We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great value for money. The most relaxed i've been for a long, long time. please do come. It's a little out of town but it's better for it in my opinion.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelDareBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    402
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
353
684
51
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for just one night on a whirlwind trip to Malacca in June 2011. We booked the Majestic following a glowing review from friends who had recently stayed there too. And we were not disappointed! The majestic is a fantastic hotel, a real gem, especially for the price. It really feels like the main building has history to it and it has a such a colonial feel. The furniture is beautiful and timeless and the staff are so friendly and polite, never too busy to wish us good morning or good evening.

Our room, a deluxe room, was stunning complete with a four poster bed! The bathroom for me was extra special with a roll top bath and a very cute little parcel of bath salts waiting. We were served complimentary green tea in our room on arrival which we felt was a lovely touch. There was also a comprehensive information pack about the hotel and Malacca although the staff were very knowledgeable when we asked for advice on where to go, where to eat etc.

Location wise you may feel it is a little out of town when you first arrive. However, don't be put off, it is actually only a 5-10 minute walk into the center of town and if you go along the river, it is a very pretty walk, especially at night. (and it feels very safe!) A definite must for a trip to Malacca and fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on 16th July 2011, room 907. We were most impressed with the hotel - the deco, excellent services by the front desk and the spa employee, that after a few hours being in the 5star environment, we decided to extend our stay and booked the spa treatment for couples worth rm1000.

The next morning, i went for breakfast with my son at their "mansion". We were so looking forward to the continuation of an excellent service and ...it really turned out to be a nightmare, for us.

I am a frequent traveler and rely heavily on tripadvisor for hotel review. although i must add here that my grievances were attended to in the most professional manner by the nice manager, i feel compelled to write so that other travelers who wish to stay in this hotel especially the locals (esp Malay patrons) will know what to expect, places to avoid in the hotel!.

As I've mentioned, things started to go wrong during breakfast. Breakfast was at the "mansion', in a rather small room. As in other hotels, breakfast was hectic. We made our way to a table after waiting for a while. A couple of minutes later, we were attended to by a female waitress. She set the table (minus the glasses) and took our order. Firstly, i have to mention that only 'cold' items were free, if you had wanted to order hot items, you'll need to pay rm70++per pax, which for the locals, is absolutely expensive. On the table, there is a menu and a small signage saying "tea/coffee etc will be served to you". We decided to order the hot item, porridge and meehoon goreng.

The food came, we asked for our drinks but nothing happened -we then asked for some glasses were asked to wait. Meanwhile, we see the mostly 'mat salleh' or overseas patron and even some Chinese patrons (probably Malaysians) were attended to in a most respected manner i.e their glasses were filled with fruit juices, tea/coffee were served. i told my son to ask for some glasses, and were given a glass at last. I helped myself to the orange juice at the counter, but since there was no coffee at the counter (they were in the hands of the f&b manager who were busy pouring the coffee to other patrons), i had to ask twice again for my coffee from both the waiter and waitress. I told my son since i am paying a huge amount of money for my breakfast, i am not leaving without my coffee

I waited and waited for my much needed coffee, and although there were only about six of us in the room and breakfast time was almost over, my request for coffee was ignored. I asked for my coffee again from the male waiter. He made a wait gesture and started cleaning the table next to mine, and that was my last straw!

I walked out, complained to the f&b manager and basically told him how i felt. My feeling then was that i was experiencing 'racism' by my fellow Malaysians!! i also gave him my room number and insisted for a discount (my husband later told me that breakfast was not charged at all). We decided to cut short our stay and cancelled the spa treatment (which was indeed something i truly regret as i was so looking forward to it)

If the Management is reading this, here's my one cent worth of advise. 1) please treat all patrons equally. In fact, you should serve the locals better considering they are paying more if compared to overseas client (room rm600++, spa rm1000 for two, breakfast rm70++) etc and net amount is equivalent to an average man's monthly salary (or more) in Malaysia just to stay in your hotel. 2) please throw out the sign 'coffee/tea will be served to your table' because you do not have the manpower with only 3-5 staff attending to the breakfast venue which can sit about 40 at one time. 3) make sure there's always a coffee pot on the counter and juices are refilled because some patrons like me don't really mind helping ourselves. 4) make sure drinks are served first, before you take the orders of hot menu and always remember 'to serve the lady her morning coffee' ;-) and lastly, you probably may want to consider bringing in a new f&b manager and team because from my reading of the hotel's review- all negative comments comes from the restaurant!! (minus the cook, of course)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Puan,

It is with great embarrassment that I read of your recent experience with us and I
sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to your good self and family. Guest
feedbacks are invaluable to us and I have noted on yours and am taking immediate
corrective measures including retraining to improve on our service and meeting guest
expectations. Once again, thank you for your feedbacks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Fantastic hotel. Seriously good service. Rooms are to die for. Even the entry level "deluxe" is just beautiful. Pool is small but that's not a problem. My wife went to the spa and raved about it. Compared to the 4/5 star hotels I've stayed in in the uk this beats them hands down. No question. And not actually that pricey in the grand scheme of things. Yes it's a bit more expensive than others - but truly worth it. The general manager Ben is also excellent. Could not do enough for us. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_dulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We just loved this hotel. My husband said he wanted to live there forever. The staff are exceptional and nothing was too much trouble for them, including getting some shopping for us. It is not a huge hotel and that is part of its charm. The breakfast is delicious and the marmalade and jam the best I have eve tasted. It is all made in the Cameron Highlands especially for the hotel. After admiring this I was given some to take home which was very generous. We sincerely can't wait to return to this hotel and Melaka which is a very interesting place to visit and the Nonya restaurants a real treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronte19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights after a drive from Singapore. First thoughts were impressive with nice spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. However, when we got to dinner, the menu looked nice but the service was a bit slow and the Christmas songs they were playing at the time were depressing.
Also, breakfast was disappointing with not much choice. However the spa looked very nice (I didn't go myself) and the pool and gym were very nice as well. So overall the hotel is very nice but it still could be better.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I came to Malacca for a friends, fathers birthday party and she booked me into The Majestic. This was my first trip to Malacca but not to Malaysia and so I didn't quite know what to expect.

This hotel is divine. Part of the SLH group. It is steeped in colonial history. Day beds, wicker furniture, ceiling fans (and air con of course), four poster beds and claw footed baths.

The restaurant is lovely, serving delicious Nyonya as well as international cuisine. Go Nyonya I say - it was delicious - you have to love a place that serves you fresh chilli as a breakfast accompaniment! For those of you disinclined to the spicy, don't worry, cornflakes, toast, pastries and eggs are also available.

There is a lovely pool and spa which looks lovely (although regrettably I didn't have time to try it).

Free wi fi. Thank you!

But the best part of this hotel, was the service. From Bill the Guest Relations Manager to the room cleaning staff, the smiles were genuine, warm and open and reminded me why I choose to live in the Asia Pacific. Most European and North American hotels should look and learn.

If you are in Malacca, I highly recommend this hotel and if I return, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOP1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing