiful in a british Colonial way. The lobby area downstairs has a bar, library and sitting rooms complete with luxurious books and lolly jars everywhere. The restaurant is upstairs in the same building. Breakfast was excellent. It wasn't buffet style but you could order as you wanted off the menu. We stayed in the basic room which was quite sufficient. The clawed bath tub was probably the high light as it got filled up with bubbles and red rose petals each night and local desserts left on the coffee table. It was these little things that made this a 5 star hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was an easy10-15 walk into the centre of town. The night market on the weekend is excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms look out over Malacca so I cant imagine any would be worse than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Train000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my lovely wife
As I walked into the hotel, it gv me an impression of walking into an old Baba Nyonya house
The staff made every effort to make our stay pleasant
They were always attentive to our needs/calls and catered us in every aspect possible
The room was Truely Majestic
Just awesome. It was spacious, clean and the way they was incorporated the bathroom was amazing. The view fr the room was not great, but that surely can be overlooked.
Located in the town and its easily accessable to other spots in town.
Enjoyed our stay here and surely will be back...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_Chalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to you next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and my husband have just returned from Melaka where we spent two nights in The Majestic.

Arrival:
We were shown to seats in the lobby and given a cool towel, and offered a welcome drink - this seemed a nice touch as we had arrived at 2pm, (an hour before official check in), and presumed our room wasn't ready. In fact, it was, and we were charged for the cool drinks at check out. Seems a bit mean given we went onto have dinner in the hotel and spent 454RM at the spa...and especially when we were then served tea when taken up to our room. A map was provided and a talk about the local area which was very informative and useful.

Room:
Our room itself was lovely, spotlessly clean and very spacious. Bed huge and really comfortable. However, the soundproofing is dreadful. From the rooms next door we heard hairdryers, the bath being run and well into the early hours doors being continually opened and banged closed, coming from along the corridor.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was average (included in our room rate), which consisted of a choice of 3 cereals and fresh fruit, yogurt and pastries. There was a hot menu which we ordered from, on the first day we sent our boiled eggs back as they were still completely liquid (although this may have been our fault as we requested yolks runny). They were changed without any hassle to hard boiled, but were still really underdone.

Dinner:
On the first night we decided to eat in the hotel for dinner and there was much confusion at reception as to which menu was actually available. The food was so-so.

Spa:
We visited the spa for a balinese and swedish massage and it was a lovely experience, although much more expensive than local places.

Pool:
Small but adequate and very clean.

Wifi:
Annoyingly, only available in the lobby and not in the rooms - for the room rate this seems really strange. There is a free connection the room but this is useless for iPad and iPhone.

Staff:
All really friendly but not overly knowledgeable about the hotel amenities - we asked if there were any movies to borrow for the DVD player in the room and the chap at the door (who offered to assist us) didn't know. The girl on the front desk then told us there aren't. Also...there seem to be too many staff at the front door!

It was a good break away from home, and overall a nice place to stay - could be a great place with better breakfast and less noise!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Noted on the comments and we will look into areas for our continuous improvement. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,350 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing