We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location but horrible wifi connection”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location but horrible wifi connection”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

This would be my third time staying at Hotel Puri. Nice hotel in an excellent location. In the heart of Malacca old town and just a street behind Jonker St where you get a pasar malam (night market) on Saturdays.

Rooms are basic and clean but could do with a curtain at the window. The light shines in when the sun is up. So, this is gonna be a problem if you intend to sleep late.

Wifi connection is horrible. I've only managed to connect once in my entire stay. So, if you're on business or a person that needs Internet connection, this is something you'll need to take note.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idleworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    608
    195
    42
    18
See reviews for
307
465
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2009

My wife and I checked in late after being disappointed with another hotel we had booked. We were very impressed with the check in, as Hazamilah was great and helped us throughout our stay. We thought we would only stay one night but it ended up to be four. The hotel was just what we wanted, after doing tours of Chinese homes on Pinong the previous three days, This is a great old Chinese home that has loads of history and a great staff. The room was small but we spent most of our hotel time in the lobby reading and visiting with staff and other guests. Rose, as student intern, was very helpful, greeting all guests as they came in the door. The one downside was the poor quality of carpet we saw in one of the halls. Our hall had tile, as did our room, which was very much appreciated. Overall, we had a great stay at the Puri.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed over the weekend 9Oct. We booked well in advance although hotel is full we got what we requested. (ground floor, connecting rms)
It is a beautifully restored peranakan house. Everything is within walking distance if you don't mind the heat. (Jonker street,St Paul's Church,Mahkota) Hotel also provide a useful map of the restaurants nearby.
Superior rooms are spacious and clean. For the price they charged i have no complain. Rooms also have all the basic amentities such as hairdryer, safe box.
Breakfast included is not extravagant but sufficient to start a day. Selections include toast, egg station, cereals, fruits, a few other hot items and a starch item. There was fried noodles on Sat morning and nasi lemak and porridge on Sun.
Overall this is a good hotel. For the price paid i dont expect personalised service. Generally all staff are polite and helpfully. I would definitely go back in future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WantotravelSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We booked Hotel Puri based on tripadviser reviews and it is a lovely building and hotel. However I did feel it was a bit over-rated for the price. Our standard room was quite small and dark, however the communal areas of the hotel were very tastefully done out.

The courtyard where we had breakfast was lovely and breakfast was good, if a bit limited.

We loved Melaka and would consider returning to this hotel but I would probably look at comparable priced options as I think you might be able to get better for your money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

my son checked on the nesting swallows in the hotel a few times each day. haha he is only seven years old, but then again, i have never seen swallows before either as i'm city girl from kl.

It was a culturally rich setting, my husband and I loved the aesthetic. The experience was infinitely superior to a soulless chain hotel any day.

While we lazed around in the morning, my parent in laws had wandered into Jonker street already...hotel location set them free.

I don't know about other rooms, but our bathroom was sparkling with new fittings.

The doorman/concierge volunteered directions on how to get to satay celup place. We asked for g floor for our parents in laws to avoid stairs. Check in was 5 minutes, check out was 5 minutes...pleasant enough.

I think hotel puri represents Malacca aesthetic...the baba nyonya aesthetic, and you take that home with you...the memory and smells of the incense, the sunlight filtering through to the airwell into dim rooms, the tiles and mosaics that are old...breakfast at the open air courtyard... u take a piece of malacca dwelling home with you as a unique memory...and it didn't cost us a hand and a foot.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We turned up on a Sunday without a booking and were looked after really well.
The receptionist told us the room would be available after 1.00pm so we left our bags and wandered up the street toward the river where we saw a long queue of people outside a run down shop. It sold the best Chicken Rice balls you will ever have plus some delicious fruit drinks. Then back to the Puri, the room wasn't actually ready but we relaxed in the cool lounge with some coffee and cake and connected to their wifi. After a short time we were told our room was ready and a porter took up our bags, I tried to tip him but he said no need!!!
We stayed for two nights and it was excellant. The room though a bit small were clean and the breakfast very good. Look no further than the Puri.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapperMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Charming place. Lots of photo opportunities within the hotel itself. No lift which makes it difficult for those with mobility problems. So make sure to request for rooms on the ground floor if a member of your group has mobility problems. The rooms we stayed in (quad) are clean, the bathroom a little on the small side but that's okay with us. Hey, as long as it's clean. The breakfast a bit dodgy. My omelette was only half cooked and the french toast became wet toast because it wasn't properly done. Great location though - within walking distance to almost every place we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing