We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2007

My boyfriend and I just returned from our stay here. I thought it was a lovely place -- beautiful furniture and architecture with nice open courtyards (with nesting birds!) in the middle of the hotel. We sprung for the deluxe double room, which is about $50 US. The room was spotless and it was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is substantial and the staff is helpful. You won't find a nicer place to stay in Melaka for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meglo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Puri had such great reviews, we were really looking forward to our 2 day stay. Unfortunately, however, our hopes were dashed. Certainly the hotel has a good location in the heart of old Melaka and the Peranakan and Chinese objets and decor in the public areas are quite charming, as is the little interior garden. But there the plusses end. The reception was chilly. The room was big, clean, but worn out, with stained carpet (carpet in the tropics!!!!) and chilled to icicle level by an airconditioner as loud as a DC 3 taking off in a storm. Foam rubber seems to be the Puri's choice of bedding material, which is fine if one likes to bounce, but awful if one wishes to sleep well. The breakfast was plentiful but of poor quality: even the fruit was sour and consisted solely of watermelon, papaya, and unripe pineapple wedges --- this in a land brimming with cheap and wonderful fruit like rambutan and mangosteen!!! Despite being organized and run like a small family-owned hotel, the Puri is actually quite large and is run with a steely eye on profit margins. And it shows. Not a terrible place by any means, just mean, shabby, and without soul.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mikanacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in early July 2007, and selected this hotel primarily based on Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is indeed a very beautiful and historic building, and we very much enjoyed the lobby and courtyards. On our first night there we stayed in a “standard” room, and to be honest found it to be a little small and dingy (quaint – yeah ok, but not really very comfortable). The second night we moved to a “deluxe” room, which was better. We got a good rate directly from the hotel, which included (a very good) breakfast. The hotel is in a very convenient location, within easy walking distance to the historic city centre, Jonker St and with some very nice restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB_and_LCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

What a gem this is - however, those seeking a five star experience would be well advised to keep away. You won't find it here.

What you will find is an establishment full of history, charm and grace. Knowledgable and helpful staff. Very convenient location. The rooms may be small but one only sleeps in it!!! For AUD$44 twin share per night, including breakfast this represents excellent value. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peonyrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2007

The hotel is old and beautifully styled. The history of the building is interesting and can be seen in the lobby and just beyond this. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is in a great location where we walked quite a bit around downtown. Our room was on the 3rd floor and nothing special. It had A/C which was exactly what we needed since it is quite hot there. The room could use some updating--carpet was worn, but overall a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

The hotel was great and its very comfortable place to stay. Especially my dad he is very impressed with the structure of the building. However to be more competive, they may consider offering special rates (e.g package holidays and special rates for the senior citizen) to the Malaysian so as to capture the local market as well as allowing the locals to have the opportunity to refresh their fond memories of the town and good old days.

Overall, the reception and especially the security is very friendly and always has a smiling face.

From Mrs Ho, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We stayed here 3 nights on our recent trip. We had booked over the internet directly with the hotel a RM230 room (inc breakfast).
When we checked in - we were given a pass to a room that was occupied and came back to reception only to receive an apology that our room allocation had changed. However we were allocated a much smaller room - I suspect the people who had been moved into 'our room' had complained!
The next day we returned to check the price (given the fact we had seen the much bigger first room fleetingly) only to be told our tiny room was the same price as it faced the courtyard. However, they moved us to a larger room (when it became available) for the next 2 nights.
Generally we liked the hotel - it was convenient, comfortable and atmospheric - we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EfJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#8 of 168 in Melaka
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 168 in Melaka
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $43 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing