We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Very hard to explain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very hard to explain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel Puri is far from posh, luxurious or having service-excellent staff that make you feel like royalties, but I really like this place. It is heritage-rich, conveniently located, and has staff who is casual-friendly. It brings out my childhood memories living in a similar shop house in Singapore's Chinatown. For a re-built property of > 200 years in origin, this hotel has so far got very good vibes; it does not make me feel eerie or anything of that sort.

Room:
Old but basic and clean

Decors & Landscape:
Fusion of peranakan, chinese and zen

Breakfast:
Adequate and quite good spread for a hotel this size. Relaxing 'garden' dining.

Carpark:
A private carpark just few shops down the road. Easy and convenient.

Hotel Puri is always my first choice in Melaka if my agenda revolves around Jonker's and town.
The challenge is, it is always full on weekends and peak periods. Book at least 2-3 months in advance to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe Room- it's more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    526
    169
    39
    14
See reviews for
254
411
67
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

People who book into places like Holiday Inn can keep it. I would rather stay and this lovely boutique hotel - it is spectacular.

In a charming area of the old town, from the friendly greeting at reception to the help and courtesy shown by all staff, we were made to feel welcome. The restored building is beautiful. The courtyard and breakfast area is great, the history room is very interesting and the old furniture and floors are spectacular.
The rooms were very nice, with TV, minibar, good bathroom and shower. Comfy bed and good aircon.

Breakfast was not fantastic, but offered a few choices, including a DIY Laksa or noodle soup option. A quick walk to the centre of the heritage area and close to Jonker street.
Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galvo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 primary school going children) spent a night at Hotel Puri during the Easter weekend for a long needed short break.

Location
You cant beat its location at Jalan Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren Street). Smack in the city centre and runs parallel to Jonker Street, the night market, restaurants are just round the corners. We also walked easily to St Pauls, Jln Bunga Raya, the Malacca Cruise jetty near the maritime museum. The hotel also has a private carpark a few shop houses away so it is very convenient for us who drive.

Check-in
The reception was prompt and smooth. No hiccups and everything was in order for us.

Room
We stayed in a superior quad that comes with 2 queen beds on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. The room is clean and very spacious. It comes with a TV, fridge, complimentary coffee/tea making facilities and bottled water. The bathroom is also very clean and has a shower with good water pressure and hot water. The downside was that the wifi connection was not too good in the room and the aircon is a little noisy. Otherwise it would have been great.

Breakfast
Breakfast was at the Heliconia room (in an unqiue ambience/concept of an open courtyard). The spread was mediocre. Nothing fanciful but enought to kick start the day.


.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and the building has no lift. Do check with the reception befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lohkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, this is a historical hotel.
But we like it nonetheless.
And it is bigger than I thought, the breakfast was alright, the location was fantastic, I dont have problems with parking. The staffs was friendly.

The room was ok, not so good not so bad. Doable, sleep-able.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Level Contributor
615 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 years ago and it is just as nice as it was before. A historic hotel, which fantastic common, open spaces. Staff is wonderful, had read my emails, knew my arrival time, stored luggage until room was ready since we arrived very early, helped me find a place in Singapore to stay and couldn't have been better. 1 block off of Jonker street shopping district so is quieter but about a 2 minute walk to get there. Many restaurants nearby, shops, Museums etc. Can't go wrong with the Puri Hotel. Good value for Melaka.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pkukk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

receptionist knock off at 2 am, we reach at 5 am and through email was assured everything would be arranged well. Reached and the security ask us to park our car outside the hotel. We were given rooms that are some at first and some at second floor. Room is not as fantastic as the photos, bed is hard and the blanket is not covered with quilt cover. Just two covers above the blanket. Rooms with mosquitos. History room in the hotel is good. Communication and service of hotel personnel not good at all. Next day, a security said "your singapore car, get hit by the motorist ah, not our problem if u wan park here!" I replied that it was his colleague who ask me park here when the person in the email said the security would bring us to their private car park. Poor coordination and break promise. Luckily our car has got nothing wrong.

I would rather go to Baba House than Puri Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HermitO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Good location, nice courtyard breakfast, most of the staff welcoming - one wasn't but maybe she was having a bad night. They kindly arranged a cab for 200 ringgit to KL for me with an awesome driver who was so interesting and nice. Breakfast is decent enough in a pretty setting and some choice of unusual sweet things among the western and Melaka/Malaysia fare. I think the experience here would be room dependent though. I arrived very late and was staying only one night which may have been the reason I was at the very end of a long corridor on the 2nd floor (there are no lifts btw but they do help you with bags) and in my room you couldn't open the shutters or the windows really as it went onto a fire escape so.. had I not just been there one night it would have been pretty depressing as it would have been dark the whole time. Rooms are clean though! Probably wouldn't recommend unless you can guarantee a good room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri 118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing