We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of history”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Puri for 3 nights in August 08. I had selected it for its history and location.

The ambience of the hotel lived up to our expectations, with its beautiful old foyer, antique furniture, lovely peaceful courtyard, and good well priced meals. Fruit juices were very good!

The "history room" was a nice touch.

We stayed in a Deluxe room which was quite good, of a reasonable size and with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean although we needed a lesson in how to operate the shower - the taps are for show only, and you need to push a special lever to get the water flowing!

We had our own little balcony but alas no chairs or table there.

The room was on the top (third) floor which was quite a climb in the heat, and next time I would ask for a room on a lower level.

My only gripe with the room was the airconditioner which sounded like a jet taking off. Once it got going it would calm down to a hum, and then suddenly take off again, so loud it actually woke us up. We tried one night without it but found the heat too overpowering.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special but the beautiful courtyard where we ate, was a real bonus. The sole waitress is an asset to the hotel - friendly with an excellent sense of humour; especially in comparison to the reception staff who were not particularly engaging or friendly, and seemed generally disinterested in their guests.

The location of the hotel is excellent, we walked everywhere.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel. However, I'd love to see the staff a little more passionate about their jobs and their customers, and about their historic and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyRBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2008

all the good stuff others had written about this place are true. i'd really like to return here again if the management could improve on the service staff's attitude. apart from the lack of friendliness and courtesy from the front desk receptionist and restaurant staff the rest were at best civil.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stfrois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

When we arrived we were given the key to our room but when we got there it was already occupied. We returned to the reception desk and the staff were obviously confused, however we were polite and said it was fine just could we have another room, preferably a lovely one! We were obviously upgraded as we were then given a larger room with balcony.

Our stay was comfortable the rooms are not large but adequate, the hotel is clean though not too sure about the swallows or swifts nesting in the room between the reception area and bedrooms! The courtyard where meals was served is an oasis of calm and coolness and very green and beautiful.

We needed to check out late and the staff were extremely helpful and happy to store our luggage.

The hotel is an ideal position for exploring Malacca and it was good to be able to experience staying in such an old building

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bramwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Stayed at the Superior room. Nothing to shout about, it was a very basic room. Footsteps from the floor upstairs can be annoying since my room was on the ground floor.

Nice and clean courtyards. The Puri Spa was good. Convenient and within walking distance to Jonker Street and other tourist attractions. Not suitable for those looking for a quiet stay.

Got ripped off by the hotel when we paid for 2 rounds of golf but only received 1. We were denied the 2nd round upon check-out without valid reasons. Will bring the matter to the tourism authorities.

Having been in and out of the hotel at various times, we only found 1 friendly and smiling front desk staff and a helpful doorman. The rest of the staff looked as though their pets just died. Not clear in their packaged offers, plus staff unwilling to help explain. Agree with Tripadvisor Mikanacat of Turkey that the hotel is out to maximise profit margins, rather than providing a deserving service.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank misty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Quite a nice boutique hotel in Melaka.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gypsies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

I booked this hotel after checking out trip advisor .we wanted a whole romantic old world experience different from the likes of singapore where we started our holiday .Hotel Puri was everything it advertised and more .Its the perfect quaint heritage house ,in the old part of thecity, beautifully restored and amazing helpful and friendly staff. The room had everything we wanted and was beautifully done .The best part of it was the price ,everything was very reasonable .will be back there for sure

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank indiamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in early of january this year. We do enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Especially the look of the building and the location (after 1/2 hour lost searching the hotel).

Location - Right behind this hotel is Jonker Street and not so far from Stadhuys' building. At night, the town look great with the red spotlight lit up the building.

Check-in process - We wish they should have smile more on their face (after tiring driving 4 hours from Selangor). At least we feel more welcome. They provided car jockey for the customer. So we no need to crack our head to find the parking and spend on ticketing.

Room - The only thing a bit annoyed us, the sound of air-cond compressor. It will be great if the can relocate the compressor a bit far from the room. The tv in the room is not really an eye catching for us. 21" screen seem to small for us to enjoy our night after whole day tiring walk around the city. Well, is not a big deal for us. And yes, they do have a safety box in the room. One of the feature we look forward to have in the room.

The hotel restaurant is good. Having a breakfast next to water pond/fountain right outside of the restaurant is really mind relaxing. They should provide the wifi spot in this hote or at least at the restaurant area.

After all, the hotel is valued for the money..

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jemsterdsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $40 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing