We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic hotel”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Centrally located, this authentic hotel offers a cool refuge for travellers. Rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast buffet was very ok. Much better than large, inpersonal 'Western' hotels!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvoFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2010

We've stayed in this hotel for one night, together with local friends, who choose the hotel. It was a surprise to enter the beautiful building. It's a very old building, and people have restored the old charm of it in a wonderful way. There are patio-gardens with small ponds, simply beautiful.
The rooms were functional and clean. Unfortunately the walls didn't seem to be sound proof.

Breakfast in a green environment was good and the surroundings added tot the atmosphere.

Location is very good, right in the middle of the city.

We would go there again, for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinidaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We came here for a quick weekend getaway and treated ourselves to the junior suite.

The hotel entrance looks unremarkable, but every step into the hotel sweeps you away from this century. Antique furniture and bric a brac, traditional courtyard gardens, classic Melaka ceramic tiles ... lovely. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2pm on a sweltering Saturday, but our check-in was efficiently processed and we were sent to wait over a welcome drink at the cafe set an outdoor courtyard, which was suprisingly large (given the small hotel frontage) and surprisingly cool, thanks to the artful placement of fans disguised by trees and shrubbery, and the cool sound of running water.

Soon enough we were shown to our ground floor suite. Decor was slightly sparse, but we were happy with what was there. King bed was firm and comfy with duvet, 4 pillows and a long thin bolster, and there was a reproduction antique armoire, dresser and very cosy sofa. The room comes with TV, bar fridge, eletric kettle, coffee, tea & water, and has both fan and a/c (controls work well). Water pressure in bathroom is great, but the shower curtain is a little too narrow and the bathroom would can get wet if you're not careful. But you get 2 bath towels, 2 face towels, 2 hand towels, plus toiletries were better than expected.

It was a scorching weekend, so we'd walk about for a couple of hours and then need a break from the heat. But since Hotel Puri is right in the Jonker Walk area, we could just walk back to the hotel and cool down in our room/have a shower. It was fantastic!

All in all, a very good, relaxing weekend away, thanks to Hotel Puri.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sdselamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

When we booked the hotel for 1 week, we were told that we cld stay the weekdays but not weekend as it was fullybooked..that means have to look for the weekend another hotel which is not easy . But then the receptionist told us the next day that due to a cancellation we cld stay the whole week and that I think is what u call Service. Since we´re on 1 month vacation we decided to go somewhere else for a week..and not wanting to drag our big bags , were told that they will keep our bags. When we came back we got the same room and our bags were already sent to it. All in all I can say this hotel is top and also the rates are good. My husband and I would like to thank the Management and the staff for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Was going to stay at another hotel but spoke to a couple on the bus who strongly recommended the Puri. Had intended to stay 1 or 2 nts but extended to 3. Hotel is a museum in itself, old Ming vases, furniture inlaid with mother of pearl, could go on for ages. A fantastic hotel to stay in

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noosans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Been in this little hotel for > 10 times, still no:1 choice.

Memorable:
Next to Jonker st. yet quiet, cozy and friendly set up.
Breakfast at garden terrace with tropical plants around (and Wifi)
Tiny yet cozy room at the old tower (make sure you take the older rooms)
Sparrow in the central hall and corridor of the hotel and its little museum.
Exposure to new findings just outside the entrance....

Must try while in Malaace old town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Travelling as a couple with a 8 year old, found this hotel to be very quaint, our triple bed room was very clean, air conditioned and had a recently renovated bathroom.
Sitting in the hotel courtyard filled with frangipani trees in bloom having a local meal washed down with a cold beer was one of the simple hightlights of our trip. The hotel is a contrast of calm against the heat and hussle outside.
Staff were always willing to assist, it is a very sweet hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cj_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#8 of 169 in Melaka
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $43 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing