We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "facade", disappointing room”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The reception and common areas were super charming. Full of colonial charm and history. However when it came to give us the room, we went to the back and we had a quite worn out building with disappoint room. They should increase the quality. Quite good but stiff service at reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trolleypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and the loveliest interior courtyard. It is situated in the heart of old Malacca and is within very easy walking distance of many tourist attractions. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby and the Museum and gallery precinct is close by.
The staff are most helpful and will arrange a taxi for you to do local tours or to get back to the KL International Airport.
The breakfast included in our room rate was the best we had anywhere with every taste catered for. There is also a restaurant that serves a good choice of delicious meals.
Our room was clean spacious and comfortable and the bathroom had a great hot water system.
We enjoyed our stay here and would visit again.

Room Tip: It was very pleasant having a room overlooking the courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel was very conveniently situated in the middle of the ld town, (which is where you want to be)
close to all atractions, museums etc. Rooms were spacious and very functional. Clean sheets and towels daily with complimentary bottled water and tea and coffee making facilites. Breakfast had a good menu choice and was located in a very nice planted courtyard. A hotel with plenty of history which also has a small museum. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, would dfinately recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berni109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely building with lots of attractive features, including a room giving some local history. The bedrooms are decorated In a sympathetic way. We were surprised to find swiftlets nesting in part of the hotel (the birds' nest soup variety) which gave some extra local colour. the central location means it is extremely easy to find places to eat. Breakfast had a wide variety to choose from.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AnneB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a six week holiday around South East Asia finishing in Melaka. This was one of the best hotels that we stayed in. Very clean, very friendly staff who were only to pleased to help. An interesting old building that has been tastefully renovated. Restful courtyard with water features and plenty of foliage. Had a wonderful massage in their spa.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Spanishgryphons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our stay at the Puri was all positive, we stayed 2 nights.The hotel is in a great location, surrounded by antique shops, close to many eating options and within easy walking distance to many of Melaka's attractions and historic sites. The rooms are super clean with lovely bathrooms. Breakfast has plenty of choice and very tasty! This is a great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

When we first entered the hotel to check in I wanted to leave because the manager who received us had a very poor non welcoming attitude but because we pre booked through booking com we couldn't. We wer toldwe were on the second floor but it was four flights of stairs. Although the hotel is charming the rooms are nothing out of the basic ordinary type. I did later find the managerto have had a migraine so I told her I accepted her appology. I heard from the staff that they wanted to leave due to her. Location wise it was excellent. One block from jonkers walk

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123susan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $40 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing