We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Malacca
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $57/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$67
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayfarer Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$49
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$43
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$227
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$189
$120
Casa DelRio Melaka
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $236/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveler rating
930
441
111
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
441
111
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villageytl hotelslychee teacolonial stylethe riveroriginal mansionmodern buildingopen bathroomcolonial feelfour poster bedjonker streetwalking tourclaw footturn down servicesmall poolkampung mortenmain building
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We spent seven nights at this wonderful hotel. The rooms were immaculate, very spacious, and comfortable. The entire hotel has a 20s atmosphere, which we found very relaxing. The breakfasts were tasty and well served. Indeed the feature of this hotel we will remember is the excellent level of friendly service. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel like guests rather than customers. Najwa at reception was particularly helpful to us with our ongoing travel, and this was typical of the level of service. We can strongly recommend the spa, and if you visit here Mrs Choo's guided walk through Melaka is a must. A comment on another review, in our experience the Majestic was only a 10-15 minute easy
walk from Jonker st and the historic centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtain12856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Mr. Curtain,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Sincere gratitude for noticing and acknowledging the efforts of our team members who have made your stay memorable. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The restored colonial mansion is delightful and very relaxing. The owners have done an excellent job of crafting space for a gym and pool between it and the new and very attractive and comfortable bedroom block. When we stayed (over Christmas) building work was being done on the access to the riverbank opposite which detracted somewhat from the ambience. When the current building works for upmarket apartments etc is finished the entire area will clearly come more attractive but the walk down the riverbank to the centre of the old town is very attractive even now.
The reason for rating the hotel down from 5 is that the restaurant service is simply not good enough for a hotel of this quality. Lots of staff, but no coordination - excellent food - but they need to get their act together.

Room Tip: Higher room floors are better for views, all face the river.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We have noted on them with sincere concern and are taking immediate steps to address the concerns with re training, coaching and monitoring for the team to improve for our continuous improvement. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences.

Thank you and warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

May 2012 saw that I had to travel to Singapore for a Asia team meeting. However this time instead of having this two days meeting in our Singapore office, team decided to drive down to Melaka. And to stay in Majestic Hotel, Melaka. And that was a good thing!

I have been told that I am biased towards small hotels, but that's because most of them are efficient and provide personalized service. Majestic was no exception! While our rooms were in posh new tower at the back of hotel, the old charming home like buidling of main hotel was seemlessly connected and old decor and furniture worked the charm. The location is central and hop to the Melaka river.

Not to forget that food was excellent and meeting was well organized. I highly recommend this hotel for bothe leisure and business.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikasmohan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Vikas,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is converted from a Planters House from the early 20th Century. The place is full of Colonial promise and great comfort. The roomas are exquisite and superbly done up. We stayed there for two different nights and were happy to see that we were remembered on our return and warmly welcomed back. One word of warning, the breakfast buffet when the hotel is full, is far more sumptious and varied, than when the hotel is less full. You'll need to ask for items that are usually displayed.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to see you again

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bravo to the owners of this wonderful hotel for maintaining a property with a worldly feel of heritage without compromising any of the new world luxuries. The property cleverly combines a historic Melaka Chinese mansion that contains most of the guest facilities with a modern block of 5 star rooms behind. From the first arrival at the hotel, you will notice that the staff are all very friendly, enthusiastic, courteous and helpful. The hotel rooms are large enough and are tastefully decorated and most offer a great view of Melaka, although Melaka views are generally not much to write home about. The restaurant offers excellent food and service and prices are not too bad for a luxury hotel, although drinks are rather pricey. This hotel is highly recommended whether you are chasing the historic sites of Melaka, spending a relaxing weekend or are on a business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look
forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews