We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Good location, beautiful buidling and interior. The area where breakfast is served and the outside cafe/bar are both really nice - a quiet oasis. The rooms were comfortable but nothing special. Double rooms were more expensive than twin rooms so we ended up in a twin room - anything to stay in budget! No wifi in rooms, only in the downstairs bar and there is one computer in computer room, for which there is a charge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    608
    195
    42
    18
See reviews for
307
465
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Singapore 09-Nov-2010: We visited Melaka during 4th to 7th Nov'10 and stayed in Hotel Puri. The desire to stay in a small boutique hotel in the midst of UNESCO heritage site should be sufficiently overwhelming to overlook some of the limitation in terms of facilities that the hotel can offer. While being neat, clean and moderately comfortable, it isn’t entirely friendly from service perspective and certainly will challenge elderly travelers and those travelling with very young kids. Our family personal rating having stayed in suite was just average and nothing to write home about vis-à-vis the cost that we paid that compared with the likes of Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psaha_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We arrived after a long flight from London and as soon as we walked in we felt relaxed. The lobby and gardens are fantastic. The staff were also very helpful, polite and friendly.
We chose this hotel as we wanted something different from identikit chain hotels and this did not disappoint. The rooms would be even better with a fresh coat of paint but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We'd originally tried to stay at the Heeren or the Jonkers boutique hotel but both were full, with the latter recommending Hotel Puri. On arriving we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful entrance/reception hall which was full of old world Straits charm. This is nicely complemented by the pretty and relaxing garden/courtyard.

The rooms, however, were disappointing. We'd read reviews before arriving so were prepared for a bit of a let down, but for us it was all the more frustrating considering everything else about the hotel's appearance so clearly exceeded our expectations. Combining this with the fact it would only take a coat of paint and a new mattress to resolve most of the issue it just felt like they couldn't be bothered to completely finish the job, hence the 3/5 rating.

The location is great, 5 min amble to the river, 10 to st paul's and 15mins to the renaissance hotel where most buses to Singapore seemed to depart from. For those after a night out, that's also just round the corner.

If they give the rooms a little TLC then we'd love to stay here next time we pop to Malacca, however if they don't we'd stay elsewhere but drop in for a coffee in the courtyard.

One last point, we love Kway Teow and go for it regularly in Singapore. The little cafe nearly opposite dished up some that was as good as, if not better than, any we've had elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Club_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Located right behind the famour Jonker Walk. Can walk to all the heritage sites. Hotel gives a very nice map for walking around.
Reception was neat and fast. Staff very helpful and efficient. Since we arrived a couple of hrs before check-in time our room was not ready. So staff upgraded us to a vacant room. Which I thought was really nice. Room was cozy and elegant. Bed is comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean. Restaurants are set in nice open gardens. Breakfast was decent. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hsprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The hotel is pretty average, and we found it comfortable. Nothing irked us about this place at all. The best part was the awesome service by the staff who helped us find carpark spaces during the 2 days we were there. They would reserve lots outside the hotel for us. But if the spaces are full, they'd direct us to one of the houses-turned-carpark lots some units down the road. It was tough walking with all the luggage to the parking lots, but the friendly staff helped carry them there. We didn't have to worry about parking with Puri, and this was very important to us.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatricelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Puri during our recent trip to Malaysia. The hotel has plenty of character and old world charm. The rooms are a decent size with lovely furniture. The staff is also helpful and prompt.

The Hotel is located just off Jonkers Street, and a short walk from the river and the Stadthuys/Christ Church.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SimplyPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,361 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing