We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Right Place in Malacca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Right Place in Malacca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent three nights at the Majestic and found it to be a well run, and comfortable hotel. True its a little way outside the centre, but it is walkable, and there are plenty of taxis. They have a good spa, with an excellent massage service - I had a back problem which got a lot better after my massage. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and well equipped, although some may find the "open plan" bathroom a little disconcerting. Like the rest of Malaysia Malacca seems to be in the middle of a building boom and the Majestic is impacted. So the view from our room included not only the old town, the sea, and Kampung Morten, but also an under construction mall/tower block complex,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loshalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    368
    87
    19
    15
See reviews for
323
630
47
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife called this hotel vintage chic and I couldn't agree more. The staff is also wonderful. Anything you need, they will take care if it. We stayed just for one night to explore the city and we had a wonderful time. Upon checkin the receptionist took us to our room and even served us afternoon tea. The gym is perfect for a quick workout. It has 2 treadmills, an elliptical, 2 bikes, and some free weights. The pool looked lovely but we did not use it due to some rain.

The breakfast was also delicious. Excellent breads and fruits and you can even order off their breakfast menu or get a custom omelette. The lobby is well appointed and small snacks are plentiful.

The only ding I can give the majestic is there was not wifi in the room. They did have a hard wires connection which worked well for the laptop but if you bring iPads or cell phones you will have to go to the lobby for Internet.

Overall a lovely place in Melaka!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The best accommodation of ever !!! We also had the "english tea time" and it has been a sensorial experience. Excellent hotel and outstanding service, can't wait to get there again in the next future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patfif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for only one night, as a day trip from KL. There is something 'majestic' about staying in an older, restored hotel with a bit of history.

Our room was available to us, despite our early arrival. The check-in staff were very welcoming and gave us a brief history of the hotel, which was a lovely touch. Another nice touch was the lovely tea in a traditional tea set brought to our room as a welcome.

We had their standard room, which was quite nice. Roomy enough (for a short stay) and pleasantly decorated. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are not particularly sound proof, with quite noisy plumbing at times. This was not enough to wake us or keep us up, and we experienced no other disturbances during our stay.

The bed was very comfortable, and the linen was lovely. The turn down service was particularly well executed, with the additional bonus of some local desserts left for us to enjoy upon our return from a night out.

We had pre-dinner drinks at the bar, which were okay. We also had dinner in the restaurant. The service was very good and the food was fine, but I certainly think there'd be much better options for the money elsewhere in Melaka.

The breakfast was quite good, with some standard options from the buffet, plus the ability to order from an al la cart menu. The breakfast was incredibly busy, though, and we had to wait for a table and then several times for service throughout the meal. As with everywhere in Asia, the coffee served at breakfast was atrocious!! :-S

Overall, we had a pleasant stay in a nice, well located hotel with a little bit of history and good staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DNTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I hadn't been to Melaka for a number of years and I needed to see a supplier in the town. Because of that and the kids not being there I figured I'd go for the night and stay at a nice place as I imagined it would be a few years before I do it again. I got onto the Majestic via the reviews on TA and because my wife also suggested it.

We drove from KL to Melaka and for the most parts it's a very good 3 up and 3 back lane highway, this part of it only took about 90min or so but when you hit Melaka you get to a hoard of traffic lights and the centre of Melaka now is a pretty cramped area with a number of 1 way roads. A quick tip for everyone, the parking for the hotel is around the back of the hotel and you cannot access it from the main entry, you will need to go back out and drive around. The parking itself is pretty good, it's open air but right next to the hotel and it's free.

The hotel itself consists of 2 parts, the main reception which is a restored building and the hotel itself which is a modern multistory building. I must say when coming in it was very pleasant, there are decorations for Gong Xi and I found the staff very friendly and they also got me a coffee :) . While we did get in early I was a bit surprised to hear that the room wouldn't be ready until 3pm. We took the opportunity to take a walk down to Jonker street but to do this properly you will need a GPS as I found the map they provided not fantastic and there are few signs along the way to point you to the tourist area. The walk its;ef is ~1km (maybe less if you do it correctly).

After returning at around 2:30 and asking about the room we were told it was all done. The rooms themselves are modern yet made out to be a rustic Melaka style. The bed is huge and there is an open bathroom. The bathroom while nice and neat was not my favorite especially if you travel with kids as there is only a wooden slat wall on 2 sides for privacy. I didn't bring any laptops along so I'm not sure about the Internet access.

The room also has the usual amenities like coffee making, TV with common channels, hair dryer etc.. The view from the window is nothing special as the side we were on (Room 804) overlooks part of the river and housing area. Inside the room is was cool and quiet so I had a pretty good time just letting the kids have a bath and relaxing after my walk. The room also has a daybed which is great if you bring 1 extra too many kids so they will have someone to stay without the need to pay for an extra bed.

During my vegetation, on a massive king size bed, Mrs Me went of to the spa, I cannot comment directly about that but she said she had a good time.

For Dinner, instead of going out we decided to stay in as one of us have an upset tummy. The menu offered only around 5 dishes (not complaining, better to do less well than lots badly) and I found the quality of the food was pretty good but the prices, even by KL standards were pretty high. If I had to do it again I would go down to the corner shop and get a cheaper meal. During the meal some of the staff came up to have a chat which was pretty good as I found most of them were genuinely friendly and enjoyed chatting with the customers, something pretty unusual from my experiences of traveling.

The next day the kids went to the pool but because of the pools location which is between the 2 buildings it does not get a great amount of exposure to the sun which meant when they went in the morning it was pretty cold and there is also a bit of a wind tunnel making it chilly when they got out. Not a big problem though as I saw a number of others by the pool.

All in all, I would go back with no problem but it should be pointed out this is the level you would expect for what's most likely the most expensive hotel in Melaka.

While there I recommend going to the Baba-Nonya museum (No.1 in the things to do section), it's a little to go in but if you go during the guided tour you will come away with a bit more appreciation of how the melding of 2 culture, for a time, worked really well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Delightful colonial oasis, with beautifully furnished rooms and very considerate staff, with excellent attention to detail. Upper rooms at the front have view of the river. Very acceptable afternoon tea, when you have had a surfeit of Melakka's signature dish of chicken rice.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimbledonGirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and its much appreciated. Looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a great way to finish our trip. The room was great and still really spacious even with the extra bed for our 11 year old son. Breakfast was included in our package and was good value for a hotel of this quality. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was a bit of a splurge by asian standards but was easily the best food we had on our trip. The hotel is only a short walk along a really charming and well lit river walk. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Greg,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,913 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing