We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night stay at a house used to own by Tan Kim Seng”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 primary school going children) spent a night at Hotel Puri during the Easter weekend for a long needed short break.

Location
You cant beat its location at Jalan Tan Cheng Lock (Heeren Street). Smack in the city centre and runs parallel to Jonker Street, the night market, restaurants are just round the corners. We also walked easily to St Pauls, Jln Bunga Raya, the Malacca Cruise jetty near the maritime museum. The hotel also has a private carpark a few shop houses away so it is very convenient for us who drive.

Check-in
The reception was prompt and smooth. No hiccups and everything was in order for us.

Room
We stayed in a superior quad that comes with 2 queen beds on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel. The room is clean and very spacious. It comes with a TV, fridge, complimentary coffee/tea making facilities and bottled water. The bathroom is also very clean and has a shower with good water pressure and hot water. The downside was that the wifi connection was not too good in the room and the aircon is a little noisy. Otherwise it would have been great.

Breakfast
Breakfast was at the Heliconia room (in an unqiue ambience/concept of an open courtyard). The spread was mediocre. Nothing fanciful but enought to kick start the day.


.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and the building has no lift. Do check with the reception befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lohkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, this is a historical hotel.
But we like it nonetheless.
And it is bigger than I thought, the breakfast was alright, the location was fantastic, I dont have problems with parking. The staffs was friendly.

The room was ok, not so good not so bad. Doable, sleep-able.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wen Jun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here 3 years ago and it is just as nice as it was before. A historic hotel, which fantastic common, open spaces. Staff is wonderful, had read my emails, knew my arrival time, stored luggage until room was ready since we arrived very early, helped me find a place in Singapore to stay and couldn't have been better. 1 block off of Jonker street shopping district so is quieter but about a 2 minute walk to get there. Many restaurants nearby, shops, Museums etc. Can't go wrong with the Puri Hotel. Good value for Melaka.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

receptionist knock off at 2 am, we reach at 5 am and through email was assured everything would be arranged well. Reached and the security ask us to park our car outside the hotel. We were given rooms that are some at first and some at second floor. Room is not as fantastic as the photos, bed is hard and the blanket is not covered with quilt cover. Just two covers above the blanket. Rooms with mosquitos. History room in the hotel is good. Communication and service of hotel personnel not good at all. Next day, a security said "your singapore car, get hit by the motorist ah, not our problem if u wan park here!" I replied that it was his colleague who ask me park here when the person in the email said the security would bring us to their private car park. Poor coordination and break promise. Luckily our car has got nothing wrong.

I would rather go to Baba House than Puri Hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank HermitO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Good location, nice courtyard breakfast, most of the staff welcoming - one wasn't but maybe she was having a bad night. They kindly arranged a cab for 200 ringgit to KL for me with an awesome driver who was so interesting and nice. Breakfast is decent enough in a pretty setting and some choice of unusual sweet things among the western and Melaka/Malaysia fare. I think the experience here would be room dependent though. I arrived very late and was staying only one night which may have been the reason I was at the very end of a long corridor on the 2nd floor (there are no lifts btw but they do help you with bags) and in my room you couldn't open the shutters or the windows really as it went onto a fire escape so.. had I not just been there one night it would have been pretty depressing as it would have been dark the whole time. Rooms are clean though! Probably wouldn't recommend unless you can guarantee a good room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The service was great, the staff local and knowledgeable. The historic room was informative and interesting. The room was clean and well presented, the maintenance of the shared spaces, like the lobby and breakfast area, was the icing on the cake for me. A good location with a parking lot down the road.
There is no elevator, since installing one would compromise the historic building. Book with this knowledge and be prepared to hike up your luggage to the 3rd floor if needed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank thenew20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Junior suite was brilliant. Massage was great. Breakfast was fine and in a gorgeous courtyard. Inner courtyards are delightful. Peaceful, central to town, good service by all staff, bathroom was fab, bed was comfy. Just a delight all round. Avoid downstairs bedrooms on street front though, noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $39 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing